The Marion County Circuit Court does not fulfill requests for name searches in Odyssey. The court offers five public terminals in the Records lobby at the Marion County Courthouse. Those terminals can be used to perform Marion County and statewide name searches. Instructions are posted next to the terminals; staff will not complete the search for you.
Requests for Court Documents
Court records may be viewed without charge. Copies may be requested in person or by mail. Some records are confidential by law and are not available for viewing.
We cannot take copy requests over the phone or take credit card payments over the phone. We are able to accept the following forms of payment: credit or debit card (Visa/MasterCard only), personal check, cashier check, money order, or cash. Please do not send cash in the mail.
The costs are as follows:
- 25 cents per page;
- $5.00 for a certified copy + per page copy charge; and
- $10.00 for an exemplified copy + per page copy charge.
We cannot provide certified or exemplified copies via electronic method.
The costs are as follows:
$3.00 per request for documents already in electronic format and delivered via email;
$4.00 per request for documents already in electronic format and delivered via CD;
20 cents per page for paper documents to be converted into electronic format and delivered via email; and 20 cents per page for paper documents to be converted into electronic format and delivered via CD;
45 cents per page for microfilmed documents to be converted into electronic format and delivered via email;
45 cents per page for microfilmed documents to be converted into electronic format and delivered via CD.
Requests via Mail
Please use the links above to access our Public Records Request form, Microfilm Request form or Adoption Records Request form. If the case you are requesting documents from is before 1986, please use the Microfilm Request form.
If you request to have printed copies mailed to you, actual mailing costs will be added to printing costs. The following information is required to process your request for copies via mail:
- Case name and Circuit Court case number;
- List of document(s) you want copied and whether certification and/or exemplification is requested and for which documents;
- Check to cover the cost of copies, payable to the State of Oregon. If you do not know how many pages of copies there will be, you may leave the amount blank and indicate a “not to exceed” amount in the memo field. A suggestion is “Not to exceed $10” for simpler requests, or “Not to exceed $25” for more complex jobs.
Failure to include all the necessary information or payment
may result in your request being returned to you.
Mail requests to: Marion County Circuit Court
P.O. Box 12869
Salem, OR 97309
Please allow at least two weeks for copies to be mailed to you.
Requests for Transcripts
To receive a transcript of the official audio record for cases other than criminal cases, one of the parties must have requested that the proceedings be recorded and paid a hearing/trial fee.
How do I request a Transcript?
To request a transcript, you need to complete the Transcript Request form and submit this form by mail, fax or in person. We cannot take requests over the phone. The court must receive payment at the time you submit your request.
What fees are associated with this request?
TThere is a $10.00 fee for the transcript request. The court accepts cash, check/money order (made payable to the State of Oregon) and/or credti card (Visa or MasterCard only). The transcriber will contact you personally for the cost of making the actual transcript (usually a set amount per page). We are unable to quote these costs.
Requests for Audio Recordings
As with transcripts, to receive a copy of the official audio record for cases other than criminal cases, one of the parties must have requested that the proceeding be recorded and paid a hearing/trial fee. The recording you receive will be audio only (no video). If you have exceptional circumstances that require the video and audio, you must submit a written request to our Presiding Judge.
How do I request a copy of the official audio?
To request the official audio recording you need to contact the Court Records section by mail, fax, phone or in person. Please note that you can only fax or phone in your request if you plan on picking up the recording in person. We cannot mail out requests taken over the phone or by fax. The court must receive payment at the time you submit your request.
What information do I need to provide?
Mailing address (if you wish to have the recording mailed to you)
Date, time and location of the hearing/trial
What are the fees associated with this request?
These fees must be paid at the time you request the recording. The court accepts cash, check/money order (made payable to the State of Oregon) and/or card (Visa or MasterCard only).
The costs are as follows:
- $9.00 per day for a hearing or trial if delivered via email;
- $10.00 per day for a hearing or trial if delivered via CD and picked up in person;
- $13.00 per day for a hearing or trial if delivered via CD and sent via US mail
What happens once my recording has been made?
If requested, the court will mail your recording(s) to you. If you choose to pick up the recording(s), the court will call you to notify you that the recording is ready.