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Oregon eCOURT  
 

With the arrival of Oregon eCourt and implementation of a statewide web-based court system, we have 

reviewed and made changes to many of our court processes and procedures.  As part of the 

implementation process, the court’s case management system changed from OJIN to Odyssey, and File 

and Serve, the eFiling component of Oregon eCourt, was implemented.  Throughout this guide, we have 

provided information on our new processes and procedures.  Some basic changes are as follows: 

 

Court System Prior to Implementation of 

Oregon eCourt 

 Oregon eCourt 

Paper based system  Digital information and web-based services  

Paper documents only available during court 

business hours, and only if the file is not in use by 

someone else 

 Online availability of case documents  

24 hours a day, 7 days a week 

Filing of paper documents only during court 

business hours 

 Electronic filing of documents available  

24 hours a day, 7 days a week 

Payment of fees and fines only during court 

business hours 

 Electronic payment of fees and fines available 

24 hours a day, 7 days a week 

 

Please note:  Our web-based systems are occasionally down for system upgrades and maintenance 

 

RESOURCES 
The resources listed below are available for you to learn to navigate the new web-based court system.   

 

 
Initiate a new case or file on an existing court case.  Click on the image above to go to the page.  

 

 
See the “Quick Links” section of this page for help and information.  Click on the image above to 

go to the page. 

 

 
This page provides help and support along with other information for OECI and ACMS (Appellate 

Courts).  Click on the image above to go to the page. 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OnlineServices/OJDeFiling/Pages/index.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OnlineServices/ePay/Pages/index.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OnlineServices/OJIN/Pages/index.aspx


  

3 | P a g e  

 

OJCIN OnLine (Oregon Judicial Case Information Network) is the official website of Register of 

Actions and judgment records for the State of Oregon Judicial Department.  OJCIN OnLine 

includes OECI (Oregon eCourt Case Information Network) and ACMS (Appellate Case 

Management System).  OJCIN OnLine is a valuable paid subscription resource for court case 

information from all 36 of Oregon's circuit courts, in addition to the Tax & Appellate courts.  It 

allows you to search for civil, small claims, tax, domestic, and criminal (including misdemeanor 

and felony) cases.  Some cases are confidential and protected statutorily; therefore, not available to 

the public. 

 

 
You can find “Help – Quick Reference” and “Frequently Asked Questions” (FAQs) on this page.  

Click on the image above to go to the page. 

 

 
This provides free access to scheduled court dates and basic case information.  This page provides 

a reference guide and FAQs page, along with links to the court calendars and online record search.  

Click on the image above to go to the page. 

 

 
OJD is developing interactive forms using Odyssey Guide and File.  The forms that are currently 

available are listed on this page, along with support information and links to other OJD resources.  

Click on the image above to go to the page. 

 

 

RULES 
There are rules that specifically address how to operate in our new environment that you should be 

familiar with as they provide guidelines for preparing and processing documents electronically or 

conventionally (in paper). 

 

 

Uniform Trial Court Rules (UTCR) 

https://publicaccess.courts.oregon.gov/PublicAccessLogin/Login.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OnlineServices/calendars/pages/index.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OnlineServices/iForms/Pages/index.aspx
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UTCR Chapter 21 provides many of the rules and requirements regarding electronic filing and service and 

other rules that apply to the electronic files of the court.  Throughout this guide, we will point out areas 

where UTCR Chapter 21 applies to process and procedure. 
To view the most current Uniform Trial Court Rules, including any rules amended out of cycle, 

please click here. 
    

Supplementary Local Rules (SLRs) 
The Clackamas Court adopted several supplementary local rules that apply directly to Oregon eCourt.  

Pay specific attention to: 

 SLR 2.501 Stipulated or Ex Parte Matters for Which the Documents Must be Presented 

Conventionally and May not be Electronically Filed 

 SLR 5.061 Ex Parte Matters 
 

To view the most current Supplementary Local Rules, please click here.     

To view Draft 2017 Supplementary Local Rules and explanatory comments, please click here. 

 

Other Rules 
Oregon Judicial Department’s website has a page with commonly used rules and laws.   

Please click here to go to that page.  

  

SUPPORT – Technical and Process / Procedure 
 

File and Serve   
Process and Procedure Support: 

 

Call Clackamas County Circuit Court at  

503.655.8447 

 

Office hours: M-F 9 am - 12 pm and 1- 4 pm 

except legal holidays 

 Technical Support: 

 

Please contact Tyler Technologies.  They may be 

contacted through e-mail, online chat, or by 

telephone.  Please go to their website for contact 

information by clicking here. 

 

OJCIN / OECI 
Subscriber Support: 

 

E-mail:  ojcin.online@ojd.state.or.us 

Call:  800.858.9658 

 

Office hours: M-F 8 am - 5 pm PST 

 Technical Support: 

 

E-mail:  ETSDHelp@ojd.state.or.us  

Call:  503.986.5582 or 877.826.5010  

 

Office hours: M-F 7 am - 6 pm PST 

 

OJD ePay 
Process and Procedure Support: 

 

Call Clackamas County Circuit Court at  

503.655.8447 

 

Office hours: M-F 9 am - 12 pm and 1 - 4 pm 

except legal holidays 

 Technical Support: 

 

Call:  503.986.5582 or toll free 877.826.5010  

Submit:  OJD Court ePay Support Form 

 

Office Hours:  M-F 7 am - 6 pm, except legal 

holidays. 

 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/programs/utcr/Pages/utcrrules.aspx
http://www.ojd.state.or.us/Web/ojdpublications.nsf/Files/Clackamas_SLR_2016.pdf/$File/Clackamas_SLR_2016.pdf
http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/pages/rules.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/pages/index.aspx
http://content.tylerhost.net/helpor/selfhelp/national/
mailto:ojcin.online@ojd.state.or.us
mailto:%20ETSDHelp@ojd.state.or.us
https://www.ojd.state.or.us/InternetForms.nsf/Problem?OpenForm
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RECORDS CENTER 
 

The Records Center is located on the ground floor, room 12 of the courthouse and is open to the public 

between the hours of 9:00 am to 12:00 pm, and 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm, excluding legal holidays.  Records 

staff are available to assist the public with questions and requests for both paper and electronic files.  Files 

that are electronic and/or maintained on-site and shelved in the Records Center are available for 

immediate viewing in the Records Center 
 

Helpful Reminders:  
 The court has fewer and fewer paper files maintained at the Courthouse and by July 1, 2017 we 

expect that ALL paper files will be relocated to our off-site storage facility.  

 Most documents entered/imaged into Odyssey from our Go-Live date of Dec. 7, 2015 and forward 

are viewable in OECI.  (unless the documents are confidential, sealed or a filing type that is not 

made available through OECI) 

 Cases that originated in paper, but later had matters come before the court after our Go-Live date 

of 12/7/15 also have documents that are viewable in OECI. 

 To maintain file integrity only court employees are allowed behind the customer service counter.   

 Records staff are not able to provide a verbal quote regarding the number of pages in a file or total 

cost for copies. 

 Due to staffing and workload, records staff are unable to locate a file and/or retrieve the file from 

another office or work unit.  
 

Equipment available to the Public 
The following equipment is available to assist with viewing of case records, documents, or eFiling 

documents with the court: 
 

 6 Public viewing terminals 

 1 File and Serve Kiosk 

 1 Microfilm viewer 
 

Location of Files  
The court regularly moves files from our courthouse Records Center to our offsite storage facility.  Please 

use the following link to view information regarding file storage location and the available format.   
 

Please click here to view file location and their format. 

 

Request an Offsite File 
Requests for files maintained at our offsite facility must be ordered in advance and are generally available 

within three (3) judicial days.  The court will hold the requested file for three (3) judicial days after which 

the file will be returned to our offsite facility.   

 

To request an off-site file: 

 Fill out a request form in room 12, ground floor of the courthouse,  or 

 Make a verbal request by calling (503) 655-8447, option 5. 
 

Public Records Request 
The Public Records Request Procedure applies to all requests to inspect or copy public records, except for 

routine requests made in person to: 
 

http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/docs/where_are_the_files.pdf
http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/docs/clackamas_public_records_requests_procedure.pdf
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 Court Records Center staff; and 

 Inspect current case records that are not confidential or otherwise exempt from disclosure or for 

uncertified copies of pages from those records. 

 

If you are unable to come to the courthouse, you can request records by mail using the Public Records 

Request Form and by following the Clackamas County Circuit Court Public Records Request Procedure, 

both of which are available on our website.  
 

Click Here to go to our Court Records Web page. 

 

The following information is required in order to process your request for copies from a Clackamas 

County Circuit Court case file: 

 Case name; 

 Case number; 

 List of document(s) you want copied and whether certification and/or exemplification is requested 

and for which document(s); 

 Check to cover the cost of copying; 

 Self-addressed stamped envelope large enough to return the copies to you (a #10 envelope can 

hold approximately 5 pages; 6”x 9” envelope can hold approximately 25 pages); 

 E-mail address; and 

 Mail your request to Clackamas Courts, 807 Main Street, Room 12, Oregon City, OR  97045. 

 

Note: This information is included in the form and the procedure.  
 

Copy Costs 
The following are a list of the most common copy costs:  
 

 Paper copies of document are $.25 per page;  

 Certified Copy is $5.00 plus $.25 per page; and 

 Exemplification is $10.00 plus $.25 per page. 
 

Note: This information is included in the Public Records Request Procedure  

 

We may charge additional amounts for staff time and other actual costs when responding to requests that 

require additional services or more than normal and reasonable time for routine requests, including:     

 Time spent to locate, compile, and sort requested records, even if we find no records that respond 

to your request or the records we do find are exempt from disclosure;  

 Time spent to review requested records and redact any exempt material;  

 Time spent to copy requested records; 

 Time spent returning documents to files;  

 Time spent to supervise inspection by the requestor; 

 Necessary research time spent preparing correspondence related to your request; and 

 Special copy services and mailing services for documents that are not of standard size or for 

voluminous requests. 
 

Payment Options for Copies of Documents 
Clackamas County Circuit Court will accept the following forms of payment: 

 Credit or debit card (Visa, MasterCard or Discover) in person or telephonically 

 Personal check, in person or by mail 

http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/pages/courtrecords.aspx
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 Cashier check, in person or by mail 

 Money order, in person or by mail 

 Cash, in person only 

 We do not accept second or third party checks. 

 

EXHIBITS 

Handling and retention of exhibits is governed by Oregon Revised Statutes 7.120 and 133.623, and 

Uniform Trial Court Rules, Chapter 6.  If you still have procedural questions after reviewing statute and 

rules, please contact the Records Supervisor, at 503-655-8447, press 5 

Exhibits Retained by the Court 
 

Click Here to find UTCR 6.120 

 

The Court follows UTCR 6.120(1) in determining when an exhibit must be retained by the Court pending 

final disposition of the case, as follows: 

 

 Parties represented by Counsel:  Pursuant to UTCR 6.120(1), “Unless otherwise ordered, all 

exhibits shall be returned to the custody of counsel for the submitting parties upon conclusion of 

the trial or hearing.  Such counsel must sign an acknowledgment of receipt for exhibits returned.  

Counsel to whom any exhibits have been returned must retain custody and control until final 

disposition of the case unless the exhibits are returned to the trial court pursuant to subsections (2) 

or (3) of this rule.”   

 Parties representing themselves:  Pursuant to UTCR 6.120 (1), “...Both documentary and non-

documentary exhibits submitted by parties not represented by counsel shall be retained by the trial 

court, subject to subsection (4) of this rule.” 

 

UTCR 6.120 does not apply to small claims and violation cases.  Exhibits offered during small claims and 

violation trials / hearings will be returned to the party submitting the exhibit(s). 

 

Disposition of Exhibits Retained by the Court 
The court case must have reached a final determination and notice mailed to the attorneys or parties of 

record before exhibits that have been retained by the court can be destroyed or otherwise disposed of.   

Once notice is mailed, the parties or their attorneys have 30 days to withdraw or retrieve the exhibits from 

the Court’s custody.  The exhibits will be disposed of if not retrieved.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/programs/utcr/pages/utcrrules.aspx
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IN-CAMERA REVIEW PROCESS 
The Motion for In-Camera Review, necessary supporting documents and Order,  are electronically filed if 

you are an attorney, or may be filed traditionally if you are self-represented.  Once received, they will be 

forwarded to the appropriate Judge for review and signature.  

Once the subpoenaed documents or other materials have been received by the court, the Presiding Judge 

will assign the inspection.  Once the review is complete, the judicial office assigned to the review will 

contact the parties to arrange for payment and schedule a time to pick up copies.  Copies will not be 

released without payment.  Copies are 25¢ per page (ORS 21.258; CJO 14-066(1).  

All subpoenaed records MUST be delivered to Room 12 on the ground floor of the courthouse, attention 

Records Supervisor.  

 

Important Note:  DO NOT have records delivered directly to a unit or to a judicial office.   
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INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY 
 

Oregon eCourt – Public Access to Court Transactions – IS HERE! 
Oregon eCourt is an internet based, electronic court environment that provides the public with access to 

Oregon’s State Courts 24-hours a day, 7-days a week.  The system provides internet-based filing, 

payment, and access to documents, dockets, and related content from anywhere, anytime.  Oregon eCourt 

enhances the public’s access to justice and has transformed the business operations of the court through 

the electronic delivery of court services to our customers.  Oregon eCourt provides our customers with 

existing, improved, and new services, without having to visit the courthouse.  These services include the 

ability to request court case-related information, including court records, documents and other electronic 

content, and the ability to download those records in a printable format.  Customers file court documents 

online, and pay filing fees, court costs, and court imposed fines.   

 

Additional information regarding Oregon eCourt is available online at 

http://courts.oregon.gov/oregonecourt/ 
 

 

Website 
The Court’s website address is http://courts.oregon.gov/clackamas/.  The website now has the same 

look and feel of other OJD websites and addresses many public information needs for the Court’s 

customers.  It is important to us that the website contains information that is useful to you, so it is 

regularly reviewed and updated to include new information and forms.  We encourage you to view the site 

as it offers information on a variety of topics.  Please take some time to familiarize yourself with what 

information is available.   
 

We welcome comments on the website and are interested to hear from our customers regarding any 

problems you may be experiencing in using the website as well as any suggestions you may have for 

improving the site.  To provide comments please contact the Technical Support Team at (503) 723-2938 

or e-mail the Clackamas County Court Webmaster at Clackamas.webmaster@ojd.state.or.us.   

 

Integrated Courtroom Technology 
In 2007 state of the art integrated courtroom, technologies were installed in Courtrooms 1, 5 and 10.  

Courtroom 11, a high security courtroom was added in 2013.  This technology improves litigants’ access 

to justice, reduces costs, and increases efficiency of court operations.  For example, one feature of the 

integrated courtroom technology is video conferencing.  Video conferencing can be used in criminal cases 

where the defendant or witness is in custody, which reduces inmate transportation costs, eliminates 

security problems, reduces the number of sheriff personnel needed for inmate movement, and saves travel 

time and costs.  In civil cases, the benefits of video conferencing can include the reduction in cost for 

travel expenses when expert testimony is conducted by video conference rather than having the expert 

appear in person.   
 

Integrated Courtroom Technology system features are: 
 IP video conference 
 Laptop connectivity at counsel tables for presentation of photos, PowerPoint and other evidence or 

information 
 Digital audio evidence 
 Digital video evidence 
 Integrated phone system 
 Integrated ADA hearing assistance 
 Elmo (or other document presentation equipment) digitally interfaced 
 Vortex technology to filter unwanted background noise 
 Large plasma monitor displays 

 

http://courts.oregon.gov/oregonecourt/
http://courts.oregon.gov/clackamas/
mailto:Clackamas.webmaster@ojd.state.or.us
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Before an attorney or self-represented party can use the integrated courtroom technology in Courtrooms 1, 

5, 10 or 11, he or she must attend a free, one-time court training program.  Courtroom technology 

seminars are scheduled as needed and class size is limited.  To participate in the courtroom technology-

training program, please contact the Technical Support Department at 503-723-2938 or 503-723-2990. 
 

If you want to request to have your case assigned to a courtroom with integrated courtroom technology, 

you must contact the Calendaring Department a minimum of two (2) weeks in advance of the hearing or 

trial date at (503) 655-8643, select option #2.  Requests should be made as early as possible as 

assignments are made in the order they are received. 
 

TV/VCR/DVD Mobile Carts 
The Court also has two mobile big screen television units that are capable of playing DVDs and VHS 

tapes.  A/V equipment may be reserved through the Calendaring Unit on a first-come, first serve basis.  

There are four courtrooms with advanced technological capabilities (see page 9 for “Integrated Courtroom 

Technology” information under the Information Technology section) and two carts with TV/DVD/VCR 

combination that are available for use.  Please contact Calendaring at 503-655-8643 with your request.  

Please contact Calendaring at least two weeks prior to trial or hearing to ensure availability. 
 

 

Video Conferencing 
The Court has the ability to schedule appearances by video conference.  Please follow the guidelines 

below when requesting that a video conference be scheduled. 

 

Video Conference Service Request 
Contact the Clackamas County Circuit Courts Calendaring Unit, located in Room 200, at least two weeks 

in advance to request a video conference.  You may also make that request by phone at 503-655-8643, 

select option 2. 

 

Video Conference Service Level Agreement 
Clackamas County Circuit Courts video conference infrastructure consists of professional mainstream 

video conferencing equipment supporting the industry standard H.323 IP Video protocol.  Recommended 

video conference systems include Polycom, Tandberg, VTel, VCon or other H.323 systems.  Video 

conference connections utilizing NetMeeting are possible, though not recommended, due to unpredictable 

quality and reliability of signal.  The Judge or his or her designate will have final approval as to usability 

of all NetMeeting sessions. 

 
 

Video Conference Policy 
The video conference system is for Clackamas County Courts official use only.  It is Technical Support 

Department policy that a test call be conducted between sites at least 48 hours prior to the video 

conference.  Decisions regarding the suitability of the video conference broadcast will be at the sole 

discretion of the Judicial Authority. 

 

Video Conference Options 
Clackamas County Circuit Court maintains IP video conferencing capabilities with the Oregon Judicial 

Department and the Oregon Department of Administrative Services (DAS) video conference network.  

Virtually every secondary and higher educational facility in the state as well as most Department of 

Human Services, Department of Justice, Department of Corrections and Oregon Youth Authority facilities 

maintain functional video conferencing capabilities within the DAS network.  To arrange a video 

appearance, call 503-655-8688. 
 

Tested site connections include (sorted alphabetically):  
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 Baker County Jail  

 Clackamas County Jail 

 Camp Florence,  

 Clatsop County Jail  

 Coffee Creek Correctional Facility 

 Columbia River Correctional Facility  

 Coos County Jail  

 Deer Ridge Correctional Institution  

 DHS Eugene 

 Donald E. Long 

 Hillcrest Youth Correctional Facility 

 Eastern Oregon Correctional Institution 

 Inverness Jail  

 Jefferson County Jail  

 Lincoln County Courthouse, Lincoln County Jail  

 Linn County Jail  

 McLaren Youth Correctional Facility 

 Multnomah Juvenile Detention Center  

 Oregon State Penitentiary 

 NORCOR  

 Powder River Correctional Facility 

 Snake River Correctional Institution 

 Tillamook County Jail, Tillamook Youth Authority  

 Two Rivers Correctional Institution 

 Union County Jail  

 Warner Creek Correctional Facility 

 

This is not a comprehensive list of all sites we have tested.  For more information about video conference 

options contact the Clackamas County Courts Technical Support Department at 503-723-2938. 
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ACCOUNTING 
 

Accounting Reminders 
Filing Fees 

 “Filings fees are not refundable under any circumstances.”  ORS 21.100 

 

Payment of Trial Fees  
 Must be paid in advance of the trial and are due and payable when the action, suit or proceeding is 

set for trial. 
 The additional fee(s) for subsequent days of trial shall be collected on the day the trial concludes.  

ORS 21.225 
 

Refund of Trial Fees 
 If all claims in the action or proceeding are decided without commencement of a trial, the trial fees 

may be refunded.  A request for a refund of trial fees must be made in the form of a motion, 

affidavit and order requesting refund of the paid trial fee not more than 15 days after entry of 

judgment disposing of the action or proceeding.  ORS 21.225(7) 

 

Requests for Disbursement 
If you have filed paperwork with the court requesting the return of funds on deposit with the court, please 

follow the procedure below: 

 

1. To confirm if the paperwork has been signed by the Judge please search for the case in OECI and 

locate the imaged document.  

 

2. If the order/judgment has been signed, you may call the disbursement clerk in the Accounting unit, 

(503) 655-8453 option 2. 

 

3. If the order/judgment has not been signed and it has been at least five judicial days since e-filing 

the document (add 1 or 2 days if there was a recent court holiday), you may then call the Civil 

Case Unit to check the status of the order/judgment. 

 

4. In most cases fees are collected in advance in the form of a check (personal or business) or money 

order, cash or credit card.  Requests for disbursement on fees paid by check may take up to 14 

days to allow the check to clear the bank.  The original receipt must accompany requests for 

reversal of credit card transactions.  For cash and money order disbursements, please allow two 

weeks for the request to be processed. 
 

Interest-Bearing Accounts 
ORS 293.293(2) allows trust amounts of $10,000 or more to be transferred into an interest-bearing 

account pending the outcome of a court action if: 

 

1. A motion has been filed; and 

2. A signed court order has been received.  

 

If you are tendering funds for transfer to an interest bearing account with the court, you must file the 

necessary paperwork with the Court Finance Supervisor to ensure that your funds receive interest due.  

Please bring a copy of the signed order along with the funds to the Court Finance Supervisor.  This will 
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ensure that funds are tendered and your case is appropriately monitored.  Do not process this transaction 

with the court cashier. 

 

The release and disbursement of funds from an interest-bearing account must have a motion and signed 

order. 

 

Security Release  
Requests for return of security release will not be issued the same day as the request.  Once the signed 

court order for return of security release has been received by the accounting department, the funds will 

be disbursed within 30 days.  

 

The following payments will first be deducted prior to any refund of security release:   

Security Release Fee: 15%, but not less the $5.00, nor more than $750.00.  Any court fines or fees, owed 

by the defendant on any case(s) within the State of Oregon.  ORS 135.265 

 

Drop Box and Payments 
Payment envelopes are available at the drop box located on the door to Room 104.  The payment 

envelopes may be used to submit payments for FTR requests, criminal, traffic, civil, or other court fines, 

fees or assessments.  Payments may be made in the form of cash, check or money order.  All payments 

placed in the “drop box” no later than 5:00 PM, Monday through Friday, excluding legal holidays, will be 

date stamped and deemed received and filed on that day.  A receipt will not be mailed out unless a self-

addressed stamped envelope is included with your payment. 

 

Recurring Payments 
The Court offers free and easy ways for debtors to make monthly payments to the Court using a Visa or 

MasterCard debit or credit card.  Establishing a recurring payment plan eliminates the call to the court 

each month to make your monthly payments.  There is no monthly transaction fee or sign up cost. 

 

To sign up for a recurring payment plan pick up an authorization form, complete it and return the form to 

the Court either in person or by mail.  The form may be picked up at the Court or is available online on 

our website http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/Pages/epay.aspx.  For questions, please contact the court 

at 503-655-8456 option #2 and let the clerk know you are calling about the “recurring payment plan.” 

 

ePay Online 
ePay is an online electronic payment service that allows you to make payments on most court cases, 

citations, and accounts.  ePay does not allow for payments on new Civil cases.  ePay accepts MasterCard, 

Visa credit cards, and debit cards.  Payments are processed and recorded on the case within one business 

day.  There is a $1.50 processing fee that is assessed on each transaction to cover the costs of processing 

the online payment.  
 
(see next page for Forms and Package Prices) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/Pages/epay.aspx
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FORMS / PACKETS AVAILABLE 
Revised: October 3, 2016 

State and Local Court forms are available for free and downloadable.  You may access those forms at the 

following web addresses. 

 State Court Forms: http://courts.oregon.gov or 

 Clackamas Court Forms: http://courts.oregon.gov/clackamas 

 

The following forms are available for purchase at the Information Center located at Main Courthouse. 

 

 

 

ADOPTION 

Type Cost 
Adoption Checklists No Fee 

Adoption Report (Vital Statistics form) No Fee 

Fee Deferral or Waiver No Fee 

Request to Open Adoption File No Fee 

 

CIVIL 

Type Cost 
Fee Deferral or Waiver No Fee 

Judicial Satisfaction $1.00 

Landlord/Tenant – Commercial and Residential $2.00 

Landlord/Tenant – Answer No Fee 

Landlord/Tenant – Notice of Restitution No Fee 

Landlord/Tenant – Return of Personal Property $2.00 

Landlord/Tenant – Writ of Execution of Judgment of Restitution No Fee 

Preacipe No Fee 

Satisfaction of Judgment No Fee 

Small Claims To be determined 

Small Claims Answer No Fee 

Writ of Garnishment Information Sheet No Fee 

 

 

CRIMINAL 

Type Cost 
Expungement Packet $2.00 

Modification of No Contact Order No Fee 

Request to Open Sealed File (Expunged or Set Aside and Sealed) $1.00 

Satisfaction of a Criminal Judgment $1.00 

Subpoena No Fee 

 

 

 

 

 

http://courts.oregon.gov/
http://courts.oregon.gov/clackamas
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FAMILY LAW 

Type Cost 
Alternative Method of Service $2.00 

Annulment with or without Children $5.00 

Change of Venue/ Transfer of Case $2.00 

Contempt $5.00 

Converting Legal Separation to Dissolution $2.00 

Co-Petition Dissolution no Children $5.00 

Co-Petition Dissolution with Children $5.00 

Custody $5.00 

Dissolution with or without Children $5.00 

Family Abuse Prevention Act (FAPA)  No Fee 

Fee Deferral or Waiver No Fee 

General Judgment of Dismissal $1.00 

Generic Motion and Order to Show Cause $2.00 

Immediate Danger – Post Judgment No Fee 

Immediate Danger – Pre Judgment No Fee 

Legal Separation with or without Children $5.00 

Modification $5.00 

Motion and Order to Postpone Family Law Hearing No Fee 

Motion and Order to Reinstate Case No Fee 

Order for Mediation No Fee 

Order of Assistance (In State or Out of State Custody 

Enforcement) 

No Fee 

Parenting Enforcement Packet No Fee 

Petition for Hearing De Novo (Appeal of Admin Child Support 

Order 

No Fee 

Registration of a Foreign Judgment $2.00 

Response Packets $2.00 

Satisfaction of Child Support (Full or Partial)  No Fee 

Status Quo – Post Judgment $2.00 

Status Quo – Pre Judgment $2.00 

Stipulated Modification $5.00 

 

 

PROBATE 

Type Cost 
Annual Report No Fee 

Fee Deferral or Waiver No Fee 

Name Change – Adult $5.00 

Name Change – Minor $5.00 

Objection to Petition and Request for Hearing No Fee 

Probate Checklists No Fee 

Small Estate $2.00 
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EX PARTE 
 

SLR 5.061: EX PARTE MATTERS  
(1) Ex parte matters will be heard Monday through Friday, excluding legal state holidays, at 1:00 P.M.  
 

(2) An in-person ex parte appearance may be required in those stipulated and ex parte matters for which the 

documents must be presented conventionally and may not be electronically filed as designated in SLR 2.501.  

An in-person ex parte appearance is not required for Orders to Show Cause.  If an Order to Show Cause is 

being filed in conjunction with documents that require an in-person ex parte appearance, all documents may 

be presented at ex parte.  
 

(3) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this rule, any stipulated or ex parte matter may be electronically 

filed for purpose of submitting to a judge for signature.  No appearance is required.  

 

(4) Motions for ex parte order must be accompanied by a separate proposed order.  
 

(5) When service is required by law, any motion that is to be presented ex parte shall have attached to it a 

certificate of service, which shall include the date, time, manner of service upon the opposing party, and the 

name of the person served.  If no service was made, the moving party shall submit a statement documenting 

the reasons that no service was made.  Note:  Certificate of Readiness, UTCR 5.100, is required. 
 

(6) Family Abuse Prevention Act, Sexual Abuse Prevention Order, and Elderly Persons and Persons with 

Disabilities Abuse Prevention Act petitions filed pursuant to ORS 107.718, ORS 163.760, or ORS 124.010 

through ORS 124.020 shall be heard Monday through Friday at 1:00 P.M. in the courtroom designated.  All 

required documents must be filed in the Civil Case Unit, Room 104, 807 Main Street, Oregon City, Oregon, 

97045 no later than 11:00 A.M. on the day of the ex parte.  
 

(7) Matters that MAY NOT be submitted ex parte are as follows:  

  

(a) Motion to Continue Trial or Hearing Date  
 

(b) Motion to Continue UTCR 7 Dismissal Date  
 

(c) Motion to Reinstate, except in domestic relations cases if accompanied by a general judgment and 

opposing party has been notified  
 

(d) Motion for Attorney Withdrawal, except in domestic relations cases if accompanied by a general judgment  
 

(e) Civil Default Judgments  
 

(f) Motion for Telephonic Testimony  
 

(g) Motion for Alternative Service  
 

(h) Motion for In Camera Review  
 

(i) All foreclosure matters  
 

(j) All probate matters, unless prior approval has been given  
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Helpful Tips  
 

What MAY and MAY NOT Be Filed at Ex Parte 
 

MAY be filed at Ex Parte  

Note:  The Initial Case Filing must be filed before you go to ex parte. 

 Assurance of Voluntary Compliance  

 Guardian ad Litem Appointment 

 Inspection Warrant 

 Temporary Protective Order of Restraint (status quo) 

 Order of Assistance (enforcement of custody) 

 Emergency Custody and Parenting Relief based on Immediate Danger 

 Fee Deferral and Waiver Application (after clerk recommendation) 

 Commission for out of state deposition 

 Distraint Warrant 

 Provisional Process Show Cause 

 Receivership Show Cause 

 Preliminary Injunction Show Cause / Temporary Restraining Order 

 Pre-Judgment Temporary Protective Orders of Restraint (Status Quo) 
 

MAY NOT be filed at Ex Parte 

 Writ of Assistance 

 Writ of Mandamus 

 Writ of Review 

 Limited/General/Supplemental Judgments (default and/or stipulated; except for Family Law 

stipulated judgments, which may go to ex parte if they have been reviewed – see Pleading Review 

below) 

 Family Law Motions to Show Cause – unless being filed in conjunction with documents that 

require an in-person ex parte appearance. 

 See SLR 5.061(7)(a-j) above 

 

NOTE:  Restriction does not apply to any document filed simultaneously with pleadings that are 

required to be conventionally filed at ex parte.   

 

Hearing Dates 
If you need to schedule a hearing date, go to Room 200 prior to appearing at ex parte and get the date 

from the Calendaring Unit.  Note:  You must have filed your initial papers and received a case number 

prior to receiving a hearing date or going to ex parte. 
 

Pleading Review  
Domestic Relations and Probate pleadings that are allowed to be filed at ex parte (see above), must be 

reviewed and initialed by staff prior to appearing before the ex parte judge.   

 Domestic Relations ex parte pleadings should be taken to Room 200 at 1 p.m. for review. 

 Probate ex parte pleadings should be taken to Room 104 at 1 p.m. for review, and the Probate 
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Coordinator can be reached at 503-655-8623; if the Probate Coordinator is unavailable, the 

Probate Supervisor or Clerk will review the matter.  

 Motion to Continue- must be electronically filed and will be submitted to the Presiding Judge for 

determination. 

 

Payment of Fees 
Civil Case Unit staff will appear at ex parte and determine what, if any, fees are currently owing on a 

case.  All fees must be paid prior to the Judge considering the pleadings.  Parties / Counsel should come 

to court prepared to pay all fees that may be owing on the case (example: first appearance fees, motion 

fees, etc.).  The staff will accept all forms of payments (cash, check, money order, Visa or MasterCard) in 

the courtroom.  Receipts will be given for cash or credit card payments, but not for check or money order.   

 

Conforming Copies 
Civil Case Unit staff will accept the original pleadings for filing and will conform copies in the 

courtroom.  Parties / Counsel must come prepared with copies to be conformed.  If you need service 

copies and do not have them with you, you will need to wait for the ex-parte clerk at the Civil Case Unit 

windows, Room 104 and purchase copies there.  A copy fee of $.25 per page will be charged. 

Witnessing Signature 
The Civil Case Unit staff can witness signatures in the ex parte courtroom for documents being filed with 

the Court. 
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CALENDARING 
 

Primary Phone Number 
503-655-8643, option 2 
 

Hours of Operation 
8:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon and 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, except holidays. 
 

 

Reporting In for Trial/Hearing Status 
Clackamas County Circuit Court has no formal “docket call”.  Parties are required to call Calendaring at 

503-655-8643 by 11:00 a.m. two days prior to your trial or hearing to report the status of your case. 
 

Be sure to communicate special circumstances when calling Calendaring to report on the status of your 

case, such as: 

 Out-of-state witnesses or expert witnesses;  

 Time requirements for your hearing or trial; and 

 Information and time requirements on outstanding motions that need to be heard the day of trial. 
 

Motions to Continue/Postpone 
All Motions to Continue/Postpone are to be filed electronically through the File and Serve program.  

Motions to Continue/Postpone should be filed at least 72 hours in advance of the hearing you are 

requesting to continue or postpone so that the processing units have an opportunity to process and forward 

the paperwork to the Presiding Judge prior to the hearing date.  If not submitted at least 72 hours in 

advance of the hearing there is a possibility that the motion will not be ruled on before the hearing date, 

but will be referred to the trial judge.  If this occurs, pending a ruling on the motion to continue or 

postpone, please appear on the date and time of the hearing or trial prepared to proceed.   
 

 

When Motions to Continue are required and when hearings can be continued by other means: 

 Motions to Continue are required for all trial settings. 

 

 Motions to Continue are required for all stalking and abuse prevention hearings. 

 

 Show cause hearings may be reset by agreement of the parties.  You must contact Calendaring at 

503-655-8643 to report that both parties agree to reset the hearing and obtain future dates from a 

Calendaring clerk. 

 

 Settlement conferences may be reset by agreement of the parties, contingent upon the availability 

of a new settlement conference date prior to the current trial date. 

 

 Criminal motions may be reset by agreement of the parties, contingent upon the availability of a 

new motion hearing date prior to the current trial date.  Criminal motions may be continued to the 

day of trial unless a Motion to Continue has been submitted and granted by the Presiding Judge. 
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Show Cause Hearings  
No show cause dates will be assigned by phone.  Please see the Family Law Motion Processing Guide for 

direction on how to file your Motions (see guide at end of Calendaring section).  If you do not pay your 

filing fees, your hearing will be flagged and Calendaring will not assign your case out to a judge for 

hearing.  Cases that are not assigned remain on the “holding docket.”  Cases on this docket are assigned 

upon the availability of a judge.  If your case is on the holding docket please call after 11:00 a.m. the day 

of the hearing for assignment. 
       

Settlement Conferences 
Settlement conferences are mandatory for all civil cases excluding foreclosures.  The following parties 

must be personally present at the settlement conference unless excused in advance by the Court for good 

cause: 

1. The parties 

2. The trial attorneys 

3. The insurance company representatives 

a. An insured party may appear by such party’s trial counsel and insurance carrier. 

b. Failure to comply with any of the above may result in sanctions being imposed, including an 

award of attorney fees. 
 

Settlement conferences for domestic relations cases may be requested.  It is required that both parties be 

represented by counsel and both parties must join in requesting that a settlement conference be scheduled.  

All information regarding custody, support, parenting and distribution of assets must be exchanged at 

least one day prior to the scheduled conference. 
 

A settlement conference fee of $200.00 per participant on all civil cases and $100.00 per participant on all 

domestic relations cases must be paid prior to the commencement of the settlement conference. 
 

Example of how to calculate fees due: 

 
 

Party / Name Represented By Fee 

Plaintiff/Petitioner 

Plaintiff 1, Jane Smith Attorney A $200.00/       C 

$100.00        D  

Plaintiff 2, John Smith Attorney A $200.00/       C 

$100.00        D 

3
rd

 Party Plaintiff, Lisa Doe Attorney B $200.00/       C 

$100.00        D  

Defendant/Respondent 

Defendant 1, John Doe Attorney B $200.00/       C 

$100.00        D 

Defendant 2, James Doe Attorney B $200.00/       C 

$100.00        D 

3
rd

 Party Defendant, James Johnson Attorney C $200.00/       C 

 $100.00       D 

TOTAL FEE OWING $600.00/ 

$300.00 

 

           C= Civil 

           D= Domestic 
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Expedited Hearings 
Motion to Compel hearings may be scheduled with the Presiding Judge’s office directly if an  

expedited hearing is necessary.  All other hearings must be scheduled through Calendaring and will be 

scheduled in the normal course on the Civil Motion docket.  Calendaring will work with the parties to set 

the hearing as soon as possible taking into consideration the parties’ schedules. 
 

Civil Motions 
Civil motions are heard Mondays at 9:00 a.m. Hearing dates are assigned approximately one to one and a 

half (1 - 1½) weeks after the motion is received and entered by the court.  Motions are scheduled 

approximately 30 days out with the exception of Motions to Compel, which will be scheduled more 

quickly.   
 

If you receive a notice of a hearing and you have a conflict, please contact the other party(ies) and choose 

another Monday.  A Motion to Continue is not needed as long as the parties agree to reset the date.  

Contact Calendaring at 503-655-8643 for a new date.  Orders must be submitted within 21 days of the 

assigned hearing date. 
 

Access to Audio/Visual (A/V) Equipment  
A/V equipment may be reserved through the Calendaring Unit on a first-come, first-served basis.  There 

are three courtrooms with advanced technological capability (see page 9 for “Integrated Courtroom 

Technology” information under the Information Technology section) and two carts with a TV/DVD/VCR 

combination available for use.  Please contact Calendaring at 503-655-8643 with your request a minimum 

of two weeks prior to trial or hearing to ensure availability. 
 

Depositions 
The court does not schedule depositions, nor are any court facilities available for depositions.  Contact the 

law library to schedule a conference room for depositions.  See page 98 for scheduling procedures. 
 

Camera /Tape Recorder Permits 
Prior permission is required to bring a camera or tape recorder into the courthouse.  Permit request forms 

are to be submitted directly to the assigned judge.  Tape recorders are allowed only for playing back or for 

recording a deposition.  You must contact Calendaring or the assigned judge’s office to obtain a permit 

request form. 
 

Resetting Criminal and Calendaring Trials  
Defendants are required to appear, in person, on all Measure 11 cases to sign a new trial notice; no 

exceptions.  On all other cases, once a motion to continue is granted, defendants may sign a notice prior 

to the trial date to be excused from the appearance.  New dates must be agreed upon by the DA and 

defense counsel and are subject to the courts availability.  The court must receive the new signed notice 

by 11:00 am the day prior to the original appearance in order for the appearance to be excused.    
 

Case Manager Hearings  
Case manager hearings may be reset to any available date that is earlier than the original date.  Case 

managers can also be reset administratively, one time, up to two weeks.  Resets will be accepted as the 

docket allows.  If you wish to continue a hearing past the timeframe allowed, a motion to continue must 

be filed.  Once the motion to continue is granted, the court must receive the new signed notice by 11:00 

am the day prior to the original appearance in order for the appearance to be excused.  
 

Dockets Posted Online 
Dockets are posted online via the OJD Website after 3:00 p.m. each day at: 

http://courts.oregon.gov/clackamas/ and click on the Calendars & Records image on the right side of 

the page. 

http://courts.oregon.gov/clackamas/
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Oregon Standards of Timely Disposition in Oregon Circuit Courts  
 

Civil 
 

General Civil 
1) 90 percent of all civil cases should be settled, tried, or otherwise concluded within 12 months of the 

date of case filing: 

 

a) 98 percent within 18 months of such filing, and 

b) The remainder within 24 months of such filing, except for 

c) Individual cases in which the court determines exceptional circumstances exist, and for which a 

continuing review should occur. 

 

Domestic Relations 
2) 90 percent of all domestic relations matters should be settled, tried or otherwise concluded within 9 

months of the date of case filing, and: 

 

a) 100 percent within one year, except for 

b) Exceptional cases in which continuing review should occur. 

 

Summary Civil 
3) Proceedings using summary hearing procedures as in landlord-tenant and replevin actions, should be 

concluded within 75 days of filing.   

 

a) Pursuant to UTCR 15, Small Claims should be concluded within 98 days of filing. 

 

Criminal 
 

Felony 
1) 90 percent of all felony cases should be adjudicated or otherwise concluded within 120 days from 

the date of arraignment: 

 

a) 98 percent within 180 days, and 

b) 100 percent within one year, except for 

c) Exceptional cases in which continuing review should occur. 

 

Misdemeanor 

2) 90 percent of all misdemeanors, infractions and other non-felony cases should be adjudicated or 

otherwise concluded within 90 days from the date of arraignment: 

 

a) 98 percent within 180 days, and 

b) 100 percent within one year, except for 

c) Exceptional cases in which continuing review should occur. 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/programs/utcr/pages/utcrrules.aspx
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Setting Trial Date in Civil Cases 

  
Click here to access UTCRs 

 

UTCR 7.020 
 

1) If all defendants have made an appearance, the case will be deemed at issue 91 days after filing of the 

complaint or when the pleadings are complete, whichever is earlier. 

2) The trial date must be no later than one year from the date of filing for civil cases or six months from 

the date of filing of a third-party complaint under ORCP 22 C, whichever is later, unless good cause is 

shown to the Presiding Judge. 

Continuances   
   

(Please refer to page 28 for checklist) 

 

Postponement of a Trial Date 
UTCR 6.030 
 

1) A request to postpone a trial date must be by motion, affidavit and separately filed order. 

2) A motion to postpone a trial date must be signed by the attorney of record. 

3) A motion to postpone a trial date must contain a certificate stating that counsel has advised the client 

of the request and must set forth: 

a) The date scheduled for trial, 

b) The reason for the requested postponement, 

c) The dates previously set for trial, 

d) The date of each previous postponement, and 

e) Whether any parties to the proceeding object to the requested postponement. 

4) If the motion to postpone is based upon a conflicting proceeding in another court, it must set forth in 

addition to the information required by subsection (2) of this section (Postponement of Trial Date): 

a) The name of the court in which the conflict exists, 

b) The date of the conflict, 

c) The date on which the other proceeding is to begin,   

d) The case number and date of filing of the conflicting case, 

e) The date on which the conflicting case was set for trial, and 

f) The information required by UTCR 6.040(2). 

5) If a motion to postpone a civil trial is based upon stipulation of the parties: 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/programs/utcr/pages/utcrrules.aspx
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a) The new trial date must be within the time periods set forth in UTCR 7.020(5), 

b) The motion must be filed at least 28 days before the date then set for trial, 

c) The motion must be signed by the attorneys of record, 

d) The motion must contain a certificate stating that the attorneys have advised their clients of the 

stipulation and the clients agree to the postponement, and 

e) The motion must set forth the date scheduled for trial, the new trial date requested, and that the 

new date is available on the court’s Trial Docket. 

 If the request for a continuance is beyond the provisions of the Oregon Standards of Timely 

 Disposition in Oregon Circuit Courts, in addition to the above, include:   

f) A short synopsis of the case, 

g) Why the case is not ready for trial, 

h) What efforts were made to prepare the case since the case was filed. 

6) Oral Argument 

UTCR 6.030 (5) provides that a Motion to Continue can be decided by summary determination 

without a hearing 
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Family Law Motion Processing Guide 
(For Attorneys) 

Name Only Conventionally  
Filed 

Ex Parte 
Appearance 
Required  

Hearing Date 
Set at Initial 
Filing 

Processing 

Order of Assistance 
(Enforcement of 
Custody) 

Yes Yes No 1. Customer goes with their documents 
to Room 200 for review by Family 
Law JA (currently Lisa Edwards).   

2. Send party to ex parte at 1:00 pm, 
where a Civil Case Unit Clerk will 
review fees owed. 

3. At conclusion, customer, and 
documents taken to Room 104, so 
that the customer can obtain 
certified copies. 

 

Show Cause 

Contempt Yes No Yes 1. Customer goes to Room 200 for 
document review and a hearing 
date. 

a. Clerk asks, “Are you aware 
there is a filing fee?”  If no, 
and they are concerned, 
send them to Room 104 for 
verification of fees owed 
prior to giving them a 
hearing date. 

2. Once date is assigned, send them to 
Room 104 for payment of fees and 
final processing of paperwork. 
 

Enforcement of 
Parenting Time 
Orders 

Yes No Yes 1. Customer goes to Room 200 for 
document review and a hearing 
date. 

a. Clerk asks, “Are you aware 
there is a filing fee?”  If no, 
and they are concerned, 
send them to Room 104 for 
verification of fees owed 
prior to giving them a 
hearing date. 

2. Once date is assigned, send them to 
Room 104 for payment of fees and 
final processing of paperwork. 
 

Governing Child 
Support Judgment 

NO 
Attorneys MUST 

e-file 

No Yes/No* 1. Customer goes to Room 200 for 
document review and a hearing 
date. 

a. Clerk asks, “Are you aware 
there is a filing fee?”  If no, 
and they are concerned, 
send them to Room 104 for 
verification of fees owed 
prior to giving them a 
hearing date. 

2. Once date is assigned, send them to 
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Name Only Conventionally  
Filed 

Ex Parte 
Appearance 
Required  

Hearing Date 
Set at Initial 
Filing 

Processing 

Room 104 for payment of fees and 
final processing of paperwork  

Modification of 
Judgment 

NO 
Attorneys MUST  

e-file 
 

Note:  If filing in 
conjunction with 
documents that require 
an in person ex parte 
appearance this may be 
conventionally filed. 

No No 1. File the documents in the Civil Case 
Unit. 

2. The Civil Case Unit Clerk will make 
service copies. 

3. The clerk will fill out payment slip 
and send customer to the cashier. 
 

Temporary Orders  - 
Prejudgment (pendite 
lite) 

Yes 
 

Note:  2017 Draft SLR’s is 
clarifying that this may be 
electronically filed unless 
the filer is seeking 
immediate temporary 
orders pending the 
hearing. 

No Yes 1. Customer goes to Room 200 for 
document review and a hearing 
date. 

a. Clerk asks, “Are you aware 
there may be a filing fee?”  
If no, and they are 
concerned, send them to 
Room 104 for verification of 
fees owed prior to giving 
them a hearing date. 

2. Once date is assigned, send them to 
Room 104 for payment of fees and 
final processing of paperwork 
(including stamping of judges 
signature on order). 
 

Status Quo Order 
(Post-Judgment) 

Yes No Yes 1. Customer goes to Room 200 for 
document review and a hearing 
date. 

a. Clerk asks, “Are you aware 
there is a filing fee?”  If no, 
and they are concerned, 
send them to Room 104 for 
verification of fees owed 
prior to giving them a 
hearing date. 

2. Once date is assigned, send them to 
Room 104 for payment of fees and 
final processing of paperwork 
(including stamping of judges 
signature on order). 
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Name Only Conventionally  
Filed 

Ex Parte 
Appearance 
Required  

Hearing Date 
Set at Initial 
Filing 

Processing 

Pre-judgment 
Temporary Protective 
Orders of Restraint 
(Status Quo) 

Yes 
 

Yes No 1. Customer goes with their documents 
to Room 200 for review by Family 
Law JA (currently Lisa Edwards).   

2. Send party to ex parte at 1:00 pm, 
where a Civil Case Unit Clerk will 
review fees owed. 

3. At conclusion, customer, and 
documents taken to Room 104, so 
that the customer can obtain 
certified copies. 

Temporary Pre-
Judgment Custody 
and Parenting Time – 
“Immediate Danger” 

Yes Yes No* 1. Customer goes with their documents 
to Room 200 for review by Family 
Law JA (currently Lisa Edwards).   

2. Send party to ex parte at 1:00 pm, 
where a Civil Case Unit Clerk will 
review fees owed. 

3. At conclusion, customer, and 
documents taken to Room 104, so 
that the customer can obtain 
certified copies. 

4. Other parent must request a hearing 
(unless a hearing is set by the court – 
see note below).  Once requested, 
the court will set the date within 14 
– 21 days. 
 
*Note:  If the judge orders that a 
hearing date should be set at the ex 
parte hearing, send the document to 
Calendaring for the date to be set. 
 
 
 
 

Temporary Post-
Judgment Custody 
and Parenting Time – 
“Immediate Danger” 
& Modification of 
Judgment  

Yes Yes No* 1. Customer goes with their documents 
to Room 200 for review by Family 
Law JA (currently Lisa Edwards).   

2. Send party to ex parte at 1:00 pm, 
where a Civil Case Unit Clerk will 
review fees owed.  

3. At conclusion, customer, and 
documents taken to Room 104, so 
that the customer can obtain 
certified copies. 

4. Other parent must request a hearing 
(unless a hearing is set by the court – 
see note below).  Once requested, 
the court will set the date within 14 
– 21 days. 
*Note:  If the judge orders that a 
hearing date should be set at the ex 
parte hearing, send the document to 
Calendaring for the date to be set. 
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Continuance Checklist 
 

Click here to access UTCRs 

 

Postponement of Trial UTCR 6.030 

1) A request to postpone a trial must be by motion and contain the following:  

□ be signed by the attorney of record, 

□ contain a certificate stating that counsel has advised the client of the request and must set 

forth: 
 

the date scheduled for trial,  

the reason for the requested postponement,  

the dates previously set for trial,  

the date of each previous postponement, and  

whether any parties to the proceeding object to the requested postponement.  

 

2) If the motion to postpone is based upon a conflicting proceeding in another court, it must set 

forth, in addition to the information required above:  

□ the name of the court in which the conflict exists,  

□ the date of the conflict,  

□ the date on which the other proceeding is to begin,  

□ the case number and the date of filing of the conflicting case,  

□ the date on which the conflicting case was set for trial, and  

□ the information required by UTCR 6.040(2). 

3) If a motion to postpone a civil trial is based upon stipulation of the parties:  

□ the new trial date must be within the time periods set forth in UTCR 7.020(5),  

□ the motion must be filed at least 28 days before the date then set for trial,  

□ the motion must be signed by the attorneys of record, 

□ the motion must contain a certificate stating that the attorneys have advised their clients of 

the stipulation and the clients agree to the postponement, 

□ the motion must set forth the date scheduled for trial, the new trial date requested, and that 

the new date is available on the court's trial docket.  

4) If the request for continuance is beyond the provisions of the Oregon Standards of Timely 

Disposition, include: 
 

□ why the case is not ready for trial, 

□ what efforts were made to prepare the case since date of filing. 

 

 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/programs/utcr/pages/utcrrules.aspx


  

29 | P a g e  

 

TRIAL PROCEDURAL TIPS 

 
Day of Trial 
1. Come prepared with: 

a. Witness list. 

b. Exhibit list. 

c. Requested jury instructions. 

i. “Clean copies” are expected; and 

ii. Requested instructions on disk, Microsoft Word, will allow for quicker revisions by 

court staff in the event any are necessary. 

d. Exhibits pre-marked. 

i. Plaintiff exhibits numbered 1,2,3…; 

ii. Defendant exhibits numbered 101, 102, 103… 

e. Mark and exchange exhibits in advance, stipulating to as many as possible. 

i. Prepare a “pocket memo” with points and authorities to address evidentiary issues. 

f. Receipt showing trial fee paid. 
 

2. “Settlement conference” day of trial. 

a. Not unusual for the trial judge to inquire about settlement the day of trial. 

i. Allows the court to ask questions of attorneys not addressed / expounded upon in the 

memorandum; and 

ii. Often will result in resolution of case without need of trial. 
 

3. Practical matters that bear repeating. 

a. Turn off cell phone and other electronics. 

b. Stand when addressing the judge. 

c. Make a clear record. 

i. Speak distinctly; 

ii. Only one person at a time may speak; and 

iii. Instruct witnesses to answer “yes” or “no” versus “uh-huh” or “uh-uh.” 

d. Hand exhibits to bailiff. 

i. Bailiff marks if exhibits admitted or objection if sustained; 

ii. If admitted, bailiff will forward exhibits to the judge; and 

iii. Allows for better accountability of the exhibits. 

e. Client / witness communication. 

i. Client to communicate with counsel via written notes; 

ii. Instruct witnesses and/or supporters of your client seated in the gallery not to make 

verbal comments/sighs; and 

iii. Eye rolling, head nodding or other gesticulations will not be tolerated and those 

persons will be asked to leave the courtroom. 
 

4. Conclusion of trial. 

a. Sign release form and take exhibits; and 

b. Wait for a photocopy of the verdict if you want one immediately after the conclusion of trial. 
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CRIMINAL CASE PROCESSING 
 

Pursuant to UTCR 21, all initial criminal pleadings must be filed conventionally (in paper) in Room 200.   

 

Any subsequently filed documents must be filed electronically through the File and Serve system unless 

the documents being filed fall into the category of “Documents that Must Be Filed Conventionally,” 

found in UTCR 21.070(2).  In addition, if you are self-represented you may file documents 

conventionally, rather than through the eFiling system. 

 

See Page 2 of this guide for a link to the File and Serve program. 

 

Related Citations  
If you are aware your client may have citations related to a criminal case, please inform a criminal clerk 

as soon as possible.  (Example: A DUII case that has a citation for driving while suspended and no 

insurance.) 

 

 

CIVIL CASE UNIT 
 

Information & Self-Help Center 
 

The Information Center is located on the first floor of the courthouse.  The Family Law Self Help Center 

is located on the ground floor of the courthouse.  At the Information Center, a visitor to the court may find 

out where business is conducted in the courthouse, and may request instruction packets for some domestic 

relations matters, small claims, FEDs, name changes and small estates.   
 

Elizabeth Vaughn is our Family Court Self-Help Coordinator.  This position is authorized by statute to 

assist self-represented litigants to review domestic relation forms, maneuver through the court maze and 

to provide procedural information.  Elizabeth currently assists litigants by appointment only and has a full 

schedule daily.  Her duties also include participating in State Family Law Advisory training, updating 

self-help information in the area of family law and communicating with community resources to assist or 

refer unrepresented litigants.  
 

 

The Family Court Self-Help Coordinator assists self-represented litigants only.  The Self Help Center 

does not assist parties who are represented by counsel, and does not assist attorneys or their staff with 

questions on process and procedure.  For those types of questions please contact the Civil Case Unit at 

503-655-8447 and press option 3.        

 

The Information and Self Help Center public hours of operation are generally 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 

1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, except holidays.  Appointments with the Family Court 

Self-Help Coordinator may be scheduled in person at the Information Center on the first floor or by 

calling 503-650-3046. 
  

Location and Hours  
The Civil Case Unit is located on the first floor of the Courthouse, Room 104. 
 

Public hours of operation are 9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, 

excluding holidays. 
 

 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/programs/utcr/pages/utcrrules.aspx
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Rule 7  
Uniform Trial Court Rules (UTCR) 7.020, or “Rule 7,” is the process trial courts use to dismiss civil 

cases for lack of progress.  It is the responsibility of the parties to track their case progress and attorneys 

should not rely on the Courts “Rule 7” process to keep their case proceeding timely. 
 

If the case is not at issue by the 91
st
 day from the filing of the complaint, the court will send the parties or 

attorney a Notice of Dismissal.  At the conclusion of 30 days from the date of the Notice of Dismissal, a 

General Judgment of Dismissal will be entered, unless one of the following has occurred: 

 An order of default has been filed and entry of judgment has been applied for; 

 Good cause to continue the case is shown to the court on motion supported by affidavit; or 

 The respondent/defendant has appeared.   

 

You will only receive one Notice of Dismissal from the Court. 
 

You may request that the Court extend the dismissal date by filing a Motion, Declaration/Affidavit and 

Order. 
 

If a dismissal has been processed, a Motion/Order to Set Aside the dismissal and a Motion/Order to 

Reinstate are required in order to proceed with the case. 
 

If you have questions, please contact the Civil Case Unit at 503-655-8447, option 3. 

 

Reference Judge Cases 
If your case is being heard by a Reference Judge, please eFile original pleadings into the appropriate case 

category and forward copies to the Reference Judge.  When eFiling the pleadings, please indicate that you 

have copied the Reference Judge.  At the time of disposition of the case, please forward the original 

order/judgment to the Reference Judge for signature.  The Reference Judge will then forward the original 

signed pleading to the Court.  If you wish to keep the Court informed of the time of forwarding 

orders/judgments to the Reference Judge, you may eFile a letter into the appropriate case category using 

filing code “LT.”. 
 

Default Judgments 
Default Judgments are sent in after service has been affected and the statutory time for responsive action 

has elapsed.  The requirements and process for a default judgment are found on page 37. 
 

The number one reason default judgments are not entered timely is due to error in preparing the default 

judgment paperwork.  We monitor whether corrected judgments are re-submitted within 21 days of the 

party being notified of an error.  If corrected pleadings are not filed within that time limit, a dismissal may 

be issued. 

 

The most common errors are: 
 

1. Number one reason for rejection - errors in Money Award!  You must provide all information required 

in statute and indicate “unknown”, if unknown (SLR 5.105). 

2. The Affidavit of Amount Due is not submitted or is not accurate. 

3. The copy of the contract is not clear and readable and the clerk is not able to verify that the contract 

supports the information in the Affidavit of Amount Due.  The judicial clerks who process this 

paperwork ask that the contract be CLEAR, and that the requested interest rate be HIGHLIGHTED on 

the copy of the contract.    

4. The non-military affidavit or declaration required by Service Members Civil Relief Act (2003) must 

address the following:  

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/programs/utcr/pages/utcrrules.aspx
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 The defendant or respondent is or is not in military service and state supporting facts; or  

 If unable to determine if the defendant is in military service, state that the plaintiff or petitioner is 

unable to determine if the defendant or respondent is in military service and what reasonable 

efforts were made to make a determination.  

 

If you are unable to determine if the defendant is in military service, the court may require additional 

proof of the defendant’s military status [pursuant to the Service members Civil Relief Act (SCRA), 50 

USC app.521, 201(b)(3)]. 
 

Requests for determining the military status of parties to an action can be made through the Department of 

Defense at https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/single_record.xhtml  

 

Form of Judgment 
Pursuant to ORS 18.038 the title of a judgment document must indicate whether the       

judgment is a limited judgment, a general judgment or a supplemental judgment.  The judgment document 

is separate from any other document in the case (but may have attached to it affidavits, stipulations, 

motions and exhibits as necessary to support the judgment). 
 

If a judgment document does not have one of the required labels (general, limited, supplemental) and is 

not signed by a judge or court administrator, the court staff person will not enter the judgment in the 

register.  If a judgment document does not have one of the required labels and has been signed by a judge 

or court administrator, the staff person will return the judgment document to the judge or court 

administrator who signed it.  Neither ORS 18.052 nor other law explicitly requires the Court to return 

unsigned judgment documents to the attorney who filed it. 
 

Payment of Fees 
Insufficient or no fees submitted 
Per ORS 21.110(5), a pleading or other document shall be filed by the clerk only if the fee required is 

paid by the person filing the document, or if a request for a fee waiver or deferral is granted by the Court.   
 

No fee or request for waiver/deferral 
Any pleading or document which requires a fee that is submitted without payment or an approved fee 

waiver/deferral, will be returned to your office not filed. 
 

Insufficient fees 
The Civil Case Unit clerk will place one (1) courtesy call to your office requesting additional fees be 

submitted.  If additional fees are not submitted within 5 days, the pleading or document will be returned 

to your office.  In the instance where additional fees are needed on an already signed pleading or 

document, the Civil Case Unit will place one (1) courtesy call to your office and if additional fees are not 

submitted within five days the Presiding Judge will vacate the signature and the pleading or document 

will be returned to your office. 
  

Pleadings or documents with hearing date set 
The Civil Case Unit clerk will place one (1) courtesy call to your office requesting fees be paid on all 

pleadings or documents that have already been filed with a hearing date set, such as an Order to Show 

Cause.  At the time of notification to your office the clerk will also notify the Calendaring Unit.  If fees 

are not submitted the Calendaring Unit will be notified to address this issue prior to an assignment to a 

courtroom and the motion may or may not be assigned to a courtroom for hearing. 

 

Note:  This only applies to documents that are filed conventionally or dropped in the Court’s Drop Box.   

https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/single_record.xhtml


  

33 | P a g e  

 

 

Click here to access the current Fee Schedule online. 

 

Where to File Pleadings 
 

All pleadings are to be filed electronically through Odyssey’s File & Serve program unless the documents 

being filed are those that must be filed conventionally pursuant to UTCR 21. 

 

If the documents you are filing must be filed conventionally, then you will file them at the Civil Unit’s 

public window in front of Room 104 on the first floor of the courthouse. 

 

Please note:  If any documents you are filing must be filed conventionally, then any supporting 

documents may also be filed conventionally at the same time. 

 

 

Tips from the Clackamas County Court Civil Team 
 

 Please be patient – The Court is only open a third of the time that you are allowed to file.  Please 

check OECI before calling the clerks to see if something was signed.  Also, check OECI prior to filing 

a second set of pleadings for the same thing – we do reject duplicate filings. 

 

 Your pleadings and your envelope should match; i.e. – if Petitioner is Melissa B. Young on your 

pleading you should also type Melissa B. Young on your envelope.  The information from the 

envelope is what transfers to Odyssey to start your case, not the pleading. 

 

 Odyssey is Proper Case unlike OJIN that was all UPPERCASE.  Please be aware of this when filling 

in your envelope details.  This is also true for party names and addresses. 

 

 Please read the rejection comments entered by staff, it will save both of us from becoming frustrated.  

There should always be initials after the comments so that you can contact the individual who rejected 

your filings if you have questions; 

 

 If you are filing a matter that must be conventionally filed, pursuant to SLR 2.501, any documents that 

will be served simultaneously with a document that must be conventionally filed must also be 

conventionally filed; i.e. Contempt Show Cause and a Show Cause for Modification; 

 

 On proposed orders or judgments, please place the name of the judge who heard this matter (if any) 

underneath the caption on the first page.  This will ensure that it is routed to the correct judge for 

review and signature; 

 

 If you have an Expedited Filing – Include the words “EXPEDITED CONSIDERATION 

REQUESTED” in the Filing Comments field in File and Serve when submitting the filing and call the 

Civil Case Unit at 503-655-8447 option 3 to alert us that there is an expedited filing in our queue; 

 

 Use the correct document code when filing – for example, if you always just use MO – Motion for all 

motions that you file, we cannot see what the motion is until we review.  Using the code that most 

accurately reflects what you are filing will help us in more efficiently processing your filing; 

 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/courts/Pages/Fees.aspx
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 Helpful  Codes to use instead of just MO; 

 

o MOPN – Motion-Postponement 

o MOCB – Motion-Continue as pending case (UTCR 7.020) 

o MOSH – Motion-Show Cause 

o MOCO – Motion-Continuance 

o MODJ – Motion-Debtor Exam 

 

o Also: DD – Declaration and AF – Affidavit are different codes and should not be used 

interchangeable 

 

File & Serve (e-filing) FAQs   
 

CLICK HERE for OR Revised Statutes, UTCRs & SLRs   

 

Q: Which specific court rules apply to e-fling using File & Serve? 

A: Uniform Trial Court Rule Chapter 21 (UTCR 21) sets out court rules for filing and service by 

electronic means.  It is highly recommended that anyone who is responsible for submitting documents 

through Odyssey’s File and Serve program become familiar with this UTCR. 

Q: How do I determine the case type if I am initiating a new case through File & Serve? 

A: If you cannot determine the correct case type from the available drop-down choices, check the Filing 

Code Quick Reference Guide or contact the Civil Unit for assistance in determining the correct case type.   

503-655-8447 option 3. 

Helpful hint:  If you cannot find the correct filing fee, you may be using an incorrect case type and/or 

filing code. 

Q: Where do I find File and Serve guides and help? 

A: Click here to access Quick Links to various eFiling Guides including the Filing Code Quick Reference 

Guide mentioned above.  Look for User Guides in the Quick Links section of the page. 

 

Please Note:  There are two places where you can find more comprehensive FAQ’s.  The Oregon specific 

File and Serve 20-page FAQ document found in the “User Guide” section highlighted in the image above, 

as well as some additional FAQs in the FAQ section highlighted in the image above. 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/pages/index.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/pages/index.aspx
http://content.tylerhost.net/helpor/selfhelpH5/national/
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Q: What is a Certificate of Readiness and when must I file one?  UTCR 5.100 

A: A Certificate of Readiness is a document that indicates a proposed order or judgment is ready for 

judicial signature.  A Certificate of Readiness must be filed with any proposed order or judgment and 

served on each counsel or self-represented litigant, or be accompanied by a stipulation by each counsel 

that no objection exists as to the judgment or order.  A Certificate of Readiness is NOT the same thing as 

a Certificate of Service. 

Please refer to UTCR 5.100 for what must be included in a Certificate of Readiness. 

 Although Certificate of Readiness is required, Service of Notice is NOT required for: 

 

 A proposed order or judgment presented in open court with the parties present; 

 A proposed order or judgment for which service is not required by statute, rule, or otherwise; 

 A proposed judgment subject to UTCR 10.090; 

 Uncontested probate and protective proceedings; and 

 Matters certified to the court under ORS 416.422, ORS 416.430, ORS 416.435, and ORS 416.448, 

unless the proposed order or judgment is ready for judicial signature without hearing.  

 

Q: Is my e-filing automatically accepted into Odyssey when it is received? 

A: No, a court clerk must first review the documents you file prior to acceptance.  While an attorney’s 

office may file 24 hours a day, 7 days a week; court staff can only review the File & Served documents 

during court working hours.  Most filings are reviewed on a “First In, First Out” (FIFO) basis.  The court 

tries to adhere to a 48-hour turn-around time, however; there are occasions where that time-frame cannot 

be adhered to, based upon the complexity of the filings, an increased volume of filings, staffing shortages 

and/or court holidays. 

Helpful Tip:  Do not expect your filing to be available in Odyssey for 9 am court if you filed it the 

previous day. 

Q: What is date of filing of my e-filed document?  UTCR 21.080. 

A: Once the court accepts the filing, the date of filing is the date that the document was submitted to File 

& Serve for review.  If a rejected document is corrected, resubmitted and accepted within 3 days, the file 

date may be the original submitted date if requested using the guidelines set forth in UTCR 21.080(5)(a). 

Please note:  When the court accepts a proposed order or judgment or any other document that requires 

court signature through File and Serve, the document is deemed submitted for judge review. 

Q: What if I need to withdraw an e-filing? 

A: After a filing has been submitted, but before the court’s review has begun, a Cancel button is available 

for that filing in your Filings queue. 
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As long as the Cancel button is present, the filing has been submitted, but has not yet been reviewed by a 

court clerk.  If the Cancel button is not available, contact your local court clerk’s office to request a 

rejection of your filing. 

Civil/Probate Office:  503-655-8447 Option 3 

Criminal Office:  503-655-8643 Option 1 

Q: I have several documents to file.  Should they be e-filed together or separately?  UTCR 21.040 

A: It is important to e-file the following documents as separate PDF documents (in the same envelope) 

through File & Serve: 

 Proposed Orders 

 Proposed Judgments 

 Any documents requiring a court signature 

 Any confidential documents being filed into a case that is not confidential by statute or rule  

o Remember to select the confidential security status for these documents  

(See UTCR 21.040(2)(a)(b) for proper descriptions for these documents) 

 

If you are e-filing documents other than those mentioned above, and your documents incorporate an 

affidavit, a declaration, a certificate of service, or another supporting document, you should submit your 

e-filing as a unified single PDF file, rather than as separately e-filed documents, to the extent practicable.  

If any of the incorporated documents above have their own case caption, they may be e-filed as separate 

PDF documents.   

Note:  Exhibits must always be attached to the pleading in which they are referenced. 

Q: I have a very large document  to eFile.  What is the maximum number of pages a document can 

have and still be accepted? 

 

A: A document that exceeds the size limit of 25 megabytes must be broken down and submitted as 

separate files.  It is not possible to determine exactly how many pages is equivalent to 25 megabytes 

because it depends upon the type of information in the documents.  If the pages in the document contain 

text only, it could be anywhere from 350 to 400 pages before that document reaches 25 megabytes.  If the 

pages in the document contain photos, charts, graphs, or other non-text content, it will take fewer pages 

before that document reaches 25 megabytes. 

 

Please note: A filer submitting separate files because a document exceeds 25 megabytes must include in the 

Filing Comments field for each submission a description that clearly identifies the part of the document that the file 

represents, for example, “Motion for Summary Judgment, part 1 of 2.” 
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Checklist for Default Judgment Process 
 

□ Order of Default: 
o Complaint filed, no Answer filed w/ in 30 days of service 

o Motion for Order of Default and supporting affidavit 

o Proof of Service (file an original affidavit per ORCP 7F):  

□ Personal 

□ Substitute w/ follow-up mailing [ORCP 7D(2)(b)] 

□ Office (working hours, person apparently in charge; follow-up mailing to dwelling or 

office) [ORCP 7D(2)(c)] 

□ Certificate of Mailing with follow-up mailing [ORCP 7D(2)(d)] 

□ Default Judgment 
o Money Award [ORS 18.042] 

□ Creditor’s name and address 

□ Creditor’s attorney’s name, phone number and address 

□ Debtor’s information:  If information is unknown, list it and indicate “unknown” per SLR 

5.105 (requiring affirmative indication of “unknown” if information is unknown). 

o Name 

o Address 

o YEAR of birth (not full birth date) 

o LAST 4-digits of debtor’s SSN or tax ID 

o LAST 4-digits of debtor’s driver’s license and issuing state 

o Debtor’s attorney 

□ Whether any person/public body is entitled to part of money award 

□ Principal amount matches amount prayed for in complaint 

□ Pre-judgment interest 

□ Post-judgment interest 

□ Costs/Disbursements 

□ Attorney fees 

o Affidavit of Non-Military Service and that defendant is not a minor/incapacitated person [ORCP 

69B(1)(d) & (4)] 

o Affidavit of Amount Due [ORCP 69B(1)(e)] 

o Statement of Costs/Disbursements [ORCP 69B & C(3)-(4)] 

o Statement of Attorney Fees [UTCR 5.080 & ORCP 68C] 

o Other documents if necessary: 

□ Contract/Note supporting attorney fee interest > 9% 

□ Contract/Note supporting principal interest > 9% 

□ Original Negotiable Instrument [UTCR 2.060] 

If submitting a contract/note supporting a specific interest rate, it must be LEGIBLE and please 

HIGHLIGHT the portion of the document supporting the interest percentage.  Clerks will not read the 

entirety of a contract to find the information and may reject the Judgment if they cannot 

find/read the information.



  

38 | P a g e  

 

Clackamas County Circuit Court 

Construction Litigation Procedures 
 

REFEREE PROGRAM PROCEDURE 

 The Clackamas County Circuit Court will allow parties to opt out of the normal 12-month trial 

system in construction litigation cases by participating in a new Referee system based on ORCP 65.  The 

Referee system is a procedure that was designed to deal with complex construction litigation (especially 

construction defect cases).  If the parties do not choose to participate in this program, they will not be 

granted trial extensions beyond the 12-month period designated in UTCR 7.020(5) absent extenuating 

circumstances upon application.  Cases in the Referee system will be designated complex cases under 

UTCR 7.030 for purpose of trial scheduling.  The parties will be responsible for the Referee’s fees. 

REFEREE AUTHORITY 

 Under the Referee system, the Referee will have the authority to manage discovery and case 

scheduling, including submitting a recommended trial date all parties agree to which is within 18 months 

of initial filing date.  Any request for trial extension beyond 18 months will require the Referee’s 

recommendation to do so and approval by Presiding Court.  In no event will a trial date setting be allowed 

beyond 24 months.  The Referee will have the authority to rule on discovery motions.  The Referee will 

also have the authority to hear and decide motions to join parties beyond the 90 days specified in ORCP 

22, however, the Referee may only allow the joinder of additional parties during the one year period 

following the initial filing date.  The Referee shall have authority to rule on Rule 21 motions as well as 

motions relating to discovery issues, and conduct settlement conferences.  The Referee shall also have 

authority to rule on summary judgment motions with the consent of the parties.  All decisions rendered 

by, or orders issued by, the Referee may be reviewed by Presiding Court or its designee upon application 

under ORCP 65E(3). 

REFEREE SELECTION 

 The parties can stipulate to being part of the new Referee system.  Absent a stipulation, any party 

can file a Motion to Designate as Complex Litigation and Appoint Referee (motion) asking the Court to 

rule on whether the case will be allowed to go into the new system.  The motion must be filed with the 

Presiding Court, or designee, no later than 30 days after the date the party is served with Summons and 

Complaint. 

 The plaintiff must file the motion no later than 30 days after the last party is joined or within 180 

days of filing, whichever is sooner. 

 The parties have three options for selecting a Referee: 1) pick a Referee from a list provided by the 

Presiding Judge; 2) stipulate to a Referee; or 3) the Presiding Court will select a Referee at a scheduling 
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conference if the parties do not select one by a date certain. 

 The Presiding Judge’s office will maintain a list of pre-qualified Referees.  Referees will be 

required to meet the qualifications established for court appointed arbitrators under UTCR 13.090, except 

that a Referee shall also have a minimum of 7 years of experience handling construction matters or be a 

Senior Judge for the State of Oregon.  The rule is to be applied to the Referee system by substituting the 

term “Referee” for the term “arbitrator”. 

 The rights, obligations, and procedures established for arbitrators and conciliators and parties 

under ORS 36.476 (Disclosure by Proposed Arbitrators and Conciliators; Waiver of Disclosure; Grounds 

for Challenge), ORS 36.478 (Procedure for Challenging Arbitrator), ORS 36.480 (Withdrawal of 

Arbitrator; Termination of Mandate) and ORS 36.482 (Substitute Arbitrator; Effect of Substitution) will 

apply equally to Referees and the parties under the Referee system, including without limitation, parties 

brought into the suit after the Referee is appointed.  The statutes are to be applied to the Referee system 

by substituting the term “Referee” for the term “arbitrator”.  In addition, a party which anticipates 

bringing third party practice claims under ORCP Rule 22C will provide the Referee a list naming all the 

potential third/fourth/etc. party defendants so that the Referee can make the disclosure required under 

ORS 36.476. 

CRITERIA FOR REFERENCE 

 In addition to the criteria contained in UTCR 7.030(2) the Court will also consider: 1) the 

amount(s) in controversy; and 2) the involvement of insurance carriers and insurance coverage issues. 

CONTENTS OF ORDER APPOINTING REFEREE; TWO TRACK SYSTEM 

 The Referee will operate on two simultaneous “tracks”.  The first track is the core case.  As part of 

the core case, once a Referee has been agreed upon or appointed the parties will submit a recommended 

Order Confirming Appointment of Referee in Complex Construction Case (Order) to the Court for 

review, approval, and execution.  A generic form of Order is attached for reference.  The second track will 

address any applicable insurance coverage issues. 

 The Order will contain mandatory provisions and optional (but encouraged) provisions.  The 

mandatory provisions will include:  1) discovery deadlines;  2) dispositive motion deadlines; 3) 

alternative dispute resolution deadlines (including a deadline for selection of a mediator - who may be 

someone other than the Referee); 4) a presentation by the Plaintiff(s) of a defect list, a.k.a. Bill of 

Particulars; 5) a Defendant’s statement of which of its third/fourth/etc. party defendants performed the 

work being complained of in the Third/Fourth/etc.  Party Complaint; and 6) a trial date.  The optional 

provisions may include: 1) the response of each party to the claims against it; 2) the preparation of and a 

timeline for the  
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scope of repair proposed by Plaintiff(s); 3) a demand by a Third/Fourth/etc.  Party Plaintiff to those 

defendants it sued in the case; 4) a joint defense response to the statement of claims, defects and damages 

of Plaintiff(s); 5) a joint defense scope of repairs;  6) disclosure of experts; 7) exchange of expert reports; 

8) depositions of experts; 9) depositions of other witnesses; and 10) any other collaborate effort to 

expedite and streamline the litigation. 

 On the second coverage track, the Referee may require each party to submit the following:  1) the 

names of all potential insurance carriers for each party; 2) copies of the Reservation of Rights letters from 

each carrier; 3) the name and contact information for the adjuster for each carrier; 4) copies of each 

carrier’s policy for each party.  The Referee will have the ability to advise the parties to retain coverage 

counsel.  Regardless of whether or not the Referee chooses to provide this advice, the Referee shall not be 

deemed to be providing legal advice. 

 The Referee will have the ability to require the parties to engage in mediation on either or both of 

the two “tracks”.  For insurance-related mediation, the Referee may require insurance adjusters to 

physically attend the mediation and that the adjuster have complete authority to settle the claim.  The 

mediator will be someone other than the Referee.  However, the mediator will report any non-compliance 

to the Referee, who will have the power to hear show cause motions for remedial contempt. 

 If mediation does not resolve the case, the Referee will prepare a report discussing the value of 

each of the claims (both monetarily and legally) and an allocation of responsibility among the parties.  

The Referee will submit a copy of this report under seal to the court to be used only after trial on the 

merits, and the trial judge may consider the Referee’s report as a factor in considering the reasonableness 

of attorneys’ fee awards, if attorneys’ fees are at issue in the case. 

 If you have any questions regarding the new Referee system you may call the Presiding Court 

Judge’s office at 503-655-8644. 

 

 

Dated:                                         /s/ Robert D Herndon                                       

       Clackamas County Presiding Judge 
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Application for Referee   
 

Specially-Designated Construction Cases 

Name  

Business Address  

Phone / Fax  

OSB No. 
 

E-mail 
 

List Bar Memberships and dates of 
admission 

 

Years practicing in construction 
law 

 

 

Describe construction practice and experience: 
_____________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________ 

 

Describe construction trade organization and construction bar activities: 
_____________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________ 

Describe ADR experience:  
_____________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________. 

 

Describe other activities, which might bear on ability to perform referee duties (prior work history, 
degrees, etc):  
_____________________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________. 

 
Clackamas County Circuit Court 

 
Fifth Judicial District 

807 Main Street 
Oregon City, OR  97045 
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DOMESTIC RELATIONS TIPS 
 

Default Judgments 
Pursuant to the Service members Civil Relief Act (SCRA), 50 USC app.521, 201(b)(3), the Affidavit in 

Support of Motion for Order of Default or declaration required by Service Members Civil Relief Act 

(2003) must address the following:  

 

a. Whether the respondent is or is not in active military service and state supporting facts;  

Or 
 

b. If unable to determine if the respondent is in active military service, state that the petitioner is 

unable to determine if the respondent is in active military service and what reasonable efforts 

were made to make a determination.  

If you are unable to determine if the respondent is in active military service, the court may require 

additional proof of the respondent’s military status.  

 

Requests for determining the military status of parties to an action can be made through the Department of  

Defense at https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/single_record.xhtml. 

 

See page 61 for General Judgment Checklist. 

 

Orders to Show Cause  
In Clackamas County, many domestic relations Orders to Show Cause are set for hearing and require a 

personal appearance by the parties.  Modifications under ORS 107.135; however, shall require a written 

response.  For orders that require a personal appearance, the court will not grant a default order/judgment 

based on the opposing party’s failure to file a written response with the court within 30 days of service.  

See pages 25-27 for the Family Law Motion Processing Guide.  See page 59 for How to get an Order to 

Show Cause for Personal Appearance (Non-Modifications) Signed in Clackamas County Circuit Court. 

 

Modifications of Judgment (ORS 107.135) 
Effective December 2015, pursuant to SLR 8.051, Orders to Show Cause re Modification of Judgment 

require the opposing party to file a written response in answer to the Motion within 30 days of service.  A 

hearing date will be set by the court upon receipt of the opposing party’s response and fee (or approved 

deferral/waiver).  Click here to review SLRs. 

 

Pursuant to UTCR 8.050(1), the initiating documents must contain summons language in the form set out 

in ORCP 7 (click here to review ORCPs).  This notice may be a separate document or included in the 

Order to Show Cause or Motion.  Additionally, if support is to be an issue, a Uniform Support 

Declaration, as set out in Form 8.010.5 (UTCR Appendix of Forms) must also be filed with the Motion 

and completed as provided under subsection (4) of UTCR 8.010.  Click here to review UTCRs.  

 

Lastly, SLR 8.051(2) requires the Order to Show Cause include the local Notice about a Written 

Response to a Petition or Motion to Modify Filed in Clackamas County Circuit Court.  This notice is 

available on the Court’s website click here, under the Modification packet heading.  See page 59 for How 

to get an Order to Show Cause (Modification) Signed in Clackamas County Circuit Court. 

 

https://scra.dmdc.osd.mil/single_record.xhtml
http://www.ojd.state.or.us/Web/OJDPublications.nsf/SLR?OpenView&count=1000
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/Pages/orcp.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/programs/utcr/Pages/utcrrules.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/Pages/formsFamilyLaw.aspx
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Remedial Contempt 
In Odyssey, contempt cases, even for remedial sanctions, are entered under the criminal node.  Each 

allegation of contempt within the Motion will be entered as a charge with an offense date. 

 Filing party should be titled “Initiating Party” and other party is “Defendant” 

o Odyssey sees this as a new case, so caption will not necessarily match underlying case. 

o New case number must be assigned first (will begin with CN), then the conventional filing 

will need to get a court date from Calendaring in room 200 before being filed and stamped 

by the Civil Case clerk in room 104.  

 Only one defendant can be added per contempt case 

o Multiple defendants require multiple case filings and fees. 

 Case will be related in Odyssey to the underlying case. 

 

Child Support Guidelines and Calculator 
Oregon’s minimum wage changed on July 1, 2016.  There is now a three-tiered structure of minimum 

wages applicable to employers in different areas of Oregon.   

 

Click here for information related to Oregon Wages and calculating child support. 

Click here to access all of the Child Support Guideline Rules 137.050. 

Click here to access the Oregon Child Support Guidelines Calculator.  

 

If private insurance is not available to either party, and the paying support obligor earns more than full-

time minimum wage for Oregon, you can select “yes” from the pull-down menu on the second screen 

when it asks if there is a reason not to include it.  If you do not select yes, cash medical support will be 

added to your child support obligation.  

 

Health Insurance 
ORS 25.323 requires that one or both parents provide private health care coverage for a child that is 

appropriate and available at the time the order is entered.  The judgment needs to indicate what type 

(private or public) of health insurance is currently being provided.  If appropriate private health care 

coverage is not available to one or both of the parents at the time the order is entered: 

 1.  The order must require that one or both parents provide private health care coverage at any 

time when such coverage becomes available; and 

 2.  Either require the payment of cash medical support, or include finding as to why cash medical 

should not be required. 

 

Cash Medical Support 
ORS 25.323(4)(b) requires that payment of cash medical support be ordered in every order/judgment 

where private health care coverage for a child is not appropriate and available at the time the order is 

entered…OR, the order/judgment must include findings as to why cash medical support is not ordered.  

 

The purpose of cash medical support is for the non-custodial parent to help reimburse the state for the cost 

of public insurance.  In April of 2015, the Department of Justice informed the Trial Courts that the linkage 

between Oregon Health Authority’s computer system and DOJ-Division of Child Support’s computer 

system stopped working.  OHA cannot reliably refer cases to DCS when parties have their children 

enrolled in the Oregon Health Plan.  It seems this may take several years to fix.  DCS stopped accepting 

OHP referrals in December 2014. 

 

http://www.oregonchildsupport.gov/laws/rules/docs/050_0715.pdf
http://www.oregonchildsupport.gov/laws/rules/pages/guideline_rules.aspx
http://www.oregonchildsupport.gov/calculator/index.shtml
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Without the referrals, there is no way for DCS to collect cash medical support so that it can be reimbursed 

to OHA.  

 For new cases, this means any order for cash medical will be paid to the child support 

OBLIGEE (not the state).  

 For existing cases that had a proper referral prior to December 2014), payment of cash medical 

support will still be collected and reimbursed to OHA.  

 

Even if the children are NOT covered by private insurance, you can still opt NOT to order cash medical 

support on the child support calculator.  You will need to select “Yes” from the pull-down menu when it 

asks if there is a reason not to include cash medical support. 

 
 

Doing this will result in a $0 obligation for cash medical support. 

 

 
 You MUST remember to include a finding in your order/judgment as to why child support should 

not be ordered.  Typical findings are:  

o Paying who would pay support is presumed unable to pay because he/she receives cash 

payments from a public assistance program, including TANF or SSI, or is incarcerated and 

has income less than $200 per month. 

o The child support obligor has income that is at or below Oregon’s minimum wage for full-

time employment. 

o The child/ren’s medical needs will be met by a provision in the order/judgment for 

uninsured medical expenses. 

 

Certificates of Pending or Existing Child Support Cases 
A Certificate Regarding Pending and/or Existing Child Support Orders and/or Judgments, in substantially 

the same form as specified in Form 8.090 in the UTCR Appendix of Forms, shall be included with 

motions and petitions filed pursuant to ORS 107.085, 107.135, 107.431, 108.110, 109.100, 109.103, 

109.165, and 125.025, as required by ORS 107.085(3), 107.135(2)(b), 107.431(2)(b), 108.110(4), 

109.100(3), 109.103(3), 109.165(3), and 125.025(4)(b).  

 

Please make sure that you are filing this certificate in any case that involves minor children, whether 

support will be ordered or not.  Please note that a copy of the pending or existing child support case 

should be attached to the certificate. 
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When to Serve Petition to Department of Justice 
In any domestic relations case involving minor children, wherein the child support rights of one or both of 

the parties are assigned to the state (defined in ORS 25.010), a true copy of the petition shall be served by 

mail or personal delivery on the Administrator of the Division of Child Support of the Department of 

Justice or on the branch office providing support services to the county in which the suit is filed.  ORS 

107.087, 109.103(4), and ORS 109.125(4). 

In many of these cases, particularly when the minor child/ren are on public health insurance, the state has 

an interest in collecting support as reimbursement for public assistance.  A certificate of service should be 

completed and included in the file to verify that this requirement has been complied with.  

 

Child Attending School/Adult Child 
Any domestic relations case involving any unmarried child between the ages of 18 and 21, whether or not 

the child qualifies as a “child attending school” (CAS) per ORS 107.108, should be included as a party to 

the action.  When reviewing judgments, the judicial assistant is looking for proof of service or an 

acceptance of service from the CAS or adult child, as well as a signature on the judgment from the CAS 

or adult child, stipulating to the terms of the judgment, default order, or waiver of further appearance form 

signed by the CAS or adult child.  In addition, if the child is attending school and support will be ordered 

for that child, the judgment should include a child support calculation worksheet as required by UTCR 

8.060. 

 

Money Awards 
Pursuant to ORS 18.042(1), judgments containing an award of money must contain a “separate section” 

clearly labeled as a Money Award.  This separate section should be placed directly above the judge’s 

signature line, and indicate if it includes a support award.  The separate section must include all of the 

following: 

 Name and address of each judgment creditor and name, address and phone number of any attorney 

for the judgment creditor 

 Name of each judgment debtor, and to the extent known by the judgment creditor: 

o Address of each judgment debtor 

o Year of birth of each judgment debtor 

o Final four digits of the tax ID number or Social Security number of each debtor 

o Final four digits of the driver license number and name of the issuing state for each debtor 

o Name of any attorney for each debtor 

o Name of any person or public body other than the creditor’s attorney, that is known by the 

creditor to be entitled to any portion of the money award 

o Amount of the award 

o Any interest owed 

o Information about interest 

o Information about arrearage or required further payments and/or payment dates for 

obligations payable on a periodic basis 

o Required information/statement about attorney fees 

 

*Clackamas County SLR 5.105 states, “Any information that is required to be provided to the extent 

known by the judgment creditor, must either be provided in the money award section, or the section must 

state affirmatively that the information required by the statute is unknown.”  Any judgment that includes a 

money award, but does not contain all required information or a statement that the required information is 

unknown, may be returned to the submitting party for compliance with the SLR.  Alternatively, a 

judgment with non-compliant money award may still be entered in Odyssey, but may NOT be docketed in 
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the register to create a lien.  Additionally, proposed SLR 5.105(2) allows the court to notify the filer to 

resubmit a corrected judgment that is in compliance with the rule.  

 

Segregation Rules UTCR 2.130 vs. UTCR 2.100 
UTCR 2.130 Confidential Personal Information 
UTCR 2.130 is the required procedure to segregate “confidential information” in cases under ORS 

chapters 25, 106, 107, 108, 109, 110, or 416, or initiated under ORS 24.190, ORS 30.866, ORS 124.010, 

or ORS 163.763.  As used in this rule, confidential personal information includes a party’s or a party’s 

child’s social security number; date of birth; driver license number; former legal names; and employer’s 

name, address and telephone number. 

 

Use of the Confidential Information Form (CIF) is mandatory when the disclosure of such 

confidential personal information, as defined above, is required by statute or rule in a domestic relations 

pleading.  If a new case is being filed, or documents that would normally require the disclosure of 

confidential information are being filed into a case where a CIF has not previously been filed, the filing 

party must file a separate CIF for each person about whom the party is required to provide 

confidential personal information.   
The filing party need only include information of joint minor children on his or her CIF.  There should be 

a separate CIF for any joint children between the ages of 18 and 21 since they are a party to the case. 

 

The CIF is a restricted access document; it is available for inspection by court staff, other government 

agencies for the purpose of their work and the Child Support Program.  These agencies must not further 

disclose the confidential personal information, unless otherwise ordered or authorized by law.  The party 

filing the CIF must complete and deliver/mail a copy of the Notice of Filing Confidential Information 

Form to all other parties in the case.  A certificate of delivery/mailing must be filed with the court.  These 

forms can be found in the UTCR Appendix of Forms. 

  

The CIF and Notice of Filing CIF should be in substantially the same form as UTCR 2.130.1 and 2.130.2 

respectively.   

 

UTCR 2.130 applies to any document, including exhibits and attachments, which are filed family law 

cases under the applicable chapters of the ORS.  *Please remember to redact confidential information 

from the tax returns and other documents you attach to your Uniform Support Declarations.  Once filed, 

it is public information.  Where the confidential personal information would otherwise appear, the filing 

party would redact (black out) the information, and make a notation that the information is separately 

provided in UTCR 2.130.1.  This does not apply to documents that are required to be court certified 

copies.  The rule also does not apply to the truncated information required to be included in a money 

award under ORS 18.042.  

 

Court’s Responsibility 
The court has no obligation to, and will not, review documents in the court’s files to redact information 

contained in a CIF.  Please note that to redact confidential information or personal identification 

information from a document on file with the court; you will need to follow the procedure outlined in 

UTCR 2.110 (see below). 
 

UTCR 2.100 Segregated Information 
UTCR 2.100, though no longer the “required” method of segregating social security numbers in domestic 

relations cases, still has its place as a valuable segregation tool.  Parties may choose to utilize the UTCR 

2.100 Long Form to segregate “protected personal information” not covered under UTCR 2.130, such as:  
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credit card numbers, bank or other financial account, numbers, bank or other financial account locations 

financial account access numbers, or similar information that is used for financial transactions and can be 

kept confidential under ORS 192.502(2).   

 

Entire documents, such as tax returns or pay stubs, are not included; only the identifying information 

described above that appears in the document. 

 

The Affidavit Requesting Segregation and Segregated Information Sheet filed with the court should be in 

substantially the same form as UTCR 2.100.4a and 2.100.4b respectively. 

  

There are no fees to file either UTCR 2.130 CIF or UTCR 2.100 documents. 

 

UTCR 2.110 Redacting Information 
UTCR 2.110 establishes a procedure for a person to identify and segregate protected personal information 

when the information already exists in a document in a court case file and to request the information be 

kept from inspection by the public.   

 

This rule may be followed to segregate and protect the same information already existing in a case file 

that could be segregated and protected at the time of submission under UTCR 2.100; the definitions in 

UTCR 2.100 (see above) apply to this rule.  The party filing this request will be required to pay a 

required fee of $25.00 per case plus $1.00 per page 
 

Parent Education Class  
Supplementary Local Court Rule 8.015 requires all parties in a family law case, where the interest of a 

minor child is involved, to complete the divorcing parents education program offered by Clackamas 

County Resolution Services (formerly known as Family Court Services). 
 

Judge Jones’s office operates under the following policy, regarding the parent education requirement: 
 

1. All parties shall complete the program before trial or entry of judgment.  This includes 

grandparents, interveners, and/or psychological parents, in addition to the legal parents.  

A copy the Certificate of Completion must be filed with the proposed judgment, or 

already be on file in the affected case, before the judgment will be signed.  The judgment 

will be returned as insufficient to the submitting party if there is no record of completion. 
 

 If the proposed judgment is by default, and the respondent is the non-custodial parent, 

the court will defer the requirement for Respondent, contingent on Petitioner having 

completed the class.  The document preparer should include language in the body of the 

judgment that Petitioner has successfully completed the requirement per SLR 8.015, and 

the respondent will not be allowed to modify or enforce any of the terms of the custody 

and parenting plan until he/she has successfully completed the required parent education 

class. 
 

 Upon showing of good cause, a party may request a deferral or waiver of this rule.  The 

request must be made by motion, supported by affidavit/declaration, and filed prior to, or 

with, the proposed judgment.  This would apply to any case where Petitioner has not 

completed the class, or any case where Respondent or other parties have stipulated and 

have not completed the class.  
 

 Alternative classes, including on-line classes, are available.  You must contact Judge 

Jones’s office for pre-approval before having your client take any alternative class.  The 

alternative class must cover the same material and include alternative dispute resolution 

information as is covered by the required local class.  
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*Note: Pre-approval is not necessary for any court-connected class offered in other 

jurisdictions.  Additionally, parties who have already completed the required class and 

have proof of completion need not take the class again, but must simply file a copy of the 

Certificate of Completion in the affected case.   
 

 

Resignation of Attorney 
Judge Jones’s judicial clerk reviews all withdrawal of attorney motions and orders in domestic relations 
cases before being routed to Judge Jones for review and signature.  A checklist is used to determine if all 
requirements have been met.  Please use the checklist in preparing your documents.  If your pleadings do 
not meet the requirements on the checklist, your documents will not be signed.  Judge Jones’s judicial 
clerk will notify the filing party of any deficiencies via facsimile.  You will need to electronically file 
your corrected documents.  See page 62 for the Resignation of Attorney checklist. 
 

Petitions for Appeal de Novo on Administrative Child Support Order 
 The filing fee to request an appeal of an administrative child support order can be found in the 

courts fee schedule.  The current fee schedule may be found on the Court’s website.  Click here to 

view. 

 A Petition filed under ORS 416.427(6) should not be combined with any other request for relief. It 

must be filed within 60 days of the administrative child support order being entered by the Circuit 

Court.  

 A copy of the Petition must be mailed to all parties, including the administrative agency who filed 

the order or judgment with the court. A certificate of service should be filed with the court to 

avoid dismissal of the Petition.  

 

Vital Statistics Health Record Form 
The Department of Human Services, Vital Records office has created an on-line form for use in 

dissolution of marriage/registered domestic partnership and annulment cases.  This one form replaces the 

two old NCR forms – the dissolution of marriage/annulment form with an orange stripe, and the 

dissolution of registered domestic partnership with the brown stripe.  You are welcome to use up your old 

original NCR forms, but please DO NOT make copies of the old form.  DHS does not recognize copies of 

the NCR forms to be originals, and as such, while the court may accept the document to meet our 

requirements, the agency will not.  Parties may end up being divorced without having any records of the 

dissolution at the state agency.  Because the new form is electronic, but not everyone has the ability to use 

it electronically, it is perfectly ok to download the form and make as many copies as you need.  The form 

is available on the State Court’s website.  Click here for the Record of Dissolution of Marriage, 

Annulment, or Registered Domestic Partnership form.   

 

Proposed SLR Changes for 2017 
Mandatory mediation is coming soon to Clackamas County.  Please read the proposed draft of the new 

2017 SLR 8.017 and 8.046 by clicking here. 

 

Domestic Relations Fees 
Pursuant to ORS 21.110(5), a pleading or other document shall be filed by the clerk only if the fee 

required under this section is paid by the person filing the document, or if a request for a fee waiver or 

deferral is granted by the court. 

 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/courts/Pages/Fees.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/docs/OSCA/cpsd/courtimprovement/familylaw/DHS-VS-46-12_Combined_Dissolution.pdf
http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/pages/rules.aspx
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This means that the court will not enter or sign any pleading submitted without the appropriate filing fee.  

Click here for a link to the current fee schedule. 
 

NOTE:  Most fees in domestic relations cases were changed, effective October 1, 2013.  There are no 

longer hearing fees; although we do still have per-day trial fees.   

 

No fee or request for waiver/deferral 
Any pleading or document which requires a fee that is submitted without payment or an approved fee 

waiver/deferral, will be returned to your office “not filed”. 

 

Insufficient fees 
The Civil Case Unit clerk will place one (1) courtesy call to your office requesting additional fees be 

submitted.  If additional fees are not submitted within 5 days, the pleading or document will be returned 

to your office.   

 

In the instance where additional fees are needed on an already signed pleading or document, the Civil 

Case Unit will place one (1) courtesy call to your office and if additional fees are not submitted within 5 

days the Presiding Judge will vacate the signature and the pleading or document will be returned to your 

office. 

 

Pleadings or documents with hearing date set 
The Civil Case Unit clerk will place one (1) courtesy call to your office requesting fees be paid on all 

pleadings or documents that have already been filed with a hearing date set, such as an Order to Show 

Cause.  At the time of notification to your office, the clerk will also notify the Calendaring Unit and the 

Motion may or may not be assigned to a courtroom for a hearing. 

 

Note:  This only applies to documents that are filed conventionally or dropped in the Court’s Drop Box.   

 

First Appearance Fees 
The first appearance fee will be charged to any party filing a motion or other responsive pleading with the 

court for the first time.  This means that if the respondent in a default judgment later moves the court for 

modification, he/she will be charged the current first appearance fee plus any applicable motion fees.  

 

Petitions to open a domestic relations case are subject to their own filing fees, and shall not be filed in 

Administrative Child Support Cases that are already open and involve the same family. 

 

Consolidated Domestic Relations and Restraining Order Cases 
When a Family Abuse Prevention Act Restraining Order (FAPA) is consolidated with another domestic 

relations case, any orders vacating the Restraining Order should be filed separately in the FAPA case, in 

the county in which the original FAPA was granted. This will ensure that the court clerk sends a copy of 

the order to the Sheriff for entry into the Law Enforcement Data System (LEDS). 

 

Please do not include language inside a domestic relations case attempting to dismiss a restraining order 

filed in a FAPA, SAPO, Stalking, or EPPDAPA case. If your client wants to dismiss a restraining order 

from another case, please conventionally file the appropriate motion, declaration and proposed order in 

the affected case prior to 11 am, and have your client appear in the scheduled courtroom at 1 pm. This 

will ensure the clerk faxes records to LEDS and completes the appropriate data entry in the restraining 

order case. 

  

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/courts/Pages/Fees.aspx
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DOMESTIC RELATIONS TIPS - CALENDARING 
Reporting “Ready” Tips (i.e. report actual time you need, not what you think will get a hearing) 

Call 503-655-8643, option 2, two business days prior to the hearing. Tell the clerk how much time you 

anticipate the hearing will take, if there are any out of town witnesses, the total number of witnesses, and 

whether or not there will be any expert witnesses.  Reporting “not ready” is not an option.  If you feel you 

will not be ready for the hearing, you must file the appropriate motion with the Civil Case Unit. 

 

***Please note:  If you have a hearing that was originally set on the short docket, but now needs longer 

than 30 minutes, Calendaring will move it to the long docket, if space is available. If space isn’t 

available, Calendaring will reset your hearing normal course. *** 

 

Reserving a Technology Courtroom   
You may request a high tech courtroom, but it cannot be guaranteed.  If you do not get a high tech 

courtroom, you will need to provide for your own technological needs. 

 

Procedure for Motions to Exclude Judges (beginning and in middle of case)   
Calendaring will not consider any communication other than an Affidavit Disqualifying Judge when 

assigning cases.  If an affidavit is filed the day of the hearing/trial, and the case has been assigned to the 

judge you would like to affidavit, Calendaring will try to move the case to another judge.  This may result 

in the case being reset in normal course.  You must file the affidavit by 5:00 p.m. the day of the hearing.  

Filing your affidavit in advance of assignment is the only way to ensure you will not be assigned to the   

judge you are affidaviting. 

 

***Please note:  If a specific judge has already made a significant ruling on a case, the court may not 

consider an affidavit.  *** 

 

Docketing Procedures and Docket Descriptions 
Short Docket 
If you need 30 minutes or less for your Order to Show Cause hearing, and the issue is NOT modification 

of custody, it may be set on the short docket.  There is less wait time for this docket, and the hearings do 

not get bumped.  These matters are heard by Pro Tem judges.  However, if you have a hearing originally 

set on the short docket that ends up needing longer than 30 minutes, Calendaring will move it to the long 

docket, if space is available.  If we there is no space available, Calendaring will reset your hearing 

normal course.   

 

Long Docket 
If your Order to Show Cause needs more than 30 minutes, up to one-half day, or is a modification issue, it 

will be set on the long docket at 1:30 p.m. 

 

If your Order to Show Cause needs more than one-half day, it will be placed on the 9:00 a.m. docket. 

 

Motion Docket 
Motions must conform to the requirements set forth in UTCR 5.050-Motion must request oral argument, 

if desired, and include an estimate of the time required for argument and a statement whether official 

court reporting services are requested.  If oral argument is not requested, the motion will be ruled on in 

chambers and placed on the 8:45 a.m. “non-oral” motion docket.  In addition, please provide a Certificate 

of Service showing when the opposing party was served a copy of the motion. 
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***Please note:  You do not need to appear for the 8:45 a.m. non-oral motion docket.  *** 

 
 

How to Get an Order to Show Cause For Personal Appearance (Non-Modifications) 

Signed In Clackamas County Circuit Court 

 
Orders to Show Cause may be signed between the hours of 9 am and noon, and 1 pm and 4 pm, on any 

day that the court is open.   

 

Schedule Hearing Date 

1. Please go to Room 200 on the second floor of the courthouse to schedule your hearing date on your 

Order to Show Cause.  Write in the date you are given on your Order to Show Cause.  The other party 

must be served at least 30 days prior to your hearing date.  Make sure that the date you are given 

allows you enough time to complete service prior to the hearing. 

 

File Documents and Get Service Copies 

2. File your documents at the Civil Cases window on the first floor of the courthouse.  The clerk will 

authorize your Order to Show cause, and will keep all your original documents.  He/she will make you 

service copies and an additional copy for forwarding to DOJ/DCS if child support is an issue.   

 

Pay Fees 

3. Unless you have a Fee Waiver Order, all fees are due in full and must be paid at the time of filing your 

documents.  Fees are subject to change.  Please verify the current filing fees by visiting the Court’s 

website at www.courts.oregon./clackamas or contact the Civil Case Unit at (503) 655-8447, ext. 3.  If 

using a sheriff for service, please contact the sheriff in the county where the other party will be served 

to ask about their current service fees. 

NOTE:  If you are the respondent in this case and have never before paid a first appearance fee, you will 

be required to pay a current first appearance fee in addition to the appropriate fee for the action you are 

presently filing.  Currently, the first appearance fee is $273. 

 

Have the Other Party Served 

4. Once you have completed these steps, you must immediately arrange to have the other party served 

with a true copy of the papers you just filed (refer to step three).  Service may be done either by the 

Civil Sheriff in the county and state where the other party works or resides, or by a third party.  In 

Oregon, the Sheriff currently charges $36 for service and will file a Certificate of Service with the 

Court.  A third party is someone who is not a party to this case.  Make sure that the third party fills out 

the Declaration of Service form, and that you file it with the Court after service is complete. 

 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

You must call the CALENDARING UNIT two business days before your hearing to confirm the date and 

time.  Please call (503) 655-8643, and press option two for Civil and Domestic Calendaring. 

 

 

How to File a Modification in Clackamas County Circuit Court 
 

Orders to Show Cause Re Modification may be filed between the hours of 9 am to noon, and 1 pm to 4 

pm, any day of the week that the court is open.  When you are ready to have the court sign your Order to 

Show Cause, please follow these steps:  
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File your papers  

1. Present the Motion, Affidavit, and Order to Show Cause, along with other necessary documents to the 

clerk at the Civil Cases window on the first floor of the courthouse.  The clerk will take your documents 

for filing, provide you with a service copy, and give you a payment slip to take to the Cashier.  

 

Pay Fees  
2. Unless you have a Fee Waiver Order, all fees, are due in full and must be paid at the time you file your 

paperwork with the court.  Fees are subject to change.  Please verify the current filing fees by visiting the 

Court’s website at http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/courts/Pages/Fees.aspx, and clicking on the “Circuit 

court fees” link, or by calling the Civil Case Unit at (503) 655-8447, ext. 3.  If using a sheriff for service, 

please contact the sheriff in the county where you will have the other party served to ask about their 

current service fees.  

NOTE: If you are the respondent in this case and have never before paid a first appearance fee, you will 

be required to pay a current first appearance fee in addition to the appropriate fee for the action you are 

presently filing.  

 

Extra Copy for Child Support  
3. If child support is involved, be sure to request an additional copy of your paperwork from the Civil 

Cases window clerk, for forwarding to DOJ/DCS.  

 

Have the Other Party Served  
4. Once you have completed these steps, you must immediately arrange to have the other party served 

with a true copy of the papers you just filed.  Service may be done either by the Civil Sheriff in the 

county and state where the other party works or resides, or by a third party.  In Oregon, the Sheriff 

currently charges $36 for service and will file a Certificate of Service with the Court.  A third party is 

someone who is not a party to this case.  Make sure that the third party fills out the Affidavit of Service 

form (found in your packet) and then file it with the Court after service is complete.  

 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

If the other party files a written response with the court within 30 days from the date he/she is served with 

the paperwork, or anytime thereafter, so long as he/she has not yet been found in default, the court will 

schedule the case for hearing.  A Notice of Scheduled Court Proceeding will be mailed to you at the 

address you have on file.  It is your responsibility to update your address with the court directly.  Mail 

will not be forwarded. 

 

If a hearing is scheduled, you must call the CALENDARING UNIT two business days before your 

hearing to confirm the date and time.  Please call (503) 655-8643, and press option 2 for Civil and 

Domestic Calendaring. 

 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/courts/Pages/Fees.aspx
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General Judgment Checklist 
 

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON FOR THE COUNTY OF CLACKAMAS 

807 MAIN ST.  OREGON CITY, OR 97045 

 

DR __________________________________________ 

___ Fees have been paid, waived or deferred, including $125 trial fee. 

___ Vital Statistics form (Dissolution/Annulment cases only) UTCR 8.010(7)(d) 

___ Certificate of Pending Child Support Cases w/ copy of order(s) UTCR 8.090 

   ___       Certificate of Mailing to DOJ when parties’ child support rights are assigned to State ORS 107.087, 

109.103(4), and ORS 109.125(4). 

___ UTCR 2.130 Confidential Information Forms (CIF) filed for _____ PET ____ RSP  ____Adult Child 

___ Proof of Service pursuant to ORCP 7(F) including mailing on Substitute Service ORCP 7(D)(2)(b) 

 ___*Service made on adult child party to action 

___ Default Order/Affidavit ORCP 69(A) and ORCP 7(C)(2) 

 ___ Adult child party to action 

   ___ Affidavit of Non-military Service per ORCP 69(B)(4) with additional proof of Respondent’s military status 

per the SCRA, 50 USC app.521, 201(b)(3) 

   ___ Affidavit in Support of Judgment Without Hearing including income statements and jurisdictional 

information if minors involved ORS 107.095(4)(a)(b) 

___ Attorney’s/Author’s information on pleading UTCR 2.010(6)(7) 

   ___ Mandatory Parenting Class taken pursuant to SLR 8.015 __ PET__ RSP __ Other Party.  To schedule, 

contact Clackamas County Resolutions Services (503) 655-8415  

   ___  General Judgment must be signed, and if stipulated, must be signed by all parties; including adult child who 

is party to action ORCP 67(F)(2)  

   ___ Legal description of real property if interest in property being transferred (you may get this info from the 

County Recorder or your Deed) 

   ___ Spousal Support shall be identified as Transitional, Compensatory and/or Maintenance and have findings 

ORS 107.105(d)(A)-(C) 

   ___ Maintenance of health care coverage for child, cash medical if applicable, uninsured expenses, and 

maintenance of life insurance as security for support ORS 107.106(1)(a)(A)(B)&(C) and ORS 25.323 

   ___ Custody information and minimum parenting plan (visitation) ORS 107.102(2) 

   ___       Support Computation Worksheet pursuant to ORS 25.270 to 25.290 

___ Notice of residency change (60 miles) ORS 107.159(1) 

___ Notice to parties to inform DOJ of change in information ORS 25.020(8)(b)(A)  

___ Notice of Income Withholding ORS 25.384(1) 

___ Income withholding exceptions if applicable ORS 25.396 

___ Support/Visitation Responsibility Language ORS 107.106(1)(b) 

___ Notice of Periodic Review ORS 25.020(8)(b)(B) 

___ Separate section labeled, “Money Award” in compliance with ORS 18.042, including truncated personal 

 information, or statement as to “unknown” if required info is unknown to creditor. 

   ___   Copy of Judgment and CIF’s for Dept of Justice per UTCR 8.010(9) and ORS 25.140 

___ Motion, Order and Affidavit to Reinstate if case has been dismissed 

___       UTCR 5.100 Certificate of Readiness on all proposed Orders/Judgments 

___ “Court Findings of Paternity” form for Dept. of Health Records (only in paternity cases) 

___ Corroborating evidence of paternity from witnesses (if paternity by default ORS 109.145)  

___       Other:   

___________________________________________________________________________________________   

___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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Resignation of Attorney Checklist 
 

FAX 
Jeffrey S. Jones 

Circuit Court Judge 
807 Main St., Rm. 203 

Oregon City, OR 97045 
503-655-8687 Phone 

503-650-3512 Fax  
 
 

Date:  __________________________                                                                                                     
To:  __________________________                                                                                                     
Fax #: __________________________                                                                                       
From:  Judicial Clerk to Jeffrey S. Jones                  
Subject: Motion for Attorney Withdrawal                                                    
RE:  ___________________________                                                                                                     

 

**PLEASE FAX REVISED DOCUMENT(S) OR REQUESTED 
INFORMATION. MAILING ORIGINAL OF FAX IS NOT 

NECESSARY** 
 

Based upon UTCR 3.140 and the policy of this court, your Motion to Withdraw as 
attorney of record cannot be signed at this time for the following reason:   
  

  ☐ It does not contain the name, address and telephone number of your client 
and the new attorney, if substituted. 

  

  ☐ It has not been served on ☐ your client ☐ the opposing party’s attorney or  

☐ If there is no attorney for the opposing party, the application must be 
served on the opposing party. 

 

  ☐ It does not contain the date of scheduled trial/hearing or state that no 
trial/hearing is scheduled.  

 

  ☐  It does not state good and sufficient cause.  
 

  ☐ Pursuant to UTCR 2.010, on or after August 1, 2005, the attorney’s  
  fax number and e-mail address, if any, must also be included.   
 

           ☐   Other: _________________________________________________ 
            _________________________________________________ 
            _________________________________________________ 
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PROBATE DEPARTMENT INFORMATION AND TIPS 
 

PROBATE JUDGES: 
 

Hon. Robert Herndon  Presiding Judge – Courtroom 10 

Hon. Thomas Rastetter Courtroom 7 

Hon. Susie Norby  Courtroom 9 

Hon. Michael Wetzel  Courtroom 3 

 

PROBATE STAFF: 
 

Robin Huntting Civil Supervisor (503) 722-6100    robin.l.huntting@ojd.state.or.us 

Jefff Petty  Probate Coordinator (503) 655-8623    jeffrey.m.petty@ojd.state.or.us 

Christine Poole Probate Clerk-Audits (503) 655-8447 opt.3    christine.l.poole@ojd.state.or.us 

Rebecca Hodgin Probate Clerk  (503) 655-8447 opt.3    rebecca.m.hodgin@ojd.state.or.us 

 

FREQUENTLY ASKED PROBATE QUESTIONS 
 

Q: What does the Probate Department workflow look like? 

 

A: The Probate Department currently consists of three full time positions that do a majority of the review 

and maintenance on estate, trust, and protective proceeding cases. There are four judges who rotate 

responsibility for the probate calendared hearings. Unless you are self-represented, , the majority of 

filings by an  attorney will be submitted electronically using File and Serve, which became mandatory on 

February 29, 2016. If you have not yet signed up or need help leaning the system, please visit: 

https://oregon.tylerhost.net/ofsweb 

 

After submitting a probate document within an envelope in File and Serve, it goes into a court-side work 

queue for review and acceptance or rejection. Small estate affidavits, initiating petitions, and some other 

document submissions are substantively reviewed in File and Serve before being accepted or rejected. 

Documents being reviewed by court staff change status from “submitted” to “under review.” The Probate 

Department’s goal is to review and process all documents in File and Serve within 48 hours of submission 

(excluding weekends), but please note that staff is also answering phones, processing case documents in 

Odyssey, and working with judges and customers, so delays beyond that goal may occur.  

 

Once a document is accepted from File and Serve, it will typically appear in OECI shortly thereafter, as 

long as it is not a protected document type. If the document needs subsequent review or processing it is 

then routed to staff or judicial workflows where it is queued and waits. Workflow queues are generally 

processed “First In, First Out” (FIFO), but due to some “batch processing” that is done to minimize 

system wait times, it is possible a more recent document will be processed ahead of a slightly older 

document. 

 

Q: Who should I talk to if I have an urgent matter? 

 

A: As previously mentioned, cases are generally worked in a “First In, First Out” (FIFO) order, but if 

there is an exceptional need to get a document processed ahead of other submissions you should contact 

the Probate Coordinator directly because there is no way to overtly flag a submission with a priority 

designation. Court staff can’t prioritize a filing if they don’t know to look for it. 

https://oregon.tylerhost.net/ofsweb


  

64 | P a g e  

 

 

Q: Where do I get probate forms? 

 

A: The Probate Department provides a limited number of forms on our website, which is located at   

http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/Pages/formsProbate.aspx. Forms located there are periodically 

updated to keep current with statutory requirements. If the form you are looking for is not provided, you 

may need to consult with an attorney to draft a form of document. Alternatively, the Clackamas County 

Law Library, various legal forms websites, or a brick-and-mortar forms provider may be able to furnish 

the desired form. Court staff cannot offer recommendations of any specific provider.  

 

Included in the materials presented here are various checklists and forms that the Court may utilize to 

process and track probate cases. These materials are provided for convenience and transparency and 

should not be relied on as Court policy or legal advice. 

 

Although a party is allowed to appear in a case without legal representation, Clackamas County does have 

a Supplemental Local Rule (SLR) 9.085 that requires the unrepresented party to demonstrate competency. 

Failure to adequately administer the estate could result in the fiduciary’s removal or replacement.  

 

Q: Why were my documents rejected from File and Serve? 

 

A: There is a variety of reasons that your documents may be rejected in File and Serve, and almost every 

reason can be found in UTCR 21, the new UTCR governing electronically submitted documents. The 

most common reason is for failure to include a required filing fee. For submissions that vary in the 

amount of fee due (initiating petitions, annual accountings, etc.) there is an “Optional Service” button that 

will allow you to select the correct filing fee associated with the document.  

 

Please remember that motions and orders must now be filed as separate documents, and cannot be filed as 

one consolidated document. See UTCR 21.010(12)(c). 

 

Additionally, an initiating petition may be rejected for substantive reasons other than the formatting 

requirements laid out in UTCR 21. If there are substantive reasons for rejection, a note will be included in 

the rejection notice issued to the filing party. In many cases a separate email from the Probate Coordinator 

or staff with additional information regarding the rejection will often follow the rejection.  

 

Q: Can I submit confidential documents? 

 

A: Yes, so long as it is a form of document that is allowed to be filed confidentially, and justification for 

the confidential filing has been provided as required by statute or rule. Certain document types, such as 

death certificates (CEDT) and segregated information sheets (IFSI), are automatically filed confidentially; 

others, like vouchers (VC), are permitted to be filed confidentially. If a document was submitted 

confidentially but should not have been, court staff will likely correct the designation without notification. 

 

With respect to Small Estate Affidavits, the Court recommends electronically filing the components of the 

affidavit as separate documents, which will preserve the confidentiality of the death certificate. Thus, the 

filer would submit the affidavit, the death certificate, and the last will (if testate) as separate documents in 

the same envelope. The service set would include all documents, but were someone to look in the 

OECI/Odyssey case, the death certificate (which contains the decedent’s Social Security Number) would 

remain confidential. If submitted together as a single document, the Court will accept the filing, but the 

death certificate within will not be confidential because the affidavit and the last will are not.  

 

http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/Pages/formsProbate.aspx
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Q: My petition was accepted; Now what? 

 

A: The filing party will receive an acceptance email notifying that the filing has been accepted. For estate 

cases where the personal representative can be appointed immediately, the Probate Coordinator will sign 

the judgment appointing. If there is no bond required, the Probate Clerk will immediately issue letters of 

administration or letters testamentary. If bond is required, a proposed bond must be submitted and 

approved prior to issuance of letters. At the time of appointment (entry of the judgment) the Probate Clerk 

will also set due dates for statutorily required filings (inventory, accountings, etc.) and for SLR-based 

obligations (like the non-professional fiduciary requirement; SLR 9.076).  

 

For testate estates, the original hard copy last will must be submitted to the Court within 7 days of 

acceptance of the petition. Hard copies of bonds and death certificates are not required to be submitted 

unless requested by the Court. 

 

For protective proceeding cases, the Court will await submission of copies of notices required under ORS 

125.070 and proof of notice as required by ORS 125.060 and 125.065. If a Court Visitor is required, the 

Court will generate a form of order appointing the visitor. Once all of the preliminary requirements have 

been fulfilled, the Court will approve a proposed limited judgment of appointment that has been 

submitted by the petitioner. If a bond is required, letters of appointment will not be issued until the bond 

has been approved.  

 

Letters of administration will be generated and issued by the Court, and the filer should not submit 

proposed forms of letters. When letters are to be issued in either type of case, the Court will mail a 

courtesy set to the filing attorney’s OSB mailing address. Additional certified copies of letters or certified 

copies of limited judgments can be requested and paid for according to Record Request procedures. 

 

Q: How do I get a Court Visitor appointed? 

 

A: The Court keeps a pre-approved list of Court Visitors posted on our website here: 

http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/Pages/formsProbate.aspx 

 

The petitioner in a protective proceeding case will contact the visitor of their choice from the pre-

approved list and arrange that visitor’s willingness to serve and coordinate the payment of that visitor’s 

fee. Clackamas County Probate does not receive or disburse Court Visitor fees. Once a visitor has been 

arranged, the petitioner must alert court staff as to the proposed visitor. A motion for appointment or, 

alternatively, including the proposed visitor in the petition is acceptable, and the Court will then issue an 

order appointing the visitor. Unless otherwise approved by a judge, the form of order will be generated by 

the Court, to maintain consistency and authority for the visitors. 

 

Q: How do I get a hearing? 

 

A: It depends on the purpose of the hearing. Generally, the Court will schedule all hearings on probate 

matters on one of three calendars: Probate, Citation, or General Civil. Certain types of filings precipitate a 

hearing automatically: objections, will contests, and petitions for certain actions, etc.  The amount of time 

requested for the hearing should be included in the document requesting the hearing. If it is not included, 

the Probate Coordinator will contact the parties to request they confer and agree on an estimate for the 

time required. Please note that some hearings, such as will contests, have a mandatory settlement 

conference that will be scheduled by Civil Calendaring prior to the date set for hearing the contest. 

http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/Pages/formsProbate.aspx
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Generally, if the hearing is estimated to take less than 3-4 hours, it will be scheduled on the Probate 

calendar, which is normally held on alternating Fridays. The morning Probate calendar begins at 9:30 

AM, resumes at 1:30 PM, and is heard by a rotation of judges. If the hearing is estimated to exceed 4 

hours, it will be scheduled by the Calendaring Unit when there is judicial availability. The Calendaring 

Unit handles the scheduling of many cases, and certain types of cases take priority over probate.  

 

The third probate calendar is the Citation docket, which is almost exclusively used to hear citations 

resulting from missed due dates and other Court-raised concerns. It begins at 9:00 AM immediately 

before the Probate calendar. 

 

Rarely, a party in a probate case may need a Show Cause hearing date. To request a Show Cause, please 

submit the motion electronically with the proposed order. Then contact the Probate Coordinator to arrange 

for a prospective date. Once the date has been provided, the moving party will then serve the Show Cause 

notice on the opposing party. A placeholder hearing date is entered, but the Court does not issue notice of 

the hearing; that is the responsibility of the moving party.  

 

Q: Is there probate ex parte? 

 

A: No - There is no designated probate ex parte time. If there is an urgent matter that the filing party 

believes requires immediate attention, please contact the Probate Coordinator directly. In most 

circumstances, the ex parte submissions can be submitted through File and Serve and reviewed promptly. 

If a temporary or emergency petition for appointment is submitted, please contact the Probate Coordinator 

to alert the Court that there is an urgent matter. The Probate staff aims to process all File and Serve filings 

within 48 hours of submission, but if a document needs immediate attention, emailing or calling to notify 

staff is prudent. 

 

If a probate matter is taken to the general ex parte hearing time, the ex parte judge will likely send you 

down to talk to the Probate Coordinator before considering the submission. 

 

  

Q: Why do I have to be bonded, and what does an asset restriction involve? 

 

A: The Court generally requires any fiduciary to be bonded for the full amount of the assets to be 

administered plus the annual income expected to be received. The bond protects both the beneficiaries (or 

protected person in conservatorships) and the creditors of the estate from breach of the fiduciary’s duties. 

Unless statute prescribes the circumstances in which bond may be waived, the Court requires consent and 

adequate assurance of protection for all interested parties prior to waiver. Thus, in an intestate estate, 

consents from all heirs plus assurance that creditors will not be prejudiced by waiver would be required. 

The latter is usually submitted in the form of an affidavit regarding the creditors of the estate. See also 

SLR 9.055. 

 

An alternative to bonding is restriction of assets. If property is to be restricted, the language of restriction 

must be included in the judgment setting the restriction. See UTCR 9.050. The form of acknowledgment 

of restriction, which must be filed within 30 days of the entry of the judgment, should be substantially 

similar to the form provided by the Court, available here:  

http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/Pages/formsProbate.aspx  

 

Court approval by order or judgment must be obtained before any disbursement, release, or sale of any 

restricted asset or account.  

 

http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/Pages/formsProbate.aspx
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Q: What is Guardian Partners, and why do I have to take a class? 

 

A: Guardian Partners is a non-profit organization that administers the non-professional fiduciary class 

required under SLR 9.076. The class requirement was approved by the presiding judge after an 

unfortunate history of appointed fiduciaries intentionally or accidentally breaching their fiduciary 

obligations. Most attendees find the class helpful and worth the registration fee, which is a cost of 

administration. The attendee should register directly with Guardian Partners, whose contact information is 

available at www.guardian-partners.org.  

Once the class has been completed, Guardian Partners will file a certificate of completion into the case on 

behalf of the attendee.  

 

Q: I have an estate case where the only asset is a wrongful death claim. Do I have to fully 

administer the estate? 

 

A: Since proceeds from a wrongful death case are not considered an asset of the estate, and thus subject to 

probate administration, you are not required to complete all requirements of a typical estate 

administration. If any of the standard requirements of a probate administration are requested to be waived, 

such request must be presented in the petition and limited judgment of appointment. All of the 

requirements of a petition under ORS 113.035 must still be included in the petition seeking appointment; 

if the decedent died testate, the original will must be submitted.  

 

If the only asset of the estate is proceeds from a personal injury claim, none of the above waivers will 

apply since personal injury proceeds are considered an asset of the estate. If a personal representative 

needs to be appointed for some other reason (i.e., to receive service on a claim to subrogate an insurer), 

the facts and circumstances of such appointment must be thoroughly explained in the petition. The 

requirements on this type of personal representative are handled by the Court on a case-by-case basis. 

 

For all case types discussed in this section, the Court requires a semi-annual status letter as to the 

underlying action or claim. The letter does not need to be extensive, but merely a check-in with the Court 

to keep the case open and active. The letter should be electronically filed (code LT). 

 

Q: What is this Courtesy Notice? 

 

A: Courtesy Notices are notices issued by the Court to alert a party that they have missed a prescribed 

deadline for a filing or other action. The deadline for filing may be set by statute or in relation to another 

action or occurrence in the case. The Courtesy Notice will contain a brief statement of the omitted filing 

or action and state that if such omission has not been cured within 30 days, a citation hearing will be 

scheduled. The Courtesy Notice system should not be relied on as a substitute for an adequate case 

management and calendaring system.  

 

Q: Can I have an extension on the due date? 

 

A: Possibly - Statutorily prescribed deadlines for filings should be adhered to in order to effectuate 

efficient administration of the case. Nevertheless, the Court recognizes that unforeseen circumstances may 

hinder timeliness. When good cause exists to allow for an extension, a request for extension should be 

submitted in writing to the Probate Coordinator. The request may be in the form of a letter and must be 

electronically submitted (document code LT). The Probate Coordinator has authority to approve (or deny) 

the first request of up to 60 days. If an extension has previously been allowed or a request seeks more than 

60 days, the extension request must be in the form of Motion and Order for review by a judge.  

http://www.guardian-partners.org/
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Any granted extension runs from the original due date of the filing; the issue date of any Courtesy Notice 

sent as a reminder is irrelevant to the extension.  

 

Q: Can I get a set over on my court date? 

 

A: A set over on a calendared hearing date requires a written request. If the parties stipulate to a set over, 

they may submit a stipulated order for approval by the judge. If the parties do not stipulate, a motion and 

order with service on the opposing party is required. The Court can rarely accommodate special requests 

for dates since our Probate calendar is extremely tight and judicial resources are limited. An order for set 

over will likely lead to a reset hearing in due course, when there is calendar availability. 

 

The Court will not set over citation hearings without extenuating circumstances. Any request for a set 

over of a citation hearing date requires an affidavit in support of the request for review by the judge.  

 

Q: How do I get copies of documents or fiduciary letters from my probate case? 

 

A: The Court encourages you to subscribe to OJCIN, the publicly accessibly case system that allows you 

to view the case register and open .PDF versions of case documents. You can register here: 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OnlineServices/OJIN/Pages/index.aspx  

 

Court-certified copies of documents from the case can be requested through the Clackamas County Court 

Records Unit.  Instructions for records requests are available on-line at 

http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/pages/courtrecords.aspx or on pages 5-6 of this guide. Copy and 

certification costs apply. Certified copies of fiduciary letters will only be issued to the appointed fiduciary 

or their attorney of record. The Probate department issues fiduciary letters and questions regarding copies 

of letters should be directed to the Probate Clerk. 

 

Q: I stopped representing my client, but the court keeps sending me letters. Why? 

 

A: You are likely still listed as the attorney of record for the appointed fiduciary. Especially in 

guardianship cases, where the appointed fiduciary can normally complete their annual report without the 

assistance of counsel, the Court has found that many attorneys stop actively representing their client. If 

the attorney has stopped representing the fiduciary, they should withdraw as counsel. Otherwise, the 

attorney will be issued notices and treated as the active counsel for the fiduciary. 

 

If there is a required filing overdue or coming due within the subsequent 90 days, withdrawal must be 

requested by motion and order. If the case is current and there is no filing coming due within the above 

timeframe, a notice of withdrawal is acceptable. SLR 9.045 requires notice to the bonding company if you 

plan to withdraw while a bond is in place. 

  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OnlineServices/OJIN/Pages/index.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/pages/courtrecords.aspx
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List Of Clackamas County Court Approved Visitors 
 

Clackamas County Circuit Court has approved the following as visitors: 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Requests For Fees In Probate Cases 
 

Link to UTCRs and ORSs  

 

Attorney Fees 
Requests for payment of attorney fees must be approved by the Court prior to payment from estate or the 

protected person’s assets. Fee requests must comply with ORS 116.783, 125.095, 125.098 and UTCR 

5.080, 9.060, and be accompanied by an itemized affidavit. See SLR 9.091.  Attorney fees are not allowed 

in Estate proceedings prior to General Judgment of Final Distribution unless they are necessary for tax 

purposes and such necessity is so stated or explained in the petition. 

 

Fiduciary Fees 
Requests for payment of fiduciary fees must also be accompanied by an itemized affidavit. SLR 9.091(4). 

 

The fiduciary must obtain approval from the Court prior to paying a family member or individual with 

whom he or she has a pecuniary or financial interest to perform management duties. The fiduciary 

disclosures section of the annual accounting must explain in detail any interested transactions. 

 

**Attorneys, please discuss reasonable fiduciary fees with your clients. **   

 

PROBATE PRACTICE REMINDERS 

1. All pleadings must comply with UTCR 9.030 - (Address, telephone number, etc.).  Parties and 

attorneys are strongly encouraged to include a contact email address if available. 

2. All orders must comply with UTCR 2.010(12)(a) - (2 lines of text above Judge’s name on orders). 

3. Estates must comply with Department of Human Resources, Estate Administration Unit notification, 

ORS 113.145(6). 

4. Estate petitions must include reference to both ORS 113.035(8) and (9) – omission of mention of 

these statutory subsections is not interpreted as inapplicability.  

Starla Gustafson Brown 

PO Box 30595 

Portland OR 97294 

Office: 503-320-2588 

Fax: 503-666-0347 

 

Catherine M. Garman (Katie) 

PO Box 1097 

St. Helens OR 97051 

Office: 503-366-2844 

Cell: 503-803-2266 

Fax: 503-366-3681 

 

Edna Chambers, RN 

Office: 503-310-1272 

edna@ednaseldercare.com 

http://www.ednaseldercare.com/ 

 

Angela Plowhead, PsyD 

PO Box 835 

Oregon City, OR 97045 

Office: 503-896-0297 

capacsolutions@gmail.com 

www.capacitysolutionsllc.com 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/pages/index.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/pages/index.aspx.
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/pages/index.aspx.
http://www.ednaseldercare.com/
http://www.capacitysolutionsllc.com/
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5. Remember to notify Long Term Care Ombudsman when respondents are residents of a nursing home 

or residential facility, ORS 125.060(7)(b). 

6. Semi-annual status letters must be filed to keep the Court apprised of the status of underlying 

wrongful death or personal injury claims. 

7. Remember that it is the responsibility of the attorney to have the Acknowledgment of Restrictions 

signed by the institution. The probate judges insist on the language in the restriction requiring the 

depository institution to pay the value of funds disbursed without prior court authorization.  See 

UTCR 9.050 and the form of Acknowledgment of Restriction below. 

8. Accountings must comply with UTCR 9.160. Asset schedules are required pursuant to UTCR 

9.160(2). Although the Court thoroughly audits accountings, the auditor is not a replacement for 

diligent and attentive accounting practices. Compliance with the UTCR accounting requirements is 

mandatory; if the auditor cannot properly audit the accounting, it will not be presented to the judge for 

approval. 

 

9. The Court will not approve an order for waiver of the requirement to submit vouchers and depository 

statements. The court does not know whether all vouchers and depository statements need to be 

submitted until the Auditor has preliminarily reviewed the accounting. If the Auditor requests 

vouchers, depository statements, or other documents related to the accounting, the documents should 

be promptly provided to the Court. 

 

10. An Annual Report of Restricted Funds with a depository statement corroborating the ending balance 

will be accepted in lieu of an annual accounting in conservatorship cases where the only asset is a 

restricted depository account.  

 

11. If parties are acting as co-guardians, each guardian must sign the annual report of guardianship.  

12. Practice varies from county to county and these differences may not be addressed within the 

Supplemental Local Rules.  Please contact the probate staff if you have questions about our local 

practice. 

 
(Probate continued on next page) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



  

71 | P a g e  

 

 Judgments and Orders in Probate Court    
  Compiled by Philip N. Jones, Duffy Kekel LLP 

Court Action Probate Estates Conservatorships Guardianships 

Decision on a petition for 

appointment of fiduciary. 

Limited judgment. ORS 

111.275.*†○ Usually also 

admits will to probate. 

Limited judgment. ORS 

125.030 (1).† 

See ORS 125.400. 

Limited judgment. ORS 

125.030 (1).† 

See ORS 125.305. 

Admitting will to probate. Limited judgment, if it also 

appoints a personal 

representative. ORS 

111.275.*†○ 

  

Decision on a petition for removal 

of fiduciary. 

Limited judgment, whether 

granting or denying 

removal. ORS 111.275 

(1).*○ 

Limited judgment, if it 

appoints a new 

fiduciary.  

ORS 125.030 (1).† 

Limited judgment, if it 

appoints a new fiduciary.  

ORS 125.030 (1).† 

Decisions in will contests. Limited judgment.  ORS 

111.275 (1).*○ 

  

Placement of a protected person.   Limited judgment. ORS 

125.030.*○ 

Sale of residence of protected 

person. 

 Limited judgment. ORS 

125.030 (2).*○ 

 

Declaratory judgment decisions. Limited judgment. ORS 

111.275 (1).*○ 

Order. Order. 

Decisions awarding fees and/or 

expenses (see below for final 

accountings). 

Limited judgment.  ORS 

111.275 (1). *○ 

Limited judgment. ORS 

125.030 (2).*○ 

Limited judgment. ORS 

125.030 (2).*○ 

Approving an interim accounting 

without objection and without 

awarding fees or expenses. 

Order. Order. 

ORS 125.480. 

 

Decisions on interim accountings 

after objection, or awarding fees or 

expenses 

Limited judgment.  ORS 

111.275 (1).*○ 

Limited judgment. ORS 

125.030 (2).*○ 
 

Decisions on petitions for final 

accounting, approving distribution, 

and awarding fees and expenses, or 

after an objection 

General judgment 

approving final accounting 

and approving final 

distribution.   

ORS 111.275 (1);*○ 
ORS 116.113; 
ORS18.005 (7) 

Limited Judgment 

approving final 

accounting. 

ORS 125.030 (2).*○ 

 

Decisions on petitions for final 

accounting and approving 

distribution without objection, but 

not awarding fees or expenses. 

Order approving final 

account and general 

judgment of final 

distribution. ORS 116.113;  

ORS 18.005(7). 

Order approving final 

account and general 

judgment closing the 

proceeding.  

ORS 125.090;  

ORS 125.480;  

ORS 18.005(7). 

 

Termination of a protective 

proceeding. 

 General judgment. ORS 

125.090;  

ORS 18.005(17) 

General judgment. ORS 

125.090;  

ORS 18.005(17) 

Discharging fiduciary after general 

judgment on final account. 

Supplemental judgment.  

ORS 116.213;  

ORS 18.005(17). 

  

Additional decisions after entry of 
general judgment. 

Supplemental judgment.  
ORS 18.005(17). 

Supplemental judgment.  
ORS 18.005(17). 

Supplemental judgment.  
ORS 18.005(17). 
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Click here for current ORSs 

 

Footnotes: 

* ORS 111.275(2) and ORS 125.030(3) both required that the court must determine “that there is 

no just reason for delay” before entering a limited judgment under ORS 111.275(1) and ORS 

125.030(2).  However, the limited judgment document need not reflect that determination.  

Interstate Roofing v. Springville, 347 Or. 144 (2009).  The safest practice would be to include that 

representation in the petition and then to include that determination in the limited judgment.  It is 

also not necessary to use the word “adjudged” in a limited judgment,  Interstate Roofing v. 

Springville, 347 Or. 144 (2009).   
 

○  ORS 111.275(1) and ORS 125.030(2) provide that a limited judgment “may” be used in these 

situations.  Most courts now require the use of a limited judgment, even though the use of an order 

appears to be permissive in the statute.  An order would be appropriate in these situations if there 

is a reason for delaying entry of an appealable judgment, such as when a proceeding is close to 

being terminated and a general judgment can be used to combine all of the rulings of the court.  

Note, however, that a limited judgment is always used to appoint a fiduciary in a protective 

proceeding.  ORS 125.030(1).  When appointing a personal representative, ORS 125.030(2) states 

that a limited judgment “may” be used. 
 

†  The use of the phrase “limited judgment” may be confusing to financial institutions and others 

dealing with a fiduciary operating pursuant to an appointment under a limited judgment.  To 

clarify that the fiduciary has full powers to act as fiduciary, it is suggested that both the caption 

and the body of the limited judgment reflect those full  

powers.  For example, the document appointing a personal representative might be labeled as a 

“limited judgment admitting will to probate and appointing personal representative with full powers.”  

 

General Notes:  

1.  The provisions summarized above were enacted by HB 2359 (2005 Oregon Laws Ch. 568).  That 

act has been codified as part of ORS Chapters 111 (general provisions), 116 (probate estates), and 

125 (protective proceedings),.  Additional changes were made by SB 370 (2009 Oregon Laws 

Chapter 50). 

 

2.  ORS 112.205(4) states that the probate court operates through orders and judgments.  ORS 

111.275(1) and 125.030(2) provide that limited judgments may be used only in certain enumerated 

situations.  In estates, ORS 116.113 states that a general judgment will be used to direct the 

distribution of assets.  In protective proceedings, ORS 125.090 states that a general judgment will be 

used to terminate a proceeding.  The statutes do not authorize limited or general judgments in other 

situations.  Accordingly, this chart (see above) indicates that an order should be used in all situations 

where the statute is silent as to the type of document to employ.  For the same reason, court decisions 

should be in the form of orders in situations not described in this chart. 

 

3.  For the definition of general judgments and limited judgments, see ORS 18.005.  A general 

judgment is defined as a judgment which disposes of all the remaining issues (requests for relief) that 

have not previously been decided by a limited judgment.  ORS 18.005(7).  However, a proceeding 

might result in interim rulings on various issues, and those interim rulings will be entered as limited 

judgments if they dispose of one or more issues (open or more requests for relief), but less than all of 

the issues.  ORS 18.005(13).  They will be entered as orders if they do not dispose of a request for 

relief.  ORS 18.005(13).  A limited judgment may not be used to dispose of a “portion of a claim…; 

rather, a limited judgment must dispose of a whole claim or of all claims against a party.”  Steele v. 

Mayoral, 231 Or. App. 60 (11/4/09).  Supplemental judgments are entered after the entry of a general 

judgment; they usually deal with the discharge of the fiduciary and other matters specifically 

authorized by statute.  ORS 18.005(17).  Limited judgments, general judgments, and supplemental 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/Pages/ORS.aspx
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judgments are appealable, assuming the appealing party preserved their right to appeal by timely 

objecting to the entry of the judgment, and filed their notice of appeal within the applicable time 

period.  ORS 19.205.  The time period for appeal is generally 30 days from entry of the judgment.  

ORS 19.255. 
 

4.  In trust proceedings, a general judgment is usually entered at the conclusion of the proceeding.  

However, a proceeding might result in interim rulings on various issues, which are discussed above.  

In those situations, ORS 111.275 (which governs probates) does not apply, and ORS 18.005(7)(a) 

and ORS 18.005(13(d)) do apply.  That latter statute authorizes limited judgments only when a legal 

authority specifically authorizes the use of a limited judgment.  As a result, limited judgments are 

available to a lesser degree in trust matters than in probates and orders should be used for most 

interim rulings in trust proceedings. 

 

5.  In wrongful death probates, an order should be used to approve a settlement and/or an 

apportionment of the proceeds of the wrongful death action pursuant to ORS 30.040 and 

30.050.  After the order is entered and the proceeds distributed, file receipts with the court and 

request a general judgment incorporating the prior orders(s), discharging the personal 

representative, exonerating the bond (if any), and closing the estate. 

 

6.  In a proceeding to appoint a successor custodian under ORS 126.862(6), petition the probate 

court and then enter a general judgment appointing the successor.  A limited judgment is not 

necessary because the court will not have continuing supervision over the fiduciary. 

 

7.  This is a summary only; please review the text of the statutes regarding the application of 

the law to particular situations.  Statutes not cited here may also be relevant. 

 

Probate Checklists and Forms 
The following pages contain checklists and forms that the Court may utilize to process and track probate 

cases. These materials are provided for convenience and transparency and should not be relied on as 

Court policy or legal advice. 
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GUARDIANSHIP – MINOR 
 

Name of Protected Person:  __________________________________________ Age:  _________ 

 

          Venue [ORS 125.020] ____ Visitor Order if necessary  Case Number: ___PR______________ 

           Petition (Needs to state order sought in the caption): [ORS 125.055] 

           Respondent’s information (name, age, residence address & current location) [(2)(a)] 
 

           Proposed Guardian information [(2)(c)] (relationship to respondent, name, age, residence/mailing address) 
 

            If fiduciary is not the petitioner, name, age, address and interest of petitioner [(2)(b) and (c)] 
 

            If fiduciary is not the petitioner, statement of fiduciary regarding willingness to serve [(2)(d)] 
 

            A statement if proposed fiduciary has been convicted of a crime, has filed for or received protection under the 

bankruptcy laws or has had a license revoked or canceled that was required by the laws of any state - if yes, 

explanation [(2)(d)] 
 

            Name and address of any fiduciary that has been appointed by any Court, any Trustee for an established or 

testamentary Trust, any appointed health care representative and any person acting as attorney-in-fact under a Power 

of Attorney [(2)(e)] 
 

            Name and address of the respondent’s treating physician and care providers [(2)(f)] 
 

            Factual information that supports the request [(2)(g)] 
 

            Statement of intention regarding placement [(2)(h)] 
 

            General description of the estate and resources of respondent [(2)(i)]  
 

            Statement regarding fiduciary as public or private agency providing services to respondent or employee of such 

[(2)(j)] 
 

            Statement if guardian will have control of respondent’s estate and if yes, statement of respondent’s assets and 

monthly income [(3)] 
  

           UCCJEA information   ________ ORS 109.119 factors 
 

            Notices sent: [ORS125.065, ORS 125.060] 
      Respondent, if 14 or older (personal service required, cannot waive notice) [(2)(a)] 
      Spouse of respondent [(2)(b)] Name: ________________________________________________________ 
      Parents of respondent (paternity allegations) [(2)(c)] Name: _________________________________________ 
      Adult children of respondent [(2)(c)]  Names: ________________________________________________________ 
      If none of above family, to person most closely related [(2)(c)] Name: _____________________________________ 
      Anyone co-habitating with Respondent who is interested [(2)(d)] Name: ___________________________________ 
      Anyone with care/custody in last 60 days [(2)(f)] Name: ________________________________________________ 
      Any person who has requested notice  Names: ________________________________________________________ 
      Any nominated/appointed fiduciary, trustee, POA [(2)(e)] Names: ________________________________________ 
      If no living parents, any person nominated as fiduciary in will or writing [(2)(g)] Names: ______________________ 
      Dept of Veterans Affairs [(2)(h)]       DHS if benefits [(2)(i)]        OHA if OHP [2)(j)] 
      Any attorney who is representing the respondent in any capacity       DOC/AG if in custody [(2)(k)] 
      OLTCO if RSP is placed or will be placed in nursing home or residential care facility [(8)(b)] 
      If RSP is placed or will be placed, the system described in ORS 192.517 (Disability Rights Oregon) [(8)(c)] 

              ICWA    ____ If RSP is foreign national, to the consulate [(2)(k)] 

           Waivers/Consents 

           15 day notice period expired ____21-day notice period for minor    ____ 2-day if temp. 

           Background Check 

           If fiduciary is not the petitioner, acceptance by fiduciary [125.215(1)] 

           Visitor Report if necessary [125.150(1)] 

           Orders and Judgments comply with UTCR 2.010(12) and UTCR 9.030   
 

                                Diary Date for Guardian Report (1 year and 30 days) [ORS 125.325] 
 

NOTES:  ______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Date of Initial Review: _______________ By: _________ (Initials) 

Assets: ________________________________ 

Income: _______________________________ 
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GUARDIANSHIP – ADULT 
 
 

Name of Protected Person:  __________________________________________ Age:  _________ 
 

          Venue [ORS 125.020]      Case Number: ___PR ___________ 
 

           Order to Appoint Visitor [ORS 125.150] 
 

           Petition (Needs to state order sought in the caption): [ORS 125.055] 
 

           Respondent’s information (name, age, residence address & current location) [(2)(a)] 
 

           Proposed guardian information (relationship to respondent, name, age, address) [(2)(c)] 
 

     If professional, must submit disclosure statement and information under ORS 125.240 
 

            If fiduciary is not the petitioner, name, age, address and interest of petitioner [(2)(b) and (c)] 
 

            If fiduciary is not the petitioner, statement of fiduciary regarding willingness to serve [(2)(d)] 
 

            A statement if proposed fiduciary has been convicted of a crime, has filed for or received protection under the 
bankruptcy laws or has had a license revoked or canceled that was required by the laws of any state - if yes, explanation 
[(2)(d)] 

 

            Name and address of any fiduciary that has been appointed by any Court, any Trustee for an established or testamentary 
Trust, any appointed health care representative and any person acting as attorney-in-fact under a Power of Attorney 
[(2)(e)] 

 

            Name and address of the respondent’s treating physician and care providers [(2)(f)] 
 

            Factual information that supports the request, as well as names and addresses of all persons with information regarding 
incapacity [(2)(g)] 

 

            Statement of intention regarding placement [(2)(h)]  
 

            General description of the estate and resources of respondent [(2)(i)]  
 

            Statement regarding fiduciary as public or private agency providing services to respondent or employee of such [(2)(j)] 
 

            Statement if guardian will have control of respondent’s estate and if yes, statement of respondent’s assets and monthly 
income [(3)] 

 

            Notices sent: [ORS125.065, ORS 125.060] 
      Respondent, if 14 or older (personal service required, cannot waive notice) [(2)(a)] 
      Spouse of respondent [(2)(b)] Name: ______________________________________________________________ 
      Parents of respondent [(2)(c)] Name: ______________________________________________________________ 
      Adult children of respondent [(2)(c)]  Names: _____________________________________________________________  
      If none of above family, to person most closely related [(2)(c)] Name: __________________________________________ 
      Anyone co-habitating with Respondent who is interested [(2)(d)] Name: _________________________________________ 
      Any person who has requested notice  Names: _____________________________________________________________ 
      Any nominated/appointed fiduciary, trustee, POA [(2)(e)] Names: _____________________________________________ 
      Dept of Veterans Affairs [(2)(h)]       DHS if benefits [(2)(i)]        OHA if OHP [2)(j)] 
      Any attorney who is representing the respondent in any capacity       DOC/AG if in custody [(2)(k)] 
      OLTCO if RSP is placed or will be placed in nursing home or residential care facility [(8)(b)] 
      If RSP is placed or will be placed, the system described in ORS 192.517 (Disability Rights Oregon) [(8)(c)] 
 

           Waivers/Consents 
           15-day notice period exp. [ORS 125.065(3)] ____ 2-day notice period exp. [ORS 125.605(2)] 
           Visitor’s Report 
           Background check OK? 
           If fiduciary is not the petitioner, acceptance by fiduciary [125.215(1)] 
           Orders and Judgments comply with UTCR 2.010(12) and UTCR 9.030   
 
                                Diary Date for Guardian Report (1 year and 30 days) [ORS 125.325] 
 

NOTES:  
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Date of Initial Review: _______________ By: _________ (Initials) 

Assets: ________________________________ 

Income: _______________________________ 
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CONSERVATORSHIP 
 

Name of Protected Person:  __________________________________________ Age:  _________ 
 
           Venue [ORS 125.020]     Case Number: ___PR ______________ 
 
           Petition (Needs to state order sought in the caption): [ORS 125.055] 
 

    Respondent’s information (name, age, residence address & current location) [(2)(a)] 
 

    Proposed conservator information (relationship to respondent, name, age, address) [(2)(c)] 
 
     If professional, must submit disclosure statement and information under ORS 125.240 
 
    If fiduciary is not the petitioner, name, age, address and interest of petitioner [(2)(b) and (c)] 
 
    If fiduciary is not the petitioner, statement of fiduciary regarding willingness to serve [(2)(d)] 
 
    A statement if proposed conservator has been convicted of a crime, has filed for or received protection under the bankruptcy 

laws or has had a license revoked or canceled that was required by the laws of any state - if yes, explanation [(2)(d)] 
 
    Name and address of any fiduciary that has been appointed by any Court, any Trustee for an established or testamentary Trust, 

any appointed health care representative and any person acting as attorney-in-fact under a Power of Attorney [(2)(e)] 
 
    Name and address of the respondent’s treating physician and care providers [(2)(f)] 
 
    Factual information that supports the request, as well as names and addresses of all persons with information regarding 

incapacity [(2)(g)] 
 
     Statement of intent regarding placement [(2)(h)] 

 
    Petitioner’s estimate of the value of the estate [ORS 125.055(4)] 
 
    Statement regarding fiduciary as public or private agency providing services to respondent or employee of such [(2)(j)] 

 
    Bond amount: $ _____________ Restriction of assets? ____  (unrestricted assets + annual income) 

     If funds restricted, limited judgment must state that acknowledgment of restriction to be received within 30 days.  
Attorney’s responsibility to see that it gets filed. [UTCR 9.050] 
     If for purpose of lawsuit or settlement and requesting no bond, limited judgment must require court to review and approve 
settlement 
     Settlement of personal injury claim must comply with UTCR 9.040 
 

           Notices sent: [ORS125.065, ORS 125.060] 
      Respondent, if 14 or older (personal service required, cannot waive notice) [(2)(a)] 
      Spouse of respondent [(2)(b)] Name: ______________________________________________________________ 
      Parents of respondent [(2)(c)] Name: ______________________________________________________________ 
      Adult children of respondent [(2)(c)]  Names: _____________________________________________________________  
      If none of above family, to person most closely related [(2)(c)] Name: __________________________________________ 
      Anyone co-habitating with Respondent who is interested [(2)(d)] Name: _________________________________________ 
      Any person who has requested notice  Names: _____________________________________________________________ 
      Any nominated/appointed fiduciary, trustee, POA [(2)(e)] Names: _____________________________________________ 
      If minor, person w/ care/custody for last 60 days [(2)(f)] Name: _______________________________________________ 
      If minor, an no living parents, any nominated fiduciary in will/trust [(2)(g)] Name: ________________________________ 
      Dept of Veterans Affairs [(2)(h)]       DHS if benefits [(2)(i)]        OHA if OHP [2)(j)] 
      Any attorney who is representing the respondent in any capacity       DOC/AG if in custody [(2)(k)] 

 
           Waivers/Consents 
           15 day notice period exp [ORS 125.065(3)]  _____ 2-day notice period exp. [ORS 125.605(2)] 
           Background Check OK? 
           If fiduciary is not the petitioner, acceptance by fiduciary [125.215(1)] 
           Orders and Judgments comply with UTCR 2.010(12) and UTCR 9.030   
 
                       Diary Date for Inventory (90 days) [ORS 125.470) 
                       Diary Date for Annual Accounting (1 year and 60 days) [ORS 125.475] 
 

 NOTES: 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

Date of Initial Review: _______________ By: _________ (Initials) 

Assets: ________________________________ 

Income: _______________________________ 
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GUARDIANSHIP AND CONSERVATORSHIP – ADULT 
 

Name of Protected Person:  __________________________________________ Age:  _________ 
 

           Venue [ORS 125.020]     Case Number: __PR____________ 
 

           Court Visitor Order 
 

           Petition (Needs to state order sought in the caption): [ORS 125.055] 
 

    Respondent’s information (name, age, residence address & current location) [(2)(a)] 
 

    Proposed guardian & conservator information (relationship to respondent, name, age, address) [(2)(c)] 
 

     If professional, must submit disclosure statement and information under ORS 125.240 
 

    If fiduciary is not the petitioner, name, age, address and interest of petitioner [(2)(b) and (c)] 
 

    If fiduciary is not the petitioner, statement of fiduciary regarding willingness to serve [(2)(d)] 
 

    A statement if proposed GRD or CSVR has been convicted of a crime, has filed for or received protection under the bankruptcy 
laws or has had a license revoked or canceled that was required by the laws of any state - if yes, explanation [(2)(d)] 

 

    Name and address of any fiduciary that has been appointed by any Court, any Trustee for an established or testamentary Trust, 
any appointed health care representative and any person acting as attorney-in-fact under a Power of Attorney [(2)(e)] 

 

    Name and address of the respondent’s treating physician and care providers [(2)(f)] 
 

    Factual information that supports the request, as well as names and addresses of all persons with information regarding 
incapacity [(2)(g)] 

 

     Statement of intent regarding placement [(2)(h)] 
 

    Petitioner’s estimate of the value of the estate [ORS 125.055(4)]  ___ UCCJEA if for Minor 
 

    Statement regarding fiduciary as public or private agency providing services to respondent or employee of such [(2)(j)] 
 

    Bond amount: $ _____________ Restriction of assets? ____  (unrestricted assets + annual income) 
 

     If funds restricted, limited judgment must state that acknowledgment of restriction to be received within 30 days.  
Attorney’s responsibility to see that it gets filed. [UTCR 9.050] 
     If for purpose of lawsuit or settlement and requesting no bond, limited judgment must require court to review and approve 
settlement 
     Settlement of personal injury claim must comply with UTCR 9.040 
 

            Notices sent/served: [ORS125.065 (who), ORS 125.060 (how)]  ORS 125.070 – Contents of Notice 
      Respondent, if 14 or older (personal service required, cannot waive notice) [(2)(a)] 
      Spouse of respondent [(2)(b)] Name: _____________________________________________________________ 
      Parents of respondent (paternity allegations) [(2)(c)] Name: ______________________________________________ 
      Adult children of respondent [(2)(c)]  Names: _____________________________________________________________  
      If none of above family, to person most closely related [(2)(c)] Name: __________________________________________ 
      Anyone co-habitating with Respondent who is interested [(2)(d)] Name: ________________________________________ 
      Anyone with care/custody in last 60 days [(2)(f)] Name: _____________________________________________________ 
      Any person who has requested notice  Names: _____________________________________________________________ 
      Any nominated/appointed fiduciary, trustee, POA [(2)(e)] Names: _____________________________________________ 
      If no living parents, any person nominated as fiduciary in will or writing [(2)(g)] Names:____________________________ 
      Dept of Veterans Affairs [(2)(h)]       DHS if benefits [(2)(i)]        OHA if OHP [2)(j)] 
      Any attorney who is representing the respondent in any capacity       DOC/AG if in custody [(2)(k)] 
      OLTCO if RSP is placed or will be placed in nursing home or residential care facility [(8)(b)] 
      If RSP is placed or will be placed, the system described in ORS 192.517 (Disability Rights Oregon) [(8)(c)] 

              ICWA    ____ If RSP is foreign national, to the consoluate [(2)(k)] 
 

           Waivers/Consents 
           15 or 21 day notice period exp [ORS 125.065(3)]  _____ 2-day notice period exp. [ORS 125.605(2)] 
           Background Check OK? 
           Visitor Report 
           If fiduciary is not the petitioner, acceptance by fiduciary [125.215(1)] 
           Orders and Judgments comply with UTCR 2.010(12) and UTCR 9.030   
 

                       Diary Date for Inventory (90 days) [ORS 125.470) 
                       Diary Date for Annual Accounting (1 year and 60 days) [ORS 125.475] 
 

NOTES:  ________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  

Date of Initial Review: _______________ By: _________ (Initials) 

Assets: ________________________________ 

Income: _______________________________ 
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ESTATE PETITION (ORS 113.035) 

 

(Requirements that apply ONLY to testate estate are in bold) 

 

Decedent’s Name: _____________________________________   Case Number: ________________ 

 

_________ Ancillary?  Yes / No  (Circle One) 

______ Proof of Primary Probate - certified copies of Will & Order (113.065) 

 

_________ Wrongful Death Only?  Yes / No  (Circle One) 

 

_________ Original Will (date ______________)  Codicil? ___ yes ___ no  (date ______________) 

 ___ Intestate Estate 

 

_________ Affidavit of Witness (113.055) 

 

_________ Venue 

 

_________ Information re:   __ decedent     __ PR     __ heirs     __ devisees 

 

_________ Statement that reasonable efforts have been made to locate heirs [113.035(6)] 

 

_________ ORS 113.035(8):  persons asserting interest based on will ineffective, another will exists, or promise 

to make/revoke will, not make/revoke will, or die intestate 

 

_________ ORS 113.035(9):  person asserting interest based on contention that a parent willfully deserted or 

neglected decedent 

 

_________ Personal Representative(s) ___ per Will or  ___ per ORS 113.085:  __________________________ 

_____ PR is Sole Heir 

 

_________ Alternate Personal Representative(s):  ________________________________________________ 

______ Consents/Declinations 

 

_________    Background Check  

 

_________ Bond/Restrictions 

_____ Amount of Bond:  $________________ 

_____ Amount of Restricted Property:  $________________ 

_____ Verification of Restriction? 

_____ Bond Waived in Will?  Yes / No  (Circle One) 

_____ Bond Waived by Consent?  Yes / No  (Circle One) 

 _____ If yes, statement of no creditors? 

 

_________ Initial Estate Value:  $____________________ 

 

_________ Inventory due __________________________  

 

Notes:_______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________________________

 ______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Date of Initial Review: _______________ By: _________ (Initials) 
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SMALL ESTATE CHECKLIST 

 

Decedent’s Name: _______________________________Case Number: _______________________________ 

 

Decedent:  

 ____ Name, age, address, SSN, date and place of death   114.525(1)(2) 

 ____    Certified copy of death certificate.  114.525(2) 

 

Venue (at least one):  

____ Place of death,   ____ domicile, and/or   ____ location of property.  114.515(1)-113.015  

 

Filing Fee: ____  $105.00 (PBSE)/Other: ________________________________________________ 

 

Eligibility:  

 ____ At least 30 days since date of death,  114.515 (3) 

 ____ Personal Property total is Less than or equal to $75,000 (for date of death on or after 01/01/10),  

 and 

 ____ Real Property total is less than or equal to $200,000 (for date of death on or after 01/01/10).  

  114.515(2)  

 ____  No Probate filed  114.525 (4) 

 

Testate or Intestate : 114.525 (5),(6),(7) 

 ____ Affidavit states “testate” or that a will exists and ORIGINAL will and AFFIDAVIT are included,  

  ____ list of Heirs and  ____ Devisees   

 ____ Affidavit states “intestate” and there is NO will --  _____  list of Heirs 

 

Affiant is (verify per will):  

 ____ An heir,  ____ A devisee,  ____ Personal Representative,  ____ A creditor 114.505(1),(2) 

 ____ State Agency: Division of State Lands, DHS, or OHA   114.505(2)(a) or 114.515 (1)(c)  

 

Creditors:   114.525 (9),(10) 

 ____     Statement that reasonable efforts have been made to ascertain creditors, if there are, then: 

               ____     Names and addresses of the creditors and   ____   amounts claimed 

               ____     State that a copy will be mailed to each creditor 

 ____     State that claims may be barred per ORS 114.525 (12) and (13) 
 

Notice:  

____ Affidavit indicates a copy will be mailed to all parties named in the affidavit and to DHS and/or  

 Oregon Health Authority  114.525(7),(11) 

 

Asset information: 
  (value must be Fair Market Value without reduction for liens or debts) 114.515(5) 

____ Vehicles: MUST have year, make, model, estimate of fair market value as of the date of death. SHOULD have 

 VIN and license number, but not required   114.545 (1)(e)  

____ Bank and Investment Accounts: MUST have name of bank/brokerage and type of account (ex: checking, savings, 

IRA, 401(k), brokerage, etc.).  If available, MUST ALSO have last four digits of each account number, and balance 

on each account (or total balance of all accounts) as of the date of death.  

____ Stocks: MUST have name of company, number of shares, and fair market value on date of death.  

____ Bonds: MUST have description of type of bond and fair market value of date of death.  

____ Real Estate: MUST have the legal description, and a statement of “real market value” (RMV) from property tax 

statement as of the date of death.  114.525(3) Inclusion of Tax Statement acceptable for description. 

____ Tangible Personal Property: MUST have estimate of fair market value as of the date of death. Property may be 

lumped together as “household property and furnishings” or something similar. However, items of particular value 

(over $500) MUST be separately listed (jewelry, silver, art, collections, etc.) with value for each.  

____  Manufactured Home: We MUST know if it is real or personal property. A manufactured home on a solid 

foundation is real property; otherwise generally personal property. We MUST have a description  (year, make, 

model, location). We SHOULD have a serial number.  114.545(4) 
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PROBATE DEPARTMENT ANNUAL ACCOUNTING COVER SHEET 

 
  

 CASE NO.: ____________________   ___________ ANNUAL ACCOUNTING 

 

 NAME:                                                                                                                       

 If Minor: Date of Birth:                    Date of Majority: ___________________                            

 Non Minor: Date of Birth:                    Date of Death:  ____________________                                

 

 Period of Accounting: From:____________________ To: _______________________________ 

 

 TYPE:  ESTATE   _______  Acct Filed: ________________________  

   CONS       _______  Proof of Notice filed: ________________ 

   GDNSHP  _______  Objection Date Exp:_________________ 

               TRUST             _______      

 

 TOTAL INVENTORY or PREVIOUS ASSETS ON HAND:  

 $_______________________ 

 Income/receipts: 

   Last account: $_______________ This account: $_______________________ 

 Disbursements: 

   Last account: $_______________ This account: $_______________________ 

 

 TOTAL ASSETS ON HAND THIS ACCOUNT:   

 $_______________________ 

 

 PLUS:    Estimated Annual Income:  

 $_______________________ 

 

       TOTAL  $_______________________ 

 

 LESS: Total Restricted Assets: (Acknowledgment ?)                $_______________________ 

 

         Atty Fees/Fiduciary Fees/Other Requested:    $_______________________  

       Assets to be bonded:  $_______________________ 

 

 CURRENT BOND: $                          Sufficient?             Still in effect?                             

 

 Fiduciary Fees This Account: $____________ Itemization submitted: ________Checked______ 

 

 Attorney Fees This Account:  $____________ Itemization submitted: ________Checked______ 

 

 NEXT ACCOUNTING DUE: ____________________________ 

 

 Comments/special requests:____________________________________________________   _ 

 

 _____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 _____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

 REVIEWED BY: ___________________________ Date: ______________________________ 
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ESTATES 

PARTIAL DISTRIBUTIONS 

 
Make sure that the following has happened: 

 

             ____      Affidavit of Publication – (Notice to creditors ORS 113.155) 

 

             ____      Affidavit of Compliance – (Search for creditors ORS 115.003) 

 

             ____ Inventory – (ORS 113.165) 

 

             ____ 4 months from date of first publication expired (Unless Liability) 

 

             ____ Notice & Proof of service to all devisees/heirs (if not all heirs are receiving $)        

 

             ____ Notice to creditors with unsatisfied claims.    

 

             ____     Distribution is equal to all devisees/heirs (Exception would be if there was an Asset that was  

  burdensome to the estate being distributed) 

 

 ____    Who distribution is to and how much 

 

 

ESTATE FINAL ACCOUNTING SHEET 
 

 

 _____   Affidavit of Publication expiration date _________________ 

 _____   Affidavit of Mailing Notice 

 _____   DHS Notification 

 _____   Affidavit of Compliance 

 _____   Tax Language re: returns & payment 

 _____   Affidavit Mailing Notice of Final Account 

      Notice period end date ___________ 

      Waiver/consents ________________ 

 _____   Affidavit of Attorney Fees (itemized) 

 

 _____   Fees: Attorney                           PR____________ 

 _____   Inventory:  ______________________________ 

 _____   Amended:  ______________________________ 

 

  

CLAIMS AMOUNT WHO SATISFIED (Y/N) 
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON 

 FOR THE COUNTY OF CLACKAMAS 

 Probate Department 
 

 

   

In the Matter of the Conservatorship ) 

) Case No. _____________ 

) 

Of: )    

 ) ANNUAL REPORT OF  

)           RESTRICTED FUNDS  

______________________________________        )   

(Enter Name of Protected Person or Minor)              )  

       )  

Birth Date of Protected Person _______________ ) 

 

 

 

Pursuant to ORS 125.475, the undersigned reports to the Court as follows: 

 

1. My name is _________________________________________________________________ 

 

2. My residence address and telephone number are:   __________________________________ 

_________________________________________________________________________________  

Phone: ______________________ 

 

3. The name (if applicable), and address of the place where the protected person now resides is:    

________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

4. A brief description of major decisions made on the protected person's behalf during the  

 past year:  

 

________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________ 
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5.   FUNDS HELD IN RESTRICTED ACCOUNTS TOTAL VALUE $_____________ 

 

 NAME OF INSTITUTION WHERE RESTRICTED FUNDS ARE HELD  

 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

ENCLOSED ARE COPIES OF THE BANK STATEMENTS WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE 

ENDING DATE OF THIS ACCOUNTING AND CONFIRMING THE BALANCE ON HAND 

 

 

6.     I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT SINCE MY LAST REPORT: (All questions MUST be completed) 

 

A. I have been convicted of the following crimes (not including traffic infractions):     

(If none, so state) 

                __________________________________________________________________ 

 

B. I have filed for or received protection from creditors under the Federal Bankruptcy code: 

 

            No _______      If Yes, Bankruptcy Case No. _________________________ 

 

C. I have had a professional or occupational license revoked or suspended:  

              

                        No _______ Yes _______ Explain: _____________________________________ 

 

D. I have had my driver’s license revoked or suspended:  No ______   Yes _______ 

 

 

7. REQUEST FOR RELEASE OF RESTRICTED ASSETS (If applicable) 

 

________ The conservator herewith petitions the court for the release of the amount  

 

of  $_____________ from restricted conservatorship assets for the following purpose: 

 

____________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________ 
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8.  I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT A TRUE COPY OF THIS REPORT HAS BEEN GIVEN OR 

MAILED TO THE PROTECTED PERSON OR MINOR (IF 14 YEARS OF AGE OR 

OLDER) AND ANY OTHER PERSON WHO IS ENTITLED TO OR HAS REQUESTED 

NOTICE AS FOLLOWS: 

 

PERSON                              By Personal Service or by Mail at:  Date served/mailed 

 

_________________            ____________________________  _______________ 

_________________            ____________________________  _______________ 

_________________            ____________________________  _______________ 

_________________            ____________________________  _______________ 

 

I hereby declare that the above statement is true to the best of my knowledge and belief, and that I 

understand it is made for use as evidence in court and is subject to penalty for perjury.  
 

 

DATED: __________________ 

 

 

_________________________________________ 

SIGNATURE OF CONSERVATOR 

 

FOR COURT USE ONLY: 

 

 

APPROVED: _________________________________________ 
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON 

FOR THE COUNTY OF CLACKAMAS 

 

In the Matter of the ___Conservatorship___Estate )  

Of:       ) CASE NO.   ________________                                   

       )     

________________________________________,  ) ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF 

                      ) RESTRICTION OF ASSETS 

___ Deceased   ____ Minor      ____ Incapacitated.    ) 

 

  

We acknowledge receipt of a copy of the court order signed on ____________, ____ that restricts access to the 

assets of the above estate/conservatorship as described below.   We will not allow ANY distribution or withdrawal 

of principal or income from these assets or use of the assets as security for any obligation without specific authority 

by court order, except as allowed by this Order unless modified by a subsequent Order of this Court.  We will not 

close the account without Court Order.  We will provide the Court with at least 30 days prior written notice with 

any intent to close for any other reason.  The Order allows the conservator to make withdrawals from the restricted 

assets as follows: 

 ____ None   ____ Other conditions or restrictions:  

____________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 The assets on deposit with us that are subject to the Order are identified as follows: 

 

Account Number(s):      Name/Title of Account     Balance of Account          Dividends/Interest  
                                                                                                                                              (Check One for each acct.) 

                  __ Distributed to Estate 

_________________         _________________            __________________       __ Reinvested into acct 

            __ Distributed to Estate 

_________________         _________________            ___________________   __ Reinvested into acct 

                                                                                                                                                __ Distributed to Estate 

_________________         _________________            ___________________    __ Reinvested into acct 

 

(You may list any other accounts subject to the Court’s Order on the back of this form)    

 

The name of the holder of the account shown on our records is ________________________________. 

 

We understand that the conservator may do the following without court order:  (1) transfer restricted assets to other 

accounts with us that are subject to the restrictions stated above; and (2) change the investment of assets, as long as 

all assets remain in an account with us subject to the restrictions stated above. 

 

We agree to abide by the Order.  We understand that if assets are removed from a restricted account without prior 

court order, this institution shall be required to pay the value of those assets to the estate/conservatorship. 

  

DATE: ____________________, 20____. Financial Institution: ________________________________                                                                   
       

      Address:        _________________________________ 

                           _________________________________                                                    

NOTE: THIS DOCUMENT MUST BE SIGNED  Signed By:         __________________________ 

BY AN OFFICER OR OTHER PERSON  Printed name:           __________________________                                    

AUTHORIZED TO BIND THE INSTITUTION Title:                         __________________________  
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON 

FOR THE COUNTY OF CLACKAMAS 

Probate Department 
 
In the Matter of the Guardianship of )  

 ) Case No. __________________ 

 )  

 ) ANNUAL REPORT OF GUARDIAN 

 ) FOR PERIOD ENDING: 

(Enter name of Protected Adult or Minor) ) (End date) 
 

Birth Date of Protected Person:  _______________ 

 

 

(Note on completing form: Please answer each question every year; add additional sheets if necessary.  Do 

not leave any blanks, and do not duplicate completed form from prior years.) 
 

I/we are the guardian(s) for the person named above and make the following report as required by ORS 125.325.  

(Note: a separate report must be filed for each protected person.) 

 

1. Name(s) of all guardians:  (Note: all co-guardians must sign report.) 

_________________________________________ 

 _________________________________________ 

 

2. Contact information for each guardian: 

 

Name: ________________________ Phone: _______________ Email: ____________________ 

Address: ______________________________________________________________________ 

 

Name: ________________________ Phone: _______________ Email: ____________________ 

Address: ______________________________________________________________________ 

 

3. The name (if applicable) and address of the place where the protected person now resides is: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

4. The protected person is currently residing at the following type of facility or residence: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

5. The name of the individual primarily responsible for the care of the protected person at the protected 

person’s place of residence is: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 
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6. The name and address of any hospital or other institution where protected person is now admitted or has 

been admitted (on a temporary or permanent basis) is:  

 ______________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________   

 

7. Please describe the protected person’s physical condition: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

8. Please describe the protected person’s mental condition: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

9. Please describe the contacts you made with the protected person during the past year: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

10. Please describe major decisions made on the protected person's behalf during the past year: 

 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

11. The protected person is currently engaged in the following programs and activities and receiving the 

following services (brief description): 

 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

12. Since my last report, I have delegated the following powers over the protected person for the following 

periods of time: 

 

Name of Person:  __________________________________________________________ 

 

Powers delegated:  __________________________________________________________ 

 

Period(s) of time: __________________________________________________________ 
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13. I was paid for providing the following items of lodging, food or other services to the protected person:  

_______________________________________________________________________ 

 ______________________________________________________________________________ 

14. Should the guardianship continue? (Circle one)  YES  NO   Describe why, or why not: 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

15. At the time of my last report, I held the following amount of money on behalf of the protected person: 

 

   $__________________ 

  

 Since my last report, I received the following amount of money on behalf of the person:   

 

 $__________________.  The source of this money was _________________________________ 

 

 I spent the following amount of money on behalf of the person:    $__________________ 

 

 I now hold the following amount of money on behalf of the person: $__________________ 

 

16. I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT SINCE MY LAST REPORT: 
 

A. I have been convicted of the following crimes (not including traffic infractions): 

 

(If none, so state) _________________________________________________________ 

 

B. I have filed for or received protection from creditors under the Federal Bankruptcy code: 

No _______  If Yes, Bankruptcy Case No. and brief explanation:  

 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

C. I have had a professional or occupational license revoked or suspended:  

 

  No ___  If Yes, explain: ____________________________________________________ 

 

D. I have had my driver’s license revoked or suspended: 

 

 No ___  If Yes, explain: ____________________________________________________ 

 

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT A TRUE COPY OF THIS REPORT HAS BEEN GIVEN OR MAILED TO 

THE PROTECTED PERSON OR MINOR (IF 14 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER). 

 

I FURTHER CERTIFY THAT A TRUE COPY OF THIS REPORT HAS BEEN GIVEN TO ANY 

CONSERVATOR FOR THE PERSON AND TO ALL INDIVIDUALS WHO ARE ENTITLED TO 

NOTICE, OR WHO HAVE REQUESTED NOTICE, AS FOLLOWS: 
 

PERSON    By Personal Service or by Mail at: Date served/mailed 

 

_______________________________ ___________________________ ________________ 

_______________________________ ___________________________ ________________ 

_______________________________ ___________________________ ________________ 
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I hereby declare that the above report is true to the best of my knowledge and belief, and that I understand it 

is made for use as evidence in court and is subject to penalty for perjury. 

 

DATED: __________________  __________________________________________________ 

      SIGNATURE OF GUARDIAN 

 

 

I hereby declare that the above report is true to the best of my knowledge and belief, and that I understand it 

is made for use as evidence in court and is subject to penalty for perjury. 

 

DATED: __________________  __________________________________________________ 

      SIGNATURE OF CO-GUARDIAN 

 

 

FOR COURT USE ONLY 

 

                                                  

  APPROVED:__________________________________________________
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IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE STATE OF OREGON  

FOR CLACKAMAS COUNTY 
Probate Department 

 
IN THE MATTER OF                                            ) CASE NO._______________________ 
       ) 
       )  OBJECTION  
_______________________________________, ) AND REQUEST FOR HEARING 
 
 
I, __________________________________________ am objecting to the Petition/Motion in the 
above stated matter.  My reasons are as follows:   
 
_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

(You may add additional pages if necessary) 

I hereby declare that the above statement is true to the best of my knowledge and belief, and  

that I understand it is made for use as evidence in court and is subject to penalty for perjury. 

 

                                                          Objector’s Signature:_________________________________ 
               

Dated _____________________________________________  
 
A copy of this objection has been sent to (adverse party or their attorney): 
 

_________________________________________________________ at their last known address. 
NOTE: You MUST serve a copy on the adverse party or their attorney 
 

A filing fee of $252 must be included when you file this objection ($111 for Guardianship or 
Small Estate objections).  
  
File at Clackamas Circuit Court, Room 104, 807 Main Street, Oregon City, Oregon 97045   
===================================================================== 
CERTIFICATE OF DOCUMENT PREPARATION:   You are required to truthfully complete this 
certificate regarding the document you are filing with the court.  Check all boxes and complete all 
blanks that apply: 
 

A. (   ) The clerk prepared this form from my oral dictation.  It was read to me and it accurately 
reflects my oral statement.     

B. (   ) I completed this form myself without paid assistance. 
C. (   ) I paid or will pay money to _______________________________for assistance in preparing 

this form 
         
     Objector’s Signature:_______________________________ 
Objector’s Address: 

______________________________________ 
______________________________________  
______________________________________ 
Phone: _________________________________ 
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TREATMENT AND ALTERNATIVE SENTENCING COURTS 

 
Treatment and Alternative Sentencing programs provide an alternative to normal case processing. These 

Specialty Courts serve specific populations of defendants with the goal of decreasing recidivism, increasing 

public safety and providing defendants with the tools to change their lives and become productive citizens.  

 

Clackamas County has the most diverse group of Treatment and Alternative Sentencing Courts in the state of 

Oregon and is known for its innovation on a statewide level. If you have questions about defendant eligibility 

or program requirements, please contact one of the people listed below: 

 

Contact Information  
 

Adult Drug Court 

Judge Kathie Steele administers the Adult Drug Court program. 

Any questions regarding the program can be addressed to Dawn Haskett , Treatment Court Coordinator, 503-

655-8495. 

 

Driving Under Influence of Intoxicants (DUII) Treatment Court 

Judge Michael Wetzel administers the DUII Treatment Court program.  

Any questions regarding the program can be addressed to Dawn Haskett, Treatment Court Coordinator, at 

503-655-8495. 

 

Clackamas County Overland Park Community Court 

Judge Kenneth Stewart administers this program. 

Any questions can be addressed to Bill Stewart, Deputy District Attorney at 503-722-2786. 

 

Domestic Violence Deferred Sentencing Program  

Judge Heather Karabeika administers the DVDSP program. 

Any questions regarding this program can be addressed to Priscilla Bunting, Judicial Assistant at 503-722-

2732. 

 

Family Dependency Drug Court 

Judge Eve Miller administers the Family Drug Court. 

Any questions regarding this program can be addressed to Dawn Haskett, Treatment Court Coordinator, at 

503-655-8495. 

 

Juvenile Drug Court 

Judge Deanne Darling administers the Juvenile Drug Court. 

Any questions regarding this program can be addressed to Marla Conser, Treatment Court Coordinator, 503-

722-6670.  

 

Mental Health Court 

Judge Kathie Steele administers the Mental Health Court. 

Any questions regarding the program can be addressed to Wendy Robinson (Clackamas County Health 

Centers) at 503-722-6502. 
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COURT-MANDATED ARBITRATION 
 

Oregon Revised Statutes 36.400-425, and Uniform Trial Court Rules, Chapter 13, and Clackamas Circuit 

Court’s Supplementary Local Rules (SLRs) govern Court-mandated arbitration.  Refer to both sections of SLR 

13 if you have questions, but if you still have an inquiry please contact Regina Watkins, Judge Susie L. Norby’s 

Judicial Assistant.  Regina Watkins is the Arbitration Coordinator for Clackamas County.  She can be contacted 

at: 
 

E-Mail:   Regina.M.Watkins@ojd.state.or.us 

Fax: 503-650-8909 

Voice: 503-650-8902 

She will be able to answer procedural questions.   

 

CLICK HERE for OR Revised Statutes, UTCRs & SLRs 

 

Applications to Serve as an Arbitrator 
 

NOTE:  The court is currently accepting applications to serve as an arbitrator.  As of March 30, 2010, there are 

new requirements for current arbitrators and those applying to serve as an arbitrator. 

 

Please click on the following links to view the: 

 Order Regarding Rules for Training and Continuing Legal Education for Clackamas County 

Arbitrators, 

 April 6, 2010 Letter to Arbitrators, and 

 Order Establishing Policy or Removal of Arbitrators from Court Approved List, signed by Judge 

Norby on August 14, 2014. 

 

eFiling & Arbitration 
Beginning February 29, 2016 it became mandatory for all OSB attorneys to file electronically through the File 

and Serve program.  There are a few exceptions to what MUST be filed electronically and those exceptions may 

be found in UTCR 21. (see UTCR link above) 
 

eCourt Links below: 
 

OJD eFiling – to electronically file in the circuit courts  
 

OJCIN OnLine – to view judgments,  dockets and the official Case Register of Actions 
 

Appellate eFile – to electronically file in the Court of Appeals 
 

 

Arbitration Forms available on Clackamas Circuit Court’s Website: 
 

 Application to Serve as Arbitrator in Court Mandatory Arbitration Program 

 Renewal Application to Serve as Arbitrator 

 Arbitrator's Notice/Request 

 Arbitrator's Settlement or Bankruptcy Notice 

 Request for Payment of Arbitrator Fee (Fee Deferral Certificate) 

 Arbitrator's Itemization of Time Utilized 

mailto:Regina.M.Watkins@ojd.state.or.us
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/pages/index.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/pages/index.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/docs/Arbitration/Order_re_Training_for_Arbitrators.pdf
http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/docs/Arbitration/Order_re_Training_for_Arbitrators.pdf
http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/docs/Arbitration/2010_Letter_to_Arbitrators.pdf
http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/docs/Arbitration/Order_Arbitrator_Ethics_Requirement.pdf
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OnlineServices/OJDeFiling/Pages/index.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OnlineServices/OJIN/pages/techsupport.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/OnlineServices/eFile/pages/index.aspx
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 Notice of Appeal from Arbitrator's Award and Request for Trial De Novo 

 Motion and Order to Remove Case from Arbitration 

Click Here to go to Forms Page 

 

Pleadings 
The title of a pleading must contain the language: “SUBJECT TO MANDATORY ARBITRATION” or 

“CLAIM NOT SUBJECT TO MANDATORY ARBITRATION” per UTCR 13.060(3).   

 

IMPORTANT NOTE: 

If the language above is not on your pleading, your case will NOT be placed into arbitration. 

 

UTCR 13.040(3) requires that once a case has been assigned to arbitration pleadings shall be filed with the 

arbitrator.  Please file the original pleading with Civil Case Unit, Room 104 and provide a copy to the arbitrator.   
 

Transfer to Arbitration 
 

Referral to Mandatory Arbitration:  
ORS 36.405(1) requires that a civil case be transferred to arbitration where all parties have appeared if: 

(a) The only relief claimed is recovery of money or damages:  not exceeding $50,000, exclusive of attorney 

fees, costs and disbursements and interest on judgment; or 

(b) A domestic relations suit in which the only contested issue is the division or other disposition of property 

between the parties. 
 

Special Circumstances for Referral to Arbitration: 
 Stipulation for Arbitration, pursuant to ORS 36.410 

 Waiver of Amount of Claim Exceeding $50,000 for arbitration purposes pursuant to ORS 36.415(1) 

  Motion for Referral to Arbitration: pursuant to ORS 36.415(2) 
 

Click Here for current ORSs 

 

IMPORTANT NOTE: 

Parties have 14 days to motion for exemption from arbitration once assigned 
 

Exempt/Remove From Arbitration:   
ORS 36.405(2) states that the Presiding Judge may exempt or remove a case from arbitration if good cause 

exists. 
 

Assignment to Arbitrator 
 

Upon receipt of notice that the case has been transferred to arbitration, plaintiff’s attorney (or self-represented 

litigant) must contact the defendant’s attorney (or self-represented litigant) and: 

 Agree on an arbitrator; 

 Contact the arbitrator and schedule the hearing; and 

 Notify the court of arbitrator selection  

 

Within 2 weeks: 

 Plaintiff must notify the court.  Upon receipt, the court will assign a stipulated arbitrator; or 

 If plaintiff does not report to the court within 2 weeks, the court will assign an arbitrator. 

http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/pages/forms.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/pages/index.aspx
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 The Court will send out an Assignment of Arbitrator and then parties have 49 days to hold a hearing 

o This SHALL be the arbitrator unless the court is presented extenuating circumstances 
 

When notified of appointment by either method outlined above, the arbitrator will schedule the hearing and 

notify the parties of the hearing date.   

A Notice of Hearing Shall be submitted according to Rules of Arbitration 

If no Notice of Hearing is submitted, a Notice of Dismissal will be sent to all parties. 

 

IMPORTANT NOTE: 

The arbitrator is not required to consult the parties before setting the hearing and failure to 

appear at the arbitration hearing may result in a judgment against the absent party. 
 

Time for Arbitration 
 

Pursuant to UTCR 13.160(3) and(4) 

 “…the hearing must be scheduled to take place not sooner than 14 days or later than 49 days, from the 

date of assignment of the case to the arbitrator…Any continuances or postponements beyond such 

period require the arbitrator to obtain approval of the Presiding Arbitration Judge.” 
 

 “Continuances and postponements shall not be granted except in the more unusual circumstances.  

Approximately 2 months are allocated for the arbitration process.  The arbitrator is given the power to 

enforce the rules and will be required to maintain the schedule. 
 

CLICK HERE for current OR Revised Statutes, UTCRs & SLRs 

 

Setting Cases for Settlement Conference and Trial 
 

In addition to arbitration dates and deadlines, arbitration cases will be set for trial and settlement conference. 

You must arbitrate the case before the trial date (UTCR 13.280).  There should be a minimum of 62 days 

between the arbitration hearing date and the settlement conference date in order for the arbiter to submit his/her 

Award to the court for processing, and the 20-day appellate time to run.  If there is an appeal, the case is 

expected to be tried on the date set for trial.  If you are unable to try your case on the date set, eFile a Motion to 

Continue, Affidavit, Proposed Order and Certificate of Readiness to the appropriate case category and 

document type.  The judge will then rule on the motion in the normal course.  An arbitration hearing will not be 

set beyond the settlement conference date unless the Presiding Judge allows the Motion to Continue the trial 

date. 
 

Please Note --SLR 13.051: TRIAL DATE  
In all cases subject to mandatory arbitration, a trial date will be set in accordance with the Court’s regular trial setting 

procedure and UTCR 7.020(5). All arbitration hearings must occur no later than forty-five (45) calendar days prior 

to the judicial settlement conference date set in the case. All requests to reset a trial date must comply with UTCR 

6.030 and SLR 6.031. 

 

Awards and General Judgments 
 

An arbitrator’s Award is not a General Judgment.  The arbitrator shall designate which party will prepare and 

submit the General Judgment.  General Judgments must comply with ORS 18.042 and be eFiled to the court for 

a judge’s approval and signature, unless the filing party is unrepresented.  General Judgments that do not 

comply with applicable statutes will not be acted on. 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/pages/index.aspx
http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/pages/index.aspx
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 If a General Judgment is not eFiled to the court, or it is rejected, the Court will send a 28-day dismissal notice 

to all parties and at the conclusion of that time period will dismiss the case unless a General Judgment or an 

extension request has been submitted.  
 

 When eFiling an Award to the court for processing, it must be accompanied by a Proof of Service. 
 

Arbitration Due Dates 
 

Motion for Exemption Due Transfer Date + 14 days 

Arbitrator Assigned By Transfer Date + 21 days 

Hearing Notice Due Arbitrator Assigned Date + 14 days 

Hearing Date By Arbitrator Assigned Date + 49 days 

Award Due (Civil & Dissolution) Hearing Date + 42 days 

Request Extension to File Award  

(MUST file within 14 days of hearing) 

Hearing Date + 14 days 

Appeal Due Award File Date + 20 days 

 

Click Here for current ORSs 

 

Time Within Which Appeal Must be Filed 
Notice to All Parties re: Appeal of Arbitration Award 
 

ORS 36.425 (2) 

(a) Within 20 days after the filing of a decision and award with the clerk of the court under subsection (1) of this 

section, a party against whom relief is granted by the decision and award or a party whose claim for relief was 

greater than the relief granted to the party by the decision and award, but no other party, may file with the clerk 

a written notice of appeal and request for a trial de novo of the action in the court on all issues of law and fact. 

A copy of the notice of appeal and request for a trial de novo must be served on all other parties to the 

proceeding. After the filing of the written notice a trial de novo of the action shall be held. If the action is triable 

by right to a jury and a jury is demanded by a party having the right of trial by jury, the trial de novo shall 

include a jury. 

 

Fees and Deposit Required: 

ORS 36.425 (2) 

(b) If a party files a written notice under paragraph (a) of this subsection, a trial fee or jury trial fee, as 

applicable, shall be collected as provided in ORS 21.270. 

 

(c) A party filing a written notice under paragraph (a) of this subsection shall deposit with the clerk of the court 

the sum of $150. If the position under the arbitration decision and award of the party filing the written notice is 

not improved as a result of a judgment in the action on the trial de novo, the clerk shall dispose of the sum 

deposited in the same manner as a fee collected by the clerk. If the position of the party is improved as a result 

of a judgment, the clerk shall return the sum deposited to the party. If the court finds that the party filing the 

written notice is then unable to pay all or any part of the sum to be deposited, the court may waive in whole or 

in part, defer in whole or in part, or both, the sum. If the sum or any part thereof is so deferred and the position 

of the party is not improved as a result of a judgment, the deferred amount shall be paid by the party according 

to the terms of the deferral. 

http://courts.oregon.gov/OJD/rules/pages/index.aspx
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REQUEST FOR DIGITAL RECORDING OF COURT 

PROCEEDINGS  

  
We can send FTR Recordings electronically! 

 

Request Forms / Letter 
Requests must be made in writing either by letter or using the FTR Recording “Request for Copies of Court 

Proceedings” form and “Request for a Copy of FTR Recording – Juvenile Court Proceedings,” form located on 

the Court’s website at:  http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/Pages/formsRecordsRequest.aspx 

 

***All juvenile recordings must have judicial approval*** 
 

Please note that we will not take requests over the telephone. 

 

Requests 
 

Written/E-mailed Requests for FTR Copies MUST Contain: 
1. Date of the proceeding 

2. Judge who heard the case 

3. Courtroom number (if known) 

4. Case name AND number 

5. Name, address and phone number of person making request 

6. Email address to where electronic records can be sent 

7. Indication whether to mail, e-mail or call for pick-up when copy is ready 

 

Written requests should be made in one of the following three ways: 

 

 Mail: 

 

 FTR Coordinator 

 807 Main Street, Room 104 

 Oregon City, OR 97045 

 

 Hand Delivery: 

Deliver to the court cashier window in Room 104 (first floor) of the Clackamas County Courthouse. 

 

 E-Mail: 

Send e-mail to cla-sftp@ojd.state.or.us 

 

Information Line 
The FTR information line number is 503-722-2719 if you have any questions. 

 

 

 

 

http://courts.oregon.gov/Clackamas/Pages/formsRecordsRequest.aspx
mailto:cla-sftp@ojd.state.or.us
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Transcripts 
 

The Court DOES NOT provide written transcripts.  If you need a written transcript, you can take your 

recording to a certified transcriber.  You should be able to find a list of transcribers or court reporters in the 

yellow pages of the phonebook or on-line yellow pages. 

Payment 
The cost of a digital recording (FTR) is $10 per CD/hearing/Day (Example:  4 day trial = $40) plus applicable 

postage (there is no postage if you are receiving digital recordings electronically).   

 

The cost of an electronically delivered digital recording (FTR) is $9 per Hearing/Day 

 (Example:  4 day trial = $36)  

 

Your FTR request will not be processed until payment has been received in full.   

 

You may pay as follows: 
 

 Mail:  Please make checks payable to the State of Oregon.   

 Phone:  Pay by phone by calling 503-655-8453, Option 2 

 In person:  hand in your request and make payment at the Court Cashier Window located at 807 Main 

Street, Room 104, Oregon City, OR 97045. 

 

Completion of Request 
Please allow at least 21-28 judicial days for completion of your request. 

 

TRANSCRIPTS ON APPEAL 
 

Transcripts to be prepared on appeal are assigned by the transcript coordinator.  Patricia Clark in Judge Thomas 

Rastetter’s office is the transcript coordinator; she can be contacted at 503-655-8432.  Once a Notice of Appeal 

has been served on the transcript coordinator, she will assign a transcriber to the case.  The transcriber will 

contact the attorney for payment arrangements. 

 

  



  

98 | P a g e  

 

Ralph Holman Law Center Conference Rooms 
821 Main Street, Oregon City, OR 97045 

lawlibrary@co.clackamas.or.us, 503-655-8248 

 
POLICY AND PROCEDURES 

 

POLICY 
 

The Clackamas County Circuit Court has three conference rooms available in the Ralph M. Holman Law Center 

located at 821 Main Street, Oregon City, Oregon.  These conference rooms are shared by the Clackamas County 

Circuit Court (Court) and the Alden E. Miller Law Library of Clackamas County (Law Library).  The Law 

Library schedules the use of the conference rooms.  Room 116, the Media Conference Room, is configured for 

media use and members of the media are given priority for the usage of this room.  Members of the Clackamas 

County Bar Association are given priority for the usage of Room 114, the Ailsa Werner Conference Room.  All 

of the conference rooms can be used and/or reserved by anyone conducting Court-related or Law Library-

related business.  The Court reserves the right to refuse and/or terminate usage of the conference rooms to any 

person(s) at any time for any stated reason upon the recommendation of the Law Library or otherwise.      

 

PROCEDURES 
 

Conference Room Availability 
 

The conference rooms are available for use from 8:00 a.m. through 5 p.m., Monday through Friday unless 

special arrangements have been made with the Trial Court Administrator (e.g., trial continues after 5:00 p.m. 

and media needs access to room 116). 

 

The conference rooms remain locked when not in use. 

 

Preference will be given to people with reservations.   

 

The conference rooms can also be used on a “first-come” or “as available” basis. 

Each conference room has the following approximate room capacity: 

 Room 114, the Ailsa Werner Conference Room:  6 people 

 Room 115, the Justice Holman Conference Room:  6 people 

 Room 116, the Media Conference Room:  10 people 

 

Conference Room Reservations and Use 
 

The Law Library maintains statistics on conference room usage.  In order to use a conference room, the user 

must supply their name, contact information, approximate length of use, and reason for use. 

 

The conference rooms can be reserved in person, through email, or by telephoning the Law Library (503-655-

8248). 

 

The conference rooms can be reserved up to three months in advance.  Standing reservations can be made up to 

six months in advance.

mailto:lawlibrary@co.clackamas.or.us
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In order to use a conference room, a person other than court staff may obtain a key from a staff member at the 

front desk in the Law Library (Room 101).  Prior to 8:30 a.m., the security guard can unlock the conference 

rooms if the person has already reserved the room. 

 

If a Law Library staff member or security guard is not available when a conference room needs to be used, 

please contact the Trial Court Administrator’s Office, Room 310 in the Courthouse.   

 

The conference room key must be returned to a Law Library staff member when usage is complete. 

 

A Law Library staff member will check each conference room after each use to ensure proper maintenance and 

order of the rooms. 

 

The Law Library and Court do not provide food, drink, office supplies, or secretarial services to conference 

room users. 

 

Food and non-alcoholic beverages in covered containers are permitted in the conference rooms.  

 

Users are responsible for depositing trash in proper receptacles, removing personal belongings, and returning 

tables and chairs to their proper positions. 
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Alden E. Miller Law Library 
of Clackamas County 

821 Main Street, Room 101, Oregon City, OR 97045 

lawlibrary@co.clackamas.or.us, 503-655-8248 
 

 

Attorney Resources and Services  

 

COLLECTION    

       

PRINT 

 Select Oregon and Federal primary and secondary materials that meet the minimum Oregon 

Council of County Law Libraries Core Collection Standards and American Association of Law 

Libraries Government Law Libraries County Public Law Library Standards  

 Wide selection of legal texts and treatises that are not available online or not available online for 

free or low cost 

 Oregon, California and Washington practice materials 

 ORS from 1953, Oregon Laws from 1845 and OARs from 1980 

 Oregon legislative history materials online, in print, and microform 

 Oregon Law Reviews, Bar Association newsletters and other legal periodicals  
 
Attorneys can check out materials with a call number for up to 10 business days. 

 

ELECTRONIC   

 LexisNexis, including Shepard’s  

 Westlaw, including Keycite 

 OJIN-OJCIN Online, public access to court records 

 Research Institute of America Checkpoint, tax database 

 Access to PACER, Fastcase, HeinOnline and other miscellaneous legal research databases 
 
Computer terminals, laptop and iPad are available for performing legal research.   

 

CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION 

 All OSB CLE BarBooks™ in print and online 

 OSB and OLI CLE program handbooks with cd’s or dvd’s available to check out for credit 

 

OTHER SERVICES  

 24-hour access with cardkey 

 Conference/Study/Reading Rooms  

 Billing services for fees and fines 

 Electronic and in-person legal research assistance  

 Photocopy, print, scan, email, conference phone and fax 

 

Please contact the Law Library for more information or to obtain copies of our policies and 

procedures. 

mailto:lawlibrary@co.clackamas.or.us
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CLACKAMAS COUNTY SHERIFF – CIVIL SECTION  

 
Primary Phone Number 
(503) 655-8351 

 

Hours of Operation 
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon and 1:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, except holidays. 

 

Location  
Clackamas County Sheriff Civil Section is located in the Courthouse on the First Floor, Room 100.   

 

Attorney Courthouse Identification Badge 
If you are interested in applying for an Attorney Courthouse Identification Badge, please contact the 

Clackamas County Sheriff’s Office Civil Section for the application. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

For recommendations on subject matter to include in this guide, please email:  

 

Debbie.D.Spradley@ojd.state.or.us 

Trial Court Administrator 

 

(OR) 

 

Gina.L.Setter@ojd.state.or.us 

Court Operations Manager 

mailto:Debbie.D.Spradley@ojd.state.or.us
mailto:Gina.L.Setter@ojd.state.or.us

