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NOTICE 
PARENT EDUCATION AND MEDIATION REQUIREMENTS 

You are required to serve this Notice on the other party with your Petition pursuant to SLR 8.013(4). 
 

MANDATORY MEDIATION: 
• Is required if you and the other parent cannot agree on custody and parenting time and the 

Respondent (other parent) has filed a response to the petition for dissolution or custody. 

• If you are required to attend mandatory mediation, you must attend Mediation 

Orientation (see below). 

• A judge will not hear your case until BOTH parties have attended mediation 
when required. 

 
Petitioner (parent filing the case): 
• You must attend a Court Mediation Orientation within 2 weeks from receiving the response 

to your petition. 
• You must successfully complete a mandatory Parenting Class whether or not the other parent 
files a response to your petition. 

Respondent (parent responding to a case that has been filed): 

• If you are filing a response to a petition for dissolution or custody, YOU MUST 

successfully complete a mandatory parenting class. 
• You must also attend mandatory mediation if required (see above). 

• If you have received an Order for Mediation, YOU MUST attend a Mediation 

Orientation and successfully complete a Parent Education class PRIOR to your 

scheduled mediation session. 

• If you have NOT received an Order for Mediation within 30 days from filing your 
response, you must attend a Court Mediation Orientation to schedule your mediation 

session. 
 
MEDIATION ORIENTATION: 

• Is conducted every Wednesday at 4:00 p.m. in the First Floor Conference Room in the  

 Juvenile Services Building, 609 W. 10th Street, Medford, Oregon 97501. 

• At the Mediation Orientation you will be assigned a time when you and the other party in 

your case are to participate in a mediation session. 
• You will be provided with certified copies of an Order that you MUST SERVE on the other 

party. 

• You must bring your case number to Mediation Orientation. 

• If you need an interpreter or accommodations under the Americans with Disabilities Act, 

please contact the mediation program in advance. 
• The local Parenting Class will be offered immediately after Mediation Orientation ONLY on  
 the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of the month. 

 

MANDATORY PARENTING CLASSES: 

• If you have children, you must successfully complete a parent education class. 

• There are two options: 

 On-line parenting class - Children in Between Online ($45.95) 
 Attendance at local Parenting Class ($30.00) 

 
Information regarding each of the parenting class options is attached. If you do not have this 

information, you may obtain it at the family law window at the Jackson County Justice Building or 

online at www.courts.oregon.gov/Jackson. 
 
The parties shall successfully complete the parent education program prior to any court 

hearing or trial and prior to attending mediation (SLR 8.013(2). 

 
CONTACT INFORMATION: 
Court Mediation Program - 100 S. Oakdale Avenue, Medford, OR 97501 - (541) 776-7171 ext. 240 

 
 

http://www.courts.oregon.gov/Jackson


Parent Education Online Course Option 
Meeting the Requirements of ORS 3.425 for Parent Education and Local Rules 

For the 1st Judicial District of Oregon, Jackson County Circuit Court 
 
Program Name:           The Center for Divorce Education’s 

CHILDREN IN BETWEEN ONLINE (CIBO) 
(Offered in both English and Spanish) 

 
What is CIBO?: An online co-parenting course for divorcing or separating parents that teaches 

specific communication techniques to help minimize parental conflict and improve 
things for the child(ren). 

 
1. What you will need: 

a. Access to the Internet 
b. The e-mail address for the Jackson County Court to email your certificate of completion 

directly to the court [see #7b (below) for further instructions]. 
c. If eligible, your approved court order stating fees are waived/deferred (if so, skip to #5 below). 

 
2. Go to: http://online.divorce-education.com 
 
3. Click on “Purchase,” subscribe/pay and complete registration. 

 
4. You will receive an email confirmation of your registration along with your Username and 
  Password. 

 
5. Processing Fees Waivers/Deferrals (if eligible):   

 
a. On your approved court order which states fees are waived/deferred: 

 
i. Write your name and e-mail address at the top of the approved court order. 

 
ii. Fax approved court order to:  (740)594-2521.   

NOTE: your fee waiver/deferral request will be processed  
Monday - Friday  7:00 a.m.- 5:00 p.m (EST).   
Any fee waiver/deferral requests received on weekends or holidays will be 
processed the following Monday (or first business day).  
 

b. You will receive an e-mail confirmation of your registration along with your Username and 
Password.  Please allow 48-72 hrs for processing of fee waiver/deferral requests. 
 

6. Once you have your Username and Password, go to Website: http://online.divorce-education.com 
a. Click on: “Log In” (upper right corner) 
b. Enter your Username and Password.  Begin course. 

 
7. What to do with:  CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION: 

When you complete the course and successfully pass, you will be issued a certificate of completion.  
Please do BOTH of the following steps: 
 

a. Print at least one (1) copy of the certificate for your records.  YOUR CASE NUMBER MUST 
APPEAR ON THE CERTIFICATE.   If your case number is not pre-printed on the certificate 
when you print it, you must write the case number on the certificate yourself.  Keep this 
copy on file and carry it to court with you in case needed. 
 

b. Once at the “Results Page” click on “e-mail copies of the certificate” and type in the e-
mail address to the Jackson County Court: jacparentclass@ojd.state.or.us. A copy of 
your certificate will be emailed directly to the court.  NOTE: the court’s e-mail address is 
intended for receiving certificates only, not for ongoing correspondence. 

http://online.divorce-education.com/
http://online.divorce-education.com/
mailto:jacparentclass@ojd.state.or.us
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Meeting the Requirement of ORS 3.425 for Parent Education and Local Rules for the  

First Judicial District of Oregon, Jackson County Circuit Court 
 

 
 

Class Name: Parenting in Transition 
 
Location: Juvenile Services Building 

First Floor Conference Room 

609 W. 10th Street 
Medford, OR 97501 

 
Day: 2nd and 4th Wednesday of each month 

 
Time: 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m   Mediation Orientation 

5:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m.  Parenting in Transition 

 
Cost: $30.00 (cash or check) payable at the door* 

 
How to sign up: Pre-registration is NOT required, just appear on one of the 

days above. 
 

 

This class is mandatory for parents involved in a divorce, separation, custody, 
parenting time or paternity case. The class informs parents of ways to help their 

children cope with the changes in the family, so that their children will be less likely 
to develop long-term problems. Each class begins with an orientation to the 

mediation program. 

Please attend this class prior to your mediation appointment.  

Basic Guidelines: 

 Be punctual 
 Do not bring children 

 Come prepared to actively participate 
 Be prepared to attend the entire class to receive the Certificate of Attendance** 

 
 

* If your filing fees were waived or deferred, you must present a copy of the 
Order Waiving/Deferring Filing Fees at the time you attend the class. 

  
** The Certificate of Attendance is required to be filed with the court prior to 

your judgment being entered.  Following completion of the Parenting in 
Transition class, the mediator will prepare, and file with the court, a 

Certificate of Attendance. 
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