
FIREARMS SURRENDER AND RETURN TERMS  
For RESPONDENTS under RESTRAINING ORDERS 

The restraining order against you may prohibit you from possessing firearms and ammunition and require you 
to surrender them. Read your order carefully. The firearms section is on page 4, paragraph 10 & 10A.  

IF THE RESTRAINING ORDER PROHIBITS YOU from possessing firearms and ammunition 
and orders that surrender terms apply, you must do one of the following:   

1. Surrender to law enforcement any firearms and/or ammunition in your possession, control, or custody at the
time you are served with the restraining order.  If the firearms or ammunition are not in your custody at that 
time, you must surrender them to law enforcement (see bottom of page) within 48 hours of being served.  If 
you are incarcerated when served, you must surrender them within 48 hours of your release.   

You also must complete and file a Firearms Affidavit showing that the surrender has occurred.  You 
must file the Affidavit with the Court within 3 court days of being served or released.  

2. Have an eligible Third Party take possession of any firearms and/or ammunition in your possession, control,
or custody within 48 hours of being served.  If you are incarcerated when served, a third party must take 
possession within 48 hours of your release.   

You must complete an Oregon State Police ID Services firearms background check on the third party 
you select. The third party must complete paragraph 4 of the Firearms Affidavit. You must also 
complete sections of the Firearms Affidavit and file it with the court within 3 court days of being served 
or released. To get a firearms background check, you must contact an Oregon gun dealer. A fee applies.  

3. Tell the Court you have no firearms or ammunition. If you do not have firearms or ammunition in your
custody, control, or possession, you must complete paragraph 3 on the Firearms Affidavit, complete page 1, 
and file it with the Court within 3 court days of being  served or released. 

4. Tell the Court you do not want to answer because you don’t want to incriminate yourself.  Even if you
choose this option, you must still check box 4 of the Affidavit, complete page 1, and file the document with the 
Court within 3 court days of being served or released from custody.  Choosing this option does not change in 
any way the court’s order prohibiting you from possessing firearms or ammunition.  

The Firearms Affidavit is included in your service packet.  It is also available in Room 211 of the 
courthouse or online at:http://courts.oregon.gov/Multnomah/General_Info/Family/pages/form.aspx 

OPTION TO SURRENDER TO LAW ENFORCEMENT 
The Portland Police Bureau and the Multnomah County Sheriff’s Office will accept unloaded firearms and 
ammunition or individuals under restraining orders, regardless of the location of the respondent’s residence.  

Portland Police Bureau 
Central Precinct  
1111 SW 2nd Ave. 
Portland, Oregon    97204 
Hours: 24 hours/7 days a week 
503/823-0097 

Portland Police Bureau 
Property & Evidence Division 
2619 NW Industrial Way 
Portland, Oregon  97210 
Hours:  9-12; 1-4  M-F 
503/823-2179 

Multnomah County Sheriff’s Office  
234 SW Kendall Ct 
Troutdale, OR 97060  
Mon-Thurs 8- 4PM; Friday 8– 3PM 
Call 503-988-7300, option #5  to 

  schedule 

RETURN of firearms/ammunition to you by law enforcement is subject to their background check.  Return by 
a Third Party requires a completed Firearms Background check by the Oregon State Police (Contact an 
Oregon gun dealer). More information is available online at the court’s website: 
http://courts.oregon.gov/Multnomah/General_Info/Family/pages/rulesandprocedures.aspx                    

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH  COURT- ORDERED TERMS ABOUT FIREARMS POSSESSION AND SURRENDER, OR TO 
FILE THE AFFIDAVIT, MAY SUBJECT YOU TO A CONTEMPT OF COURT CHARGE. 

Page 1 of 1 Revised 9/22/2016

http://courts.oregon.gov/Multnomah/General_Info/Family/pages/form.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/Multnomah/General_Info/Family/pages/rulesandprocedures.aspx



