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NOTICE 
PARENT EDUCATION AND MEDIATION REQUIREMENTS  

You are required to serve this Notice on the other party with your Petition pursuant to SLR 8.013(4). 
 
MANDATORY MEDIATION: 

• Is required if you and the other parent cannot agree on custody and parenting time and the 
Respondent (other parent) has filed a response to the petition for dissolution or custody. 

• If you are required to attend mandatory mediation, you must attend Mediation Orientation (see 
below). 

• A judge will not hear your case until BOTH parties have attended mediation when 
required. 
 

Petitioner (parent filing the case): 
• You must attend a Court Mediation Orientation within 2 weeks from receiving the response to your 

petition. 
• You must successfully complete a mandatory Parenting Class whether or not the other parent files 

a response to your petition. 
Respondent (parent responding to a case that has been filed): 
• If you are filing a response to a petition for dissolution or custody, YOU MUST successfully 

complete a mandatory parenting class.   
• You must also attend mandatory mediation if required (see above). 
• If you have received an Order for Mediation, YOU MUST attend a Mediation Orientation and 

successfully complete a Parent Education class PRIOR to your scheduled mediation session. 
• If you have NOT received an Order for Mediation within 30 days from filing your response, you 

must attend a Court Mediation Orientation to schedule your mediation session. 
 
MEDIATION ORIENTATION: 

• Is conducted every Wednesday at 4:00 p.m. in the First Floor Conference Room in the Juvenile 
Justice Building, 609 W. 10th Street, Medford, Oregon 97501. 

• At the Mediation Orientation you will be assigned a time when you and the other party in your case 
are to participate in a mediation session.   

• You will be provided with certified copies of an Order that you MUST SERVE on the other party. 
• You must bring your case number to Mediation Orientation. 
• If you need an interpreter or accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities Act, please 

contact the mediation program in advance. 
• The local parenting class will be offered immediately after Mediation Orientation ONLY on the First 

and Third Wednesday of the month. 
 
MANDATORY PARENTING CLASSES: 

• If you have children, you must successfully complete a parent education class.   
• There are two options: 

o on-line parenting class - Children in Between Online ($45.95) 
o attendance at local parenting class ($30.00) 

  
Information regarding each of the parenting class options is attached.  If you do not have this information, 
you may obtain it at the family law window at the Jackson County Justice Building or online at 
www.courts.oregon.gov/Jackson. 
 
The parties shall successfully complete the parent education program prior to any court hearing or 
trial and prior to attending mediation (SLR 8.013(2).  
 
CONTACT INFORMATION: 
Court Mediation Program - 100 S. Oakdale Ave., Medford, OR  97501 - 541-776-7171 ext. 240 



Parent Education Online Course Option 
Meeting the Requirements of ORS 3.425 for Parent Education and Local Rules  

For the 1st Judicial District of Oregon, Jackson County Circuit Court 
 
Program Name:  The Center for Divorce Education’s  

Children in Between Online (CIBO) 
(Offered in both English and Spanish) 

 
What is CIBO?: An online co-parenting course for divorcing or separating parents that teaches specific communication 
techniques to help minimize parental conflict and improve  life within a new family structure for the child(ren).  
 

1. What you will need: 
a. Access to the Internet  
b. A current email address 
c. Google Chrome Web Browser 
d. The e-mail address for the Jackson County Court to email your certificate of completion directly to the 

court [see #7b (below) for further instructions]. 
e. If eligible, your approved court order stating fees are waived/deferred (if so, skip to #5 below).  

 
2. Go to: http://online.divorce-education.com  

 
3. Click on “Sign Up Now,”  

 
a. Carefully follow the on screen instructions to subscribe/pay and complete registration.  
b. If you have a court approved fee waiver, see the instructions on the purchase page. 

 
4. You will receive an email confirmation of your registration along with your Username and Password.  

 
5. Processing Fees Waivers/Deferrals (if eligible):  

a. See the instructions on the purchase page of online.divorce-education.com. 
b. Download and fill out the Fee Waiver Submission Form.  
c. Write your name and e-mail address at the top of the approved court order, which states that fees are 

waived/deferred.  
d. Fax approved court order to: (740)594-2521. Within 2 business days of sending in the form, you should 

receive an email from Children in Between Online, which will give you your login information. 

 Please check your junk/spam folders. 

 If you do not receive the email, please call The Center for Divorce Education’s Office at 
1-877-874-1365. 

6. Once you have your Username and Password, go to Website: http://online.divorce-education.com  
a. Click on: “Log In” (upper right corner).  
b. Enter your Username and Password. Begin course.  

 
7. What to do with: CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION: When you complete the course and successfully pass, you 

will be issued a certificate of completion. Please do BOTH of the following steps: 
a. Print at least one (1) copy of the certificate for your records. YOUR CASE NUMBER MUST APPEAR ON 

THE CERTIFICATE. If your case number is not pre-printed on the certificate when you print it, you must 
write the case number on the certificate yourself. Keep this copy on file and carry it to court with you 
in case needed.  

 
b. Once at the “Results Page” click on “e-mail copies of the certificate” and type in the email 

address to the Jackson County Court: jacparentclass@ojd.state.or.us. A copy of your certificate will 
be emailed directly to the court. NOTE: The court’s e-mail address is intended for receiving certificates 
only, not for ongoing correspondence. 

http://online.divorce-education.com/
http://online.divorce-education.com/


Public DomRel Parenting Class Local      02/10/2015

Jackson County Local Parenting Class Option 
Meeting the Requirement of ORS 3.425 for Parent Education and Local Rules for the 1st 

Judicial District of Oregon, Jackson County Circuit Court 
 
 
Class Name: Parenting in Transition 
 
Location:             Juvenile Justice Building 

First floor Conference Room 
609 W. 10th Street, Medford, OR  97501 

 
Day: First and Third Wednesday of each month 
 
Time:    4:00 p.m to 5:00 p.m - Mediation Orientation 

5:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.  – Parenting in Transition 
 
Cost: $30.00 (cash or check) payable at the door* 
 
How to sign up: Pre-registration is NOT required, just appear on one of the days 

above. 
 
 
This class is mandatory for parents involved in a divorce, separation, custody, parenting 
time or paternity case.  The class informs parents of ways to help their children cope with 
the changes in the family, so that their children will be less likely to develop long-term 
problems.  Each class begins with an orientation to the mediation program.   
 
Please attend this class prior to your mediation appointment. 
 
Basic Guidelines: 

• Be punctual 
• Do not bring children 
• Come prepared to actively participate 
• Be prepared to attend the entire class to receive the Certificate of  Attendance.** 

 
*  If your filing fees were waived or deferred, you must present a copy of the Order 

Waiving/Deferring Filing Fees at the time you attend the class. 
 
**  The Certificate of Attendance is required to be filed with the court prior to your 

 judgment being entered. Following completion of the Parenting in Transition class, 
 the mediator will prepare, and file with the court, a Certificate of Attendance. 
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