WHAT SHOULD I BRING WITH ME?
You don't need to bring anything with you but please know your juror number. You are welcome to bring a book, magazine, laptop computer, etc. Wireless internet is available in the jury assembly room. A few courtesy computers are also available for internet use.
DO NOT BRING:
A pocketknife or any other sharp instrument. An airport-type security metal and image scanner station is located at the entrance to the Justice Building. Purses, backpacks, briefcases, etc. will be searched. It is a Class C felony for any person to intentionally possess a weapon in a court facility (ORS 166.370). The Deschutes County Sheriff enforces this prohibition against weapons.
WHERE AM I SUPPOSED TO PARK?
You may park in the County parking lot on the corner of Wall Street and Lafayette Avenue or on the 3rd or 4th level of the Centennial Parking Plaza at 61 NW Oregon Avenue (entrance is from Lava Road). If you require ADA accessible parking, please contact the jury coordinator for locations of accessible parking. Parking Map
DOES EVERYONE COME THE FIRST DAY OF THE TERM?
Yes. You will need to report at one of two times, 10:00 a.m. or 2:00 p.m., on the first Monday of your term of service. You will be required to call in the Friday before your term begins to determine whether your attendance will be in the morning or the afternoon.
If you received a Grand Jury Summons, you need to attend orientation at 8:15 a.m. on the first Monday of your term of service.
WHAT IF I HAVE A DISABILITY?
Anyone with a disability who needs accommodation to participate in jury service should advise the jury coordinator of the disability and the type of accommodation needed at least four days prior to the term. An Assistive Listening System (ALS) is available for your use during orientation and trials.
DO I GET PAID FOR JURY DUTY?
Juror per diem is established by the legislature: $10.00 per day and $25.00 per day after the third day. Round trip mileage reimbursement is $0.20/mile for the vehicle mileage traveled between your home and the courthouse. Additional information will be available when you report for jury duty.
CAN MY BOSS THREATEN TO FIRE ME IF I SERVE AS A JUROR?
Oregon law provides that an employer shall not discharge, intimidate, or coerce an employee due to their service as a juror. A complaint regarding a violation of this statute may be filed with the Trial Court Administrator.
JURY VERIFICATION FORM
Let the Jury Coordinator know if your employer requires verification of your jury service. Each day you report, we will have a verification form available for you.
WHAT IF I SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT BEFORE I RECEIVED THE JURY SUMMONS?
Requests for days off may be arranged IN ADVANCE by making the request on the Juror Response Form that you received with your summons. When you are instructed to report, we are relying on you being available for the full length of the trial. In the event you become ill and can't appear, it is mandatory that you call the jury coordinator during weekday business hours.
WHAT IF NOW JUST ISN'T A GOOD TIME?
Requests for deferral with good cause may be made by making the request on the Juror Response Form that you received with your summons. You will receive a postcard or email message notifying you of the Court's decision. The new term must be within one year from the date you are summoned to appear. Please let the Court know which months would be more convenient.
HOW CAN I BE EXCUSED FROM JURY DUTY?
If you are age 70 or older or are a woman breast-feeding a child and you ask to be excused, the Court must excuse you from service. Please make the request on the Juror Response Form that you received with your summons, and you will be excused from jury service. The Circuit Court may also excuse you if:
- (a) jury service causes you, your family, or your employer undue hardship or extreme inconvenience; or,
- (b) you are the sole caregiver for a child or other dependent, personally attend to the dependent during the Court's normal hours, and are unable to afford daycare or make other arrangements for the care of the dependent.
The Court will weigh the basis for your excuse against its need for jurors. You must show good cause to the Court why you should be excused or deferred under these standards. The Court may deny a request for excuse under (a) or (b) above and require you to serve or defer your jury duty to a later date.
- If you need to ask to be excused because your employer will not pay you for lost time and this causes you a financial hardship, please have your employer contact the jury coordinator by email, fax or mail explaining company policy. In addition, you must provide a written explanation to be excused. Email, fax or mail the Juror Response Form that you received with your summons.
- If it is a hardship to your employer to have you miss work, please have your employer contact the jury coordinator with an explanation by email, fax or mail. In addition, you must let us know that your employer is responding to the jury summons. Email, fax or mail the Juror Response Form that you received with your summons.
- If you no longer live in Deschutes County, are not a citizen of the United States, and/or are under the age of 18, you do not qualify to serve as a juror. Contact the jury coordinator by email, fax or in writing, and you will be excused from jury service. You will receive a postcard or email message notifying you of the Court's decision.
SHOULD I FOLLOW UP MY EMAIL, OR FAX WITH HARD COPIES:
Please do NOT. The email, or fax is sufficient.
HOW DO I CONTACT THE JURY COORDINATOR?
PHONE: 541-388-5300 extension 2190; FAX: 541-388-5309; EMAIL: firstname.lastname@example.org; MAIL: 1100 NW Bond, Bend, OR 97701; JUROR RECORDING: 541-388-5329.