Instructions for Filing Small Estates
Jackson County Circuit Court

ELIGCIBLEESTATES

A small estate affidavit may be filed if the fair market value of the estate is $275,000 or less, and:
¢ Not more than $75,000 of the fair market value of the estate is from personal property,

AND

e Not more than $200,000 of the fair market value of the estate is from real property.

The dollar limits do not include any property that transfers without probate or the small estate
process, such as bank accounts or real property held with right of survivorship (joint ownership).

DEFINITIONS THAT APPLY TO THE PROCESS

Affiant: The person signing this affidavit is the “affiant.” The affiant has specific legal duties
under ORS 114.505 to 114.560.

Decedent: The “decedent” is the person who died leaving an estate that needs to be paid to
creditors or transferred to heirs or devisees.

Devisees: The “devisees” are the people named in the will to receive the decedent’s estate.
Charities can also be devisees.

Distribution of Assets: This is “who gets what”; who and/or where the assets of the estate are
going.

Estate: The “estate” means all of the decedent’s property that is subject to administration
by a court in Oregon. This does not include property that transfers automatically to others
following death (such as joint bank accounts).

Fair Market Value The value of the property on the open market (between unrelated parties),
not reduced to reflect debts owed against the property.

Heirs: The “heirs” are the people who would inherit the decedent's estate under Oregon's laws of
intestacy, ORS 112.017 to 112.115.

Personal property: All other property that is not real property, including contracts for the sale
of real property, bank accounts, vehicles, and so on.

Real property: Land or interests in land, such as life estates.

WHO CAN FILE

e If the decedent died intestate (did not leave a will), the heirs entitled by law to the
decedent’s estate, or the Division of State Lands if there are no heirs.

o If the decedent died testate (with a will) the devisees of the estate.

e Any creditor of the estate who has not been paid the full amount owed within 60 days of
the decedent’s death. Note: If the decedent died intestate and without heirs, a creditor
cannot file without first receiving authorization from the Division of State Lands. See ORS
114.520. Check the box under item 1 of the affidavit indicating that you are a creditor and
that the decedent died intestate and without heirs. Attach your written authorization from
the Division to the affidavit.
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HOW TO FILE

Fill out the form. Do not leave any part blank. If a part does not apply, write in “does
not apply” or “none.”

Have your signature notarized. A court clerk can also certify your signature provided
you sign in front of the clerk and provide photo ID.

3. Get a certified copy of the death certificate.
4. Get the original will, if one exists. The original will signed by the decedent (not a copy).
5. File the affidavit, death certificate, and original will (if any) at the Probate window on the
first floor of the Justice Building located at 100 S. Oakdale Avenue, Medford, OR 97501.
A filing fee is required; please see the Jackson County Court fee schedule at
www.courts.oregon.gov/jackson for current fees.
WHENTO FILE

The affidavit cannot be filed until 30 days after the death of the decedent.

PART 10 OF THE FORM — Distribution of Assets?
Part 10 of the form deals with who gets what property. This is the interest that each heir or
devisee is to receive from the estate. If the decedent did not leave a will, the property passes to
the heirs according to the laws of intestate succession. If the decedent left a will, the property
goes according to the will.

Examples:
If the decedent left no will and had the following relatives survive:

1.

2.

A spouse but no surviving children or grandchildren: everything would go to the spouse.

A spouse and children:

a. Everything would go to the spouse if all of the surviving children (and deceased
children who left children) were also children of the spouse.

b. Half would go to the spouse and half would go to the children if any of the
surviving children (or deceased children who left children) were not also the
children of the spouse.

No spouse but three children (no deceased children): each child would receive one-third
of the estate.

No spouse but two surviving children and one deceased child who left two children:

the two surviving children would receive one-third each and the children of the

deceased child would receive one-sixth each (they share the deceased child’s share).

If the decedent left a will, each person who is named to receive property would be listed, with
the property to be received described next to each name under “property to be received.”

1. If five people are to receive the estate in equal shares, then “one-fifth” should be written
under “property to be received,” next to each name.
2. If Joe Smith is to receive the decedent's house on Elm Street, that should be written in
under “property to be received” next to Joe Smith’s name.
WHERE TO FILE

The affidavit can be filed with the circuit court for:

The county in which the decedent died,

Any county in which the decedent lived or had a home at death, or

Any county in which any property of the decedent was located at death or when the
affidavit is filed.
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DUTIES OF THE AFFIANT

The affiant has the following duties under the law:

1. Mail or deliver a copy of the affidavit showing the date of filing to the parties listed in the affidavit.

This must be done within 30 days after filing the affidavit.
2. Take control of the property of the estate. See ORS 114.535.
3. From the estate property, pay estate expenses and claims as provided in ORS

114.545(1)(c).
4. After four months from the date the affidavit is filed (if no personal representative is appointed

for the estate), the affiant should transfer the estate property to the heirs or devisees. Before the
four months is up, the affiant may transfer property as allowed by ORS 114.545(1)(e) and (f).
5. Pay any taxes owed.

CLAIMS ACGAINST THE ESTATE  See ORS 114.540.
ACCOUNTABILITY OF CIAIMING SUCCESSORSD

The affiant and any other claiming successor who receives property under the small estate statute is
personally answerable and accountable:

1. To estate creditors, to the extent of the value of the property received, ORS 114.545(2);

2. To any personal representative appointed within four months after the affidavit is filed; ORS

114.545(2), 114.555; and
3. To any omitted heir or devisee.

QUESTIONS

Court staff are not allowed to give legal advice.

If you have questions about handling a small estate, or whether a small estate is the right process for
you to use, you should contact a lawyer. The Oregon State Bar Lawyer Referral Service can provide
names of lawyers in your area who accept referrals in this area. The number for the referral service is

1-800-452-7636.

The references to ORS in these instructions are to the Oregon Revised Statutes. You can read these at the
law library or find them on the internet at: http://www.leq.state.or.us/ors/114.html (Chapter 114) and
http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/112.html (Chapter 112).
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON FOR JACKSON COUNTY
PROBATE DEPARTMENT

In the Matter of the Small Estate of;

CASE NUMBER:

Deceased AFFIDAVIT OF CLAIMING SUCCESSOR
(SMALL ESTATE AFFIDAVIT)

[Chapter 595, Sections 13 and 22, Oregon Laws
2011; ORS 114.515]

STATE OF OREGON )
) ss.
County of Jackson )

I swear or affirm that the following statements are true:
Thirty (30) or more days have passed since the decedent died.

Ihe affiant. My name and address are:

I have authority to file this affidavit because: [check at least one that applies]

[ ] 1 am an heir of the decedent, and the decedent left no will.

[ 11 am a devisee of the decedent under the decedent’s will.

[ ] 1 am named the personal representative under the decedent’s will.

[]1 am a creditor and have not been paid the full amount owed to me within 60 days of
the decedent’s death. Creditors must check the box that applies:

L] The decedent died intestate and without heirs. | have attached written authorization
from the Division of State Lands allowing me to file this small estate proceeding; or
L] Authorization from the Division of State Lands is not required because the decedent

died testate or left heirs.

Affidavit should be filed in Jackson County. This small estate affidavit should be filed in Jackson

County because [check at least one that applies]:

L] The decedent died in Jackson County.
L] At death, the decedent lived in or had a home in Jackson County.
L] The decedent had property located in Jackson County at death or when this affidavit is

filed.
Is there a will2 [Check the one that applies]

L] The decedent died testate (did leave a will). The griginal will (not a copy) is attached.
L] The decedent died intestate (did not leave a will).
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No probate estate exists. No application or petition for the appointment of a personal representative

has been granted in Oregon. [This means that no Oregon court has opened a probate estate for the
decedent.]

Ihe decedent.

Name: Age: Soc. Sec. No. - -
Home or mailing address:

Date of death: Place of death:
A certified copy of the death certificate is attached.

The decedent’s estate. The following property is in the decedent’s estate:

Real Property [attach a legal description] Fair Market Value
[maximum total value $200,000]

Personal Property [PERS accounts, bank accounts, jewelry, etc.] Fair Market Value
[maximum total value $75,000]

[’Fair market value” means the value of the property on the open market (between unrelated
parties), not reduced to reflect debts owed against the property. Do not include property that
transfers automatically to others following death (such as joint bank accounts).]

The heirs. The heirs of the decedent, and their addresses, are:

Name of each heir Relationship to decedent Last-known address
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Ihe devisees. [This part only applies if the decedent left a will. If the decedent did not leave a will,

write in “none.”]
The devisees named in the decedent’s will, and their last-known addresses, are:

Name of each devisee Last-known address

Notice to heirs and devisees. | promise to give to each heir and each devisee, if any, (1) a copy of

this affidavit showing the date of filing and (2) a copy of the will, if the decedent died testate. |
will do this by delivering or mailing the papers to the heirs and devisees at the last-known
addresses. | will do this within 30 days after this affidavit is filed with the court.

Distribution of Assets., The following people are entitled to the following property:

Name of heir or devisee Property to be received

[If a will exists, the will governs who gets what. If no will exists, the laws of intestacy apply (see
the instructions). If one person is to receive the entire estate, state “entire estate” or “100% of
residue” under “Property to be received.” If, for example, three people share the estate equally,
state “one-third of residue” under “Property to be received.”]

Creditors. Reasonable efforts have been made to ascertain the creditors of the estate. The following
expenses of or claims against the estate remain unpaid (including reimbursement owed to someone who

paid claims or expenses):

Creditor’s name Last-known address Type of claim & estimate or amount

[If the estate has no creditors, write in “none.”]
Risputed claims. I, as affiant, dispute the following claims against the estate:

Creditor’s _name Last-known address Type of claim & estimate or amount

[If the estate has no creditors making claims the affiant disputes, write in “none.”
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Notice to credijtors. | promise to give each creditor listed in parts 11 and 12 above a copy of
this affidavit showing the date of filing. 1 will do this by delivering or mailing the papers to the
creditor at the last-known address. | will do this within 30 days after this affidavit is filed with
the court.

Notice to Estate Administration. Within 30 days after this affidavit is filed with the court, |
promise to mail a copy of the affidavit showing the date of filing to each of the following:

Department of Human Services Oregon Health Authority
Estate Administration Unit 500 Summer Street NE E20
PO Box 14021 Salem, Oregon 97301

Salem, Oregon 97309-5024

Claims may be barred. Some claims against the estate may be barred unless specific things
happen.

1. Claims against the estate not listed in this affidavit or in amounts larger than those listed
in this affidavit may be barred unless:
a. A claim is presented to the affiant within four months of the filing of the affidavit at
the address stated in part 1 of this affidavit; or
b. A personal representative of the estate is appointed within the time allowed under
ORS 114.555.

2. If this affidavit lists one or more claims which the affiant disputes, any such claim may be
barred unless:
a. A petition for summary determination is filed within four months of the filing of this
affidavit; or
b. A personal representative of the estate is appointed within the time allowed
under ORS 114.555.

I have read this affidavit. The statements it contains are true and correct
to the best of my knowledge.

Dated:

Affiant’s signature

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO BEFORE ME ON

Trial Court Administrator

By:
Court Clerk/Notary Public
My commission expires:
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