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Instructions for Filing Small Estates 

Clackamas County Circuit Court 

Fifth Judicial District 

 

1. ELIGIBLE ESTATES 
 

A small estate affidavit may be filed if: 

 

 A. $75,000 or less of the fair market value of the estate is from personal property, and 

 

 B. $200,000 or less of the fair market value of the estate is from real property. 

 

“Estate” is the decedent’s property that is subject to administration by a court. 

 

“Fair market value” is the value of the property on the open market (between unrelated parties), not 

reduced to reflect debts owed against the property. 

 

“Real property” is land or interests in land, such as life estates. 

 

“Personal property” is all other property that is not real property, including contracts for the sale of real 

property, bank accounts, vehicles, and so on.   

 

The dollar limits do not include any property that transfers without probate or the small estate process 

(such as bank accounts or real property held with right of survivorship). 

 

2. DEFINITIONS THAT APPLY TO THE PROCESS 
 

 A. Affiant:  The person signing this affidavit is the “affiant.”  The affiant has specific legal 

duties under ORS 114.505 to 114.560. 

 

 B. Decedent: The “decedent” is the person who died leaving an estate that needs to be paid 

to creditors or transferred to heirs or devisees. 

 

 C. Estate: The “estate” means all of the decedent’s property that is subject to administration 

by a court in Oregon.  This does not include property that transfers automatically to 

others following death (such as joint bank accounts). 

 

 D. Heirs:  The “heirs” are the people who would inherit the decedent's estate under 

Oregon's laws of intestacy, ORS 112.015 to 112.115.  

 

 E. Devisees:  The “devisees” are the people named in the will to receive the decedent’s 

estate.  Charities and trustees of trusts can also be devisees. 
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3. WHO CAN FILE 
 

 A. If the decedent died intestate (did not leave a will), the heirs entitled by law to the 

decedent’s estate, or the Division of State Lands if there are no heirs. 

 

 B. If the decedent died testate (with a will) the devisees of the estate. 

 

 C. Any creditor of the estate who has not been paid the full amount owed within 60 days of 

the decedent’s death. Note: If the decedent died intestate and without heirs, a creditor 

cannot file without first receiving authorization from the Division of State Lands.  See 

ORS 114.520.  Check the box under item 1 of the affidavit indicating that you are a 

creditor and that the decedent died intestate and without heirs.  Attach your written 

authorization from the Division to the affidavit. 

 

4. HOW TO FILE 
 

 A. Fill out the form. Do not leave any part blank.  If a part does not apply, write in “does not 

apply” or “none.” 

 

B. Have your signature notarized.  A court clerk can also certify your signature provided 

you sign in front of the clerk. 

 

 C. Get a certified copy of the death certificate. 

 

 D. Get the original will, if one exists.  The original will was signed by the decedent (not a 

copy).   

 

 E. File the affidavit, death certificate, and original will (if any) at room 104 of the 

Clackamas County Courthouse (Case Processing Department), 807 Main Street, Oregon 

City, Oregon 97045.  A filing fee of $111.00 is required. 

 

5. WHEN TO FILE 
 

The affidavit cannot be filed until 30 days after the death of the decedent. 

 

6. PART 10 OF THE FORM -- WHO GETS WHAT? 
 

Part 10 of the form deals with who gets what property.  This is the interest that each heir or devisee is to 

receive from the estate.  If the decedent did not leave a will, the property passes to the heirs according to 

the laws of intestate succession.  If the decedent left a will, the property goes according to the will. 

 

Examples: 

 

A. If the decedent left no will and had the following relatives survive: 

 

 1. A spouse but no surviving children or grandchildren: everything would go to the 

spouse. 
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  2. A spouse and children: 

 

   a. Everything would go to the spouse if all of the surviving children (and 

deceased children who left children) were also children of the spouse. 

 

   b. Half would go to the spouse and half would go to the children if any of the 

surviving children (or deceased children who left children) were not also 

the children of the spouse. 

 

  3. No spouse but three children (no deceased children):  each child would receive 

one-third of the estate.  

 

  4. No spouse but two surviving children and one deceased child who left two 

children:  the two surviving children would receive one-third each and the 

children of the deceased child would receive one-sixth each (they share the 

deceased child’s share). 

 

 B. If the decedent left a will, each person who is named to receive property would be listed, 

with the property to be received described next to each name under “property to be 

received.”   

 

  1. If five people are to receive the estate in equal shares, then “one-fifth” should be 

written under “property to be received,” next to each name. 

 

  2. If Joe Smith is to receive the decedent's house on Elm Street, that should be 

written in under “property to be received” next to Joe Smith’s name. 

 

7. WHERE TO FILE 

 

The affidavit can be filed with the circuit court for:  

 

 A. The county in which the decedent died,  

  

 B. Any county in which the decedent lived or had a home at death, or  

 

 C. Any county in which any property of the decedent was located at death or when the 

affidavit is filed.   

 

8. DUTIES OF THE AFFIANT 
 

The affiant has the following duties under the law: 

 

 A. Mail or deliver a copy of the affidavit showing the date of filing to the parties listed in the 

affidavit.  This must be done within 30 days after filing the affidavit. 
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 B. Take control of the property of the estate.  See ORS 114.535. 

 

 C. From the estate property, pay estate expenses and claims as provided in ORS 

114.545(1)(c).   

 

 D. After four months from the date the affidavit is filed (if no personal representative is 

appointed for the estate), the affiant should transfer the estate property to the heirs or 

devisees.  Before the four months is up, the affiant may transfer property as allowed by 

ORS 114.545(1)(e) and (f). 

 

 E. Pay any taxes owed. 

 

9. CLAIMS AGAINST THE ESTATE 
 

See ORS 114.540. 

 

10. ACCOUNTABILITY OF CLAIMING SUCCESSORS 
 

The affiant and any other claiming successor who receives property under the small estate statute is 

personally answerable and accountable: 

 

 A. To estate creditors, to the extent of the value of the property received, ORS 114.545(2); 

 

 B. To any personal representative appointed within four months after the affidavit is filed; 

ORS 114.545(2), 114.555; and 

 

 C. To any omitted heir or devisee. 

 

11. GUIDELINES 

 

Vehicles:   MUST have year, make, model, estimate of fair market value as of the date of death. 

SHOULD have VIN and license number, but not required 

 

Bank and Investment Accounts:  MUST have name of bank/brokerage, type of account (ex: 

checking, savings, IRA, 401(k), brokerage, etc.), last four digits of each account number, 

and balance on each account (or total balance of all accounts) as of the date of death. 

 

Stocks: MUST have name of company, number of shares, and fair market value on date of death. 

 

Bonds: MUST have description of type of bond and fair market value of date of death. 

 

Real Estate: MUST have either street address or legal description, and a statement of “real market 

value” (RMV) from property tax statement as of the date of death. 

 

Tangible Personal Property: MUST have estimate of fair market value as of the date of death.  

Property may be lumped together as “household property and furnishings” or something 

similar.  However, items of particular value (over $500) MUST be separately listed 

(jewelry, silver, art, collections, etc.) with value for each. 
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Manufactured Home: We MUST know if it is real or personal property.  A manufactured home 

on a solid foundation is real property; otherwise generally personal property.  We 

MUST have a description (year, make, model, location).  We SHOULD have a serial 

number. 

 

12. QUESTIONS 
 

The court staff is not allowed to give legal advice. 

 

If you have questions about handling a small estate, or whether a small estate is the right process for you 

to use, you should contact a lawyer.   The Oregon State Bar Lawyer Referral Service can provide 

names of lawyers in your area who accept referrals in this area.  The number for the referral service is 

1-800-452-7636. 

 

The references to ORS in these instructions are to the Oregon Revised Statutes.  You can read these at 

the law library or find them on the internet at: http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/114.html (Chapter 114) and 

http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/112.html (Chapter 112). 
 

http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/114.html
http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/112.html

