
Notice to Parents and Adult Children re

SUPPORT FOR ADULT CHILDREN ATTENDING SCHOOL

Oregon is one of the few states that allow the court to require divorced or separated parents to pay child

support for 18, 19, and 20 year old children who are attending school or training programs.   This law

applies to never-married parents as well as to married-but-divorcing parents.  The law exists because

Oregon legislators believe it is important to address the issue of a continuing education for a child who does

not benefit from decisions made by an intact family.   

What Adult Children Qualify

The Court (or state Child Support Program) can order support for an adult child when a case involving a

child support claim has been filed and all the following are true about the adult child:

• Is 18, 19, or 20 years old

• Is attending school (or a high school equivalency program or vocational training or the Job Corps),

• Is carrying at least one-half of what the school or program considers a full courseload, and

• Is making satisfactory academic progress, according to the school or program.   

If the adult child’s school is on a regularly scheduled summer or other break but the child intends to attend

school the next scheduled term and carry then at least a one-half courseload, the court can order child

support to continue through that break and into the next term (and beyond, if continued attendance is

planned).

Amount of Support

The amount of support, if any, is determined by considering many factors, including the following:

• the incomes of both parents

• the existence and needs of minor children the parents may have, either jointly or from other

relationships

• health care costs of the adult child and any other minor children involved

• other circumstances affecting the resources or needs of the adult child, parents, or minor children.  



If child support for an adult child attending school is paid through the Division of Child Support (DCS)

of the Oregon Department of Justice, information about reporting requirements and other rules is

available on the DCS website at www.dcs.state.or.us.

The support is not intended to meet all the financial needs of an adult child in school or training.  The

ordered support, if any, may supplement other resources the adult child may have.   The law does not

require parents to pay all tuition and related costs to the college of a child’s choice.   Parents and the adult

child agreeing on an appropriate amount of support for the college years is the best solution, but if both

parents and the adult child do not agree, the court will decide. 

One or both of the parents could be ordered to pay support.  Unless the court finds good cause for the

support to be paid in another manner, the court must require that support for an adult child in school be paid

directly to the adult child.   

Adult Child’s Right to Participate in the Legal Case

Because an 18, 19, or 20 year old child may have an interest in the support part of the case that has been

filed, the law entitles that adult child to participate in that part of the case.  This means that an adult child is

entitled to NOTICE of each parents’s positions about child support and the RIGHT TO PARTICIPATE in

any hearings or other proceedings about the child support issue.  The Court will treat the adult child the

same way the Court treats a parent in listening to what each says on this issue, even if the child’s position

disagrees with the parent’s.  The adult child may hire an attorney if the child wants to take that step and can

afford to do so.  The law does not require a court-appointed attorney for a parent or adult child on this issue. 

The adult child can waive (give up) his or her right to participate in the legal proceedings by signing a

waiver such as the one provided with this notice.   The child is free to not sign a waiver and instead

participate in the legal proceedings if the child wishes to do so. 
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